We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Death Valley National Park hotels

Panamint Springs Resort

40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Hotel amenities
Panamint Springs Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    101
    88
    46
    75
See reviews for
72
160
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The rooms are very dated and looked not maintained. When we checked in we wanted to pay separate, but were told only one card is accepted and the whole stay needs to be charged at once. We stayed at the cottage, which looks on the pictures cute and perfect for a family or 2 couples. They allow pets - which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called here without a reservation and was told the motel was full but they had a tent cabin available for 50 dollars and 10 dollars each beddin hire. We were not allowed to see it before paying which i thought was odd as it was empty. It just had two metal cots. Was told it would be warm so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Gatos, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, if you want to stay at a resort in Death Valley, don't stay here. Stay at Furnace Creek resort. You may pay out the nose to stay in a crowded compound, but you can watch all the TV you like while you surf the web and text your friends, then go out and play a round of golf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wrote a review for the restaurant. It's worth stopping for the pizza (and for beer lovers)! We were on our way to Shoshone from Stovepipe Wells and were so glad we did. Everyone there was friendly, helpful, and made us feel welcomed. This is a bare-bones place, but they really try hard to offer what is realistic and reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
109 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simple rooms. Probably will be too hot in summertime. Very basic equipment, but comfortable sleep. If you just need a base to go and explore DV - perfect place. But do not expect luxury. WiFi nonexistent (there is VSAT station, but gets clogged easily) and no mobile phone coverage. The restaurant is a good place to chat with the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed several nights to hike and explore the Panamint Valley....DV is great but PV is just incredible and off the beaten path. Yes the room was basic....but clean. Sheets, towels, etc were top notch. Yes the walls were thin...but its an old place (and anyone that stays in ANY motel or hotel without standby earplugs needs to not complain!)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
panamint_springs, Owner at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you :) Hope to see you again soon! More

Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have a lot to say about this "resort", but if you are lazy here is a summary: very expensive facilities (fuel and phone calls), disgusting rooms, and unpleasent staff: AVOID! But really, you should read it. Now the long story: We are a young couple used to book VERY cheap hotels/motels/hostels, and we decided to book here just because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. Perhaps it would have helped you if you knew something about our circumstances and the challenges we face as a small business in a remote wilderness area. It would be advantageous to educate yourself of our reasons for our prices before making hurtful and untrue statements. I remember you... More

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley National Park hotels

Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a motel stop off if you are on the way through Death Valley or coming in too late to get to Furmace Creek. It is bare ones, i.e. all the things like beds, pillows and towels are there and it is clean, but bless its heart it has seen better days. Even what could have been a beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Panamint Springs Resort was named is 1937 and we are hesitant to change the name since it has been called that for so long. The word resort has definitely taken on a different connotation today than it had in the 1930's. We do set up porta potties at certain times in the spring when we... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My guidebook made Death Valley's three "resorts" sound more or less similar in quality, which is a gross misrepresentation. In reality, there is a clear hierarchy: the best is Furnace Creek, which is both centrally located and has wireless reception; second-best is Stovepipe Wells, which is centrally located but has no wireless reception. Panamint Springs is the worst of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Panamint Springs is on the western edge of Death Valley National Park. We are 55 miles from the visitor center in Furnace Creek. Death Valley National Park is very large it is wise to take driving times into consideration, especially if your only objective is to see the sites in Death Valley proper. HOWEVER, there... More

Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

If I could do it again, I'd stay at Stovepipe Wells. We ate at their restaurant and their staff was ten times friendlier and the food was way better. What bothers me most about Panamint Springs is how little they seem to care - their rooms are falling apart, their food is mediocre, which would be ok except they charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Panamint Springs. It is surprising to hear you say that you did not enjoy the food or staff. Many folks say we have the best food in the park and the friendliest staff. In fact many employees at competing resorts come to Panamint Springs to eat at... More

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Panamint Springs Hotel
Panamint Springs
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list