We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grande Denali Lodge

238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Denali Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grande Denali Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    170
    121
    60
    36
See reviews for
116
197
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (475)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (319)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You'll probably be happy to get here as you'll be traveling during the summer, which means you'll likely to have gone through interminable delays due to road construction. There really is nothing "Grande" about this property other then the fact that it sits high up on a switched back road that you'll want to be careful navigating. One thing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Funny road signs speckle the road way to the lodge. The room was very comfortable and clean. Our view was just spectacular! It was just a short walk (down a hill, up hill to return) to Denali stores and restaurants. They had a shuttle that went into the town every half an hour if you would have trouble walking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The upside of the hotel was the lobby/ bar area for the views, which were outstanding. The room was very outdated, and minimalistic. The room itself would probably equate to an outdated Holiday Inn in the lower 48. We did go to the restaurant, but sat in the bar area so we could choose food from the "bar" menu and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kari S, thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you didn't have a full view without looking at our lobby building as well. Did you ask the front desk of you could switch to a different view? I know we have been very full so we might not... More 

Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights during our cruise tour. The lobby was a place you could enjoy spending time. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was good. There is a free shuttle that leaves you off and picks you up at a set location in town as it's a bit of a hike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear the_keys, thanks so much for staying with us - I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, the view and our wonderful lobby. Thank you also for the compliment concerning our restaurant. Every restaurant and hotel strives for excellence but of course, there are times when human nature intervenes and things are not perfect - I am pleased that... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel aspires to be 5 star and yet you have to drive up a rough track to get to the entrance. Check experience was ok, room was good even though it reminded me of a motel. We were looking forward to the dining experience given that the hotel presents its self to be 5 star. We were surprised to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear comeonbris, thank you for staying with us - I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than wonderful. I am quite concerned about your dining experience. Did you let a manager know of the concerns with your "nuked" Salmon. We take great pride in our food and the quality of our meals. Could you please send me... More 

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you arrive with the train, you can see the grande Denali lodge hanging at the top of a bluff. It is perfectly located next to the Denali park entrance . You also have free shuttles every 1/2 hour to go downtown to have dinner to to do some shopping. The hotel is outdated, the bedrooms are very old. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frederique C, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to get off the train and look up and see the Grande Denali Lodge on the slope of Sugarloaf Mountain. I am also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and our spectacular view. Our Shuttle Drivers really are the best and go out of their... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lodge is clean with some great views. The shuttle driver that was working the day we were trying to get around decided to skip some of his stops so it caused some issues for people but the lodge seemed to take the complain seriously.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear tlsgreen, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We had a few days when many many (over 80) of our guests arrived by rail and we had to adjust our shuttle stops to pick these guests up -I am happy that our staff was able to communicate to everyone and... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place to stay for a few days with amazing views! We stayed in a view room (recommended) which was fine for our needs. The restaurant/bar was fine - but portions quite small (and you can't add meals to your room tab). We did a number of trips from here & all was well organised (although pick up is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Herefordnomads, thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. I am pleased that you upgraded to a view room. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms, we have added refrigerators, new bedding, Keurig Coffee Makers and will be replacing our flat screen televisions later this summer. As for the crowds, many guests come to... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was ok, bed was amazingly comfortable. Curtains weren't blackout (disappointing since there was 20+ hours of daylight). I asked for a roll away bed and was told that the fire marshal wouldn't allow a roll away bed in a room with two beds (haven't ever heard that even in big city high rises?) The breakfast buffet is adequate, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeanna B, thanks for staying with us - the fire marshall does not allow roll aways in our rooms with two beds - they are too narrow to allow a unobstructed path to the door in case of a fire. As for the curtains, we do have curtains and then pull down shades to darken the room - perhaps... More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a terrific intergenerational vacation at Grande Denali Lodge, July 8-11, 2015, and are still basking in the memories of the time we spent there with our teenage grandsons. The staff is well trained by the manager, and is very caring and efficient. The views of the mountains from several areas of the main building, where the Alpenglow Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jerome S, I am so very pleased that you enjoyed the time with your grandsons. Alaska is a wonderful experience for intergenerational travel and it looks like all of you had a wonderful time. We so enjoyed having you stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and I hope that some day... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
0.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#4 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
65.9 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Denali Crow's Nest Cabins
Denali Crow's Nest Cabins
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#6 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
8.2 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
#13 of 28 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay