We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added McKinley Chalet Resort to your Saves list
McKinley Chalet Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Nancy T Enid, Oklahoma, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (498)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (194)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (137)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    152
    146
    66
    49
See reviews for
145
211
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Cottonwood building on the land portion of our Holland America trip. The building is rustic outside but dated inside. I understand the resort is being updated, but our building needed new beds, bed covers (the lining on ours was ripped and hanging out), countertops, faucets and climate control. Our room was HOT! We complained, but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very close to the entrance of Donalli national Park with some nice rooms on top the hill with a great view. Most rooms are in the valley with not such a great view and a very long walk to the main facility. Resort shuttle was always behind schedule or full. Restaurants/bars there were okay but expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was clean, quiet, and scenic with a view down to the river. Stayed here as part of a Holland America cruise. Had bags delivered to our room, very nice and well organized. Restaurant was great, good service and food. Lobby was generally quite crowded but that goes with a high volume of guests. Tours organized from the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
's-Gravenzande, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I understood that this resort is property of the cruiseline Holland America. The chalets are spread all over the place but so far away from the main building that you need to take a shuttle to get there. So if you forgot something it took you quite a while to get back and get it. There is no airco in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is close to the park, a reasonable 30 minute walk along a bike path and a trail, and across the highway (with a traffic light) from a strip of shops and at least one really fine restaurant, the Salmon Bake. We liked the rustic setting, close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is very spread out, so much that they have a shuttle bus to take you to your room. This made it very hard to get back to the lobby on time for a tour when you had to wait for a bus and they were often full. The room was comfortable, but hot and stuffy with no air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Personal at reception desk is too young and inexperienced. This is the only reason that can explain why our check in lasted 15 minutes. It lasted so long that I was convinced they had lost our reservation (we booked via the hotel web site and not booking.com). At check out we had the same experience and decided to leave without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Holland America's land/cruise vacation had us booked into these chalet accommodations. Although they were very rustic looking both inside & out, they had everything we needed and updated bathrooms. They were perfect for 2 nights. Meals at the main restaurant were good too and service was great with young, eager, college students as servers. I would recommend a stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This facility is owned by and serviced primarily Holland America customers. We stayed in a seemingly newer lodge on the property and the room was very clean and reasonably well appointed. My only complaint would be a rather steep long drive we often walked to get to the main lodge building ( there is a shuttle that runs every half-hour).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the McKinley Chalet Resort, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great base camp for your Alaska adventure, especially to Denali National Park. We offer 3 dining venues on-site as well as our Grizzly Grind Espresso where we proudly serve Starbucks. Our on property... More

Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Chalet Resort for several nights as part of a tour arranged through our cruise company (Holland America). The resort grounds are quite extensive and it was obvious that a significant renovation and building had occurred since last year. The only disappointment occurred when we checked into our room in the Lodge. Unfortunately, heavy smokers had occupied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage McKinley Chalet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 6 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Healy
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#5 of 6 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#9 of 29 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Room Service, L...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#15 of 29 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

194 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
345

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer