We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Escarpment Retreat

5.0 of 5 123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Hotel website
Special Price
10% off Villa rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Escarpment Retreat
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Escarpment Retreat
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    31
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
179
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite Cyclone Marcia and constant rain, we spent 3 delightful days at Escarpment Retreat and enjoyed every minute. Our hosts, Tess and Peter, couldn't have been more helpful and the accommodation and rainforest surrounds were breathtaking. Thank you for a lovely restful stay, and for three magnificent country breakfasts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
EscarpmentRetreat, Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review

Look forward to seeing you next time Kind Regards Peter & Tess More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first trip up to Mt Tambourine and I was surprised with Valentine's couples massages at Escarpment. This place is to die for; slightly hidden in rain forest its hard to believe the craziness of Surfers Paradise is so close by! The staff were very friendly, the massages were amazing and I am just dying to go back and stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EscarpmentRetreat, Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear you are on your way back Peter & Tess More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been to the Escarpement a few times but it appears to be getting a bit tired. Love the fireplace and the large open tub in the bathrooms - it's very well set up for a romantic escape. Unfortunately everything just needs a bit of a freshen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a beautiful views over whole mountain, either sunshine and sunrise. Took my canon camera with me, full in motion of romantic and enjoyable. Holding strong suggestion to be there and away from busy work, totally relaxing. Fell like paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decent small and the world's most romantic resort. It's good value for a family

Was this review helpful? Yes
thailand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I were looking forward to this place for several months and we left happy but also a little disappointed. Appears too many cost cutting measures have been introduced which did not live up to the high room cost paid and our overall expectation. Winning awards is one thing but maintaining high standards is very important. Whilst overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EscarpmentRetreat, Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write, you have obviously given it a great deal of thought and your comments are appreciated. As the new managers we would like to maintain the high standards and reach our property's full potential. We apologise for the lack of service and maintenance during your visit and feel this may have happened at... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son in law organised a surprise weekend away for his wife. Details all supplied to new managers of the big secret that family were arriving on the second day of their stay. On arrival new owners instantly informed my daughter that we were coming. Such a disappointment and mistake on their part. Sadly the stay got worse. The "Edge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EscarpmentRetreat, Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review

Our apologies for the part we played in your disappointing weekend Kind regards Peter &Tessa More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is situated in a beautiful forest, the villa we stayed in is tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean. We have received a warm welcome upon arrival and the service is excellent throughout our stay. We have enjoyed the stunningly beautiful and yet very peaceful surroundings of the hotel and would definitely come back again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We came to Escarpment Retreat for our Australia day weekend break. We stayed at Edge house with my kid and friends. It was the perfect place to take in the beauty and serenity of the Mountain. The property is perfectly located with majestic and breathtaking views over the top of cliff. Just about every window in the lovely home had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EscarpmentRetreat, Public Relations Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Kathy Z, thank you for the time you took to write your review. We're thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the features of our 3 bedroom family house. And thank you so much for acknowledging our staff. We look forward to welcoming you all again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I was very disappointed with our stay at Escarpment. I booked this "retreat" for our 12th Anniversary based on all the rave reviews on trip advisor. I don't feel it is value for money at all. The room (Villa 1) smelt dusty and damp. It was quite dark and musty during the day and not a place I felt like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EscarpmentRetreat, Public Relations Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review

Hello, Tania J thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback. We truly apologize for not being able to please you, even though we tried everything except refund you the cup of tea. And we are very sorry you were not impressed with the spa treatment, as we thought you said that the massage was amazing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Escarpment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Retreat

Address: 123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Mount Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escarpment Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Escarpment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escarpment Hotel Gold Coast

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay