We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added McKinley Chalet Resort to your Saves list
McKinley Chalet Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Fran B Anchorage, Alaska
  • Overview
  • Reviews (503)
  • Photos (196)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (139)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    153
    146
    68
    49
See reviews for
146
213
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights in the lower building. Rooms are clean and large and nicely furnished. Staff was very friendly and helpful at the front desk. Hotel is walking distance to shops and restaurants in the very small town. Shuttles take you from parts of the property to the main lodge, which has gift shop, restaurant, and tour assistance.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the McKinley Chalet Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to share using the email address below. Otherwise, thank you again, and I hope that you had a wonderful Alaska vacation. Thank you, Tracy Smith... More

Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Large property with a variety of accommodation types. Ours was building Z a two storey chalet looking building containing about 8 rooms (4 up, 4 down) all accessed from the outside. Building is facing river so lovely sounds of running water and great place to walk. Accommodations were two rooms, living room with three chairs, TV and coffee maker and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Thinking about The McKinley Chalet in Denali, I find it hard to write something good except for decent food in the free standing restaurant or bar. The building we stayed in was old with no signs of renovation. Most entrances to room were from the exterior which we normally avoid. The entrance door had to be slammed to close so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at the McKinley Chalet Resort. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations while you were here. The process of renovating the property is ongoing. Though we have made great strides in updating many of the rooms, we still have some that will be completed in the near future.... More

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Plymouth, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the McKinley Chalet Resort as a part of our Holland America Land and Sea Alaska tour. We were given a 2 room suite in one of the buildings on the lower part of the property. The rooms were comfortable, the buildings were clean and well-kept, the shuttles ran constantly, and we enjoyed the sound of the water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is an overprice motel not hotel with few amenities. It is a place for cruise linecpassengers to stay and there are crowds of them coming and going. The Cabin Night dinner theater on the property was great though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the McKinley Chalet Resort. I'm sorry that we did not provide you with a better stay during your travels. We strive to provide an excellent visit to all, regardless if they are traveling on a cruise and land tour package or traveling on their own through the state. Our 42+... More

Enid, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Cottonwood building on the land portion of our Holland America trip. The building is rustic outside but dated inside. I understand the resort is being updated, but our building needed new beds, bed covers (the lining on ours was ripped and hanging out), countertops, faucets and climate control. Our room was HOT! We complained, but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very close to the entrance of Donalli national Park with some nice rooms on top the hill with a great view. Most rooms are in the valley with not such a great view and a very long walk to the main facility. Resort shuttle was always behind schedule or full. Restaurants/bars there were okay but expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was clean, quiet, and scenic with a view down to the river. Stayed here as part of a Holland America cruise. Had bags delivered to our room, very nice and well organized. Restaurant was great, good service and food. Lobby was generally quite crowded but that goes with a high volume of guests. Tours organized from the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
's-Gravenzande, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I understood that this resort is property of the cruiseline Holland America. The chalets are spread all over the place but so far away from the main building that you need to take a shuttle to get there. So if you forgot something it took you quite a while to get back and get it. There is no airco in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is close to the park, a reasonable 30 minute walk along a bike path and a trail, and across the highway (with a traffic light) from a strip of shops and at least one really fine restaurant, the Salmon Bake. We liked the rustic setting, close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage McKinley Chalet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
345

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;