We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Hotel amenities
Denali Bluffs Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
40%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013
Michelle F Conyers, Georgia
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    63
    67
    35
    29
See reviews for
56
89
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

If you are simply looking for a place to put your head after a long day touring Denali National Park, this would fill the bill. If you are looking for something a little more upscale, keep looking. We were there in June and the temperatures were in the 90's - very unusual. Be warned - there is NO AIR CONDITIONING!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We had a VERY hot summer in Denali and many hotels in our area do not have air conditioning. We are in the budget process for 2014 and hope to have a/c installed in the rooms by May. We will also be upgrading the bedding and look and feel of our... More

Nokomis, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Property is located at end of the main Street but very nice walk. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Basic room which could use some updating but did the job. Dining was ok but we had a better meal in the town. Bottom line...place to rest your head and experience Alaska.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms at our Denali Bluffs Hotel for 2014 and I know that you will be pleased with those upgrades. We will be upgrading the bedding in the rooms as well as the feel and look of the rooms. Once again, thanks for your... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Denali Bluffs this past June, and I'm being completely honest that it was the worst hotel experience that I've ever had. The rooms do not have AC or even ceiling fans. I am aware that it was unusually hot for June in Denali, but not any hotter than it would be in July. Therefore the excuse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you know, Denali National Park is 4 hours from Anchorage and 2 hours from Fairbanks. I can tell you that Alaska DID have a very hot June, July and August - temperatures were much... More

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a good value for the area. We went in June 2013. Don't be fooled, this hotel is NOT in the park. You can NOT see Denali from here. There isn't a view. The rooms are a bit pricey but there isn't a whole lot of choice in this little place. The beds are comfortable and everything in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iceskatestacy, thanks for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed our shuttle service. Although we don't have a view of McKinley/Denali from our rooms (actually none of the hotels do), we are close to downtown and to activities. We hope you will come back and visit us soon. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during July this year, during a VERY hot summer. Luckily this hotel had air con to help sleep soundly through the night. Room have everything you will need during your stay, including a laundry which was great after a long cruise!! All in all a good stay, friendly servic & good rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aus_Trav_88, thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back again! Dee Dee Kay More

North Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved this place..Near entrance to Denali park & Nenana River canyon..22 individual buildings on different ground levels Our room was large, clean and comfortable..there is plenty of guest parking..main lodge has large fireplace, comfortable seating & ,computer station.. there is a laundry, restaurant and gift shop...All staff was very helpful and can book tours ..a bus station is outside lodge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bigbillsbiker, Thanks so much for your review. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our Denali Bluffs is a wonderful place to stay and our shuttle system as well as the friendliness of our drivers sets us apart from others. Thanks so much - come back! Dee Dee Kay More

Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel in Sept at the end of the season. The view is incredible and the location is perfect for exploring the Park. The accommodations are kinda rustic in an old way ..not a quaint way, but I am told all will be updated before next year. Restaurants and breakfast buffet were good. We were there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kjkerr241, thanks for your review. We do have an AWESOME staff and I am happy that they did everything possible to make sure you were able to watch the game. Considering many of them only had a few days of their contract left, it is nice to know that they made you feel special. We are doing more upgrades... More

Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

How Quaint! Denali Bluffs reminded me of the summer camp in "Dirty Dancing"! Charming lodges, good reception area with gift shop and free Wi-Fi and computers. Restaurant on the premises with OK food, but there is a shuttle that runs every 20 minutes that will take you down into town if you choose not to walk. The Lodge is quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sallysue1279, thanks for your charming review! We will gladly accept the comparison to Dirty Dancing! I am sorry you didn't find our food excellent. Did you try our BBQ in the evening. We have had lots of compliments this year. The shuttle is WONDERFUL and so is our staff. Thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate it.... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Overall good experience. Location was great. No fridge in the room and when we enquired at reception if we could place something in their fridge the answer was no. It was only 2 sandwiches for our trip into the park the next day .also breakfast was a bit of a hit and miss and not too much of a choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maryjo0929, thanks so much for your review. We don't currently have refrigerators in our sleeping rooms but are looking in to that for next year. We do have refrigerators that can be requested at check in but we don't have enough for every room. I am sorry we weren't able to honor your request to hold your sandwiches at... More

Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a great location for Denali and when you were not visiting the park it was very easy to walk to the shops and restaurants in town. The rooms were clean and nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you wanted to you could get on the path across the street and walk or run to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernadetteb, thanks so much for your review. I LOVE that path and actually walk on it quite often - there is a little loop trail that you can also take allowing you to walk through the woods to the Visitors Center as well. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for your review!... More

Been to Denali Bluffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Bluffs Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Bluffs
Denali Bluff Hotel
Address: Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Bluffs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing brings out your adventurous spirit like a mini-vacation in our Sugarloaf Mountain hideaway at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! Alaska native owned and operated, we not only have commanding views but the Bluff's design allows our guests to feel "at-one" with nature while still providing a comfortable stay with 112 cozy guest rooms perfectly equipped with all the conveniences of home, such as private baths, cable TV, and much more!Enjoy hearty, home-style Alaskan fare when you dine at the Mountaineer Grill & Bar. Savor your appetite on our patio with a cold local brew, while taking in a beautiful view of Mt Healy. You’ll also find a variety of specialty coffee and beverages, pastries and other delicious food items in the Perky Moose Espresso. Our main lodge features a log-beamed great room, with authentic Alaskan art, a gift shop, and a tour desk at which our staff will be happy to assist you in choosing from a wide variety of optional tours available in Denali National Park. Adventure is just steps away at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Denali Bluffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Bluffs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Denali Bluffs Hotel to your Saves list