We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Stanley hotels

Ballathie House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ballathie House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballathie House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
mj1Glasgow Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (328)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (105)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    85
    17
    13
    10
See reviews for
46
197
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had an overnight stay at Ballathie House Hotel on Sunday 6th July, this was our first stay at the hotel but it will not be our last! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we had a fantastic, relaxing break. The grounds, hotel room and public areas were all of a high standard but the real... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I shall start with what was good, indeed very good, about our short stay at Ballathie House. The house itself is delightful, as are the grounds, and to be able to wander through them to the lovely River Tay is a real bonus. Dinner was a feast for the eyes and brought the taste buds well and truly alive. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife & I had the pleasure of staying here a couple of weeks ago. Our room in the Riverside building was excellent, with views of the main hotel & river. The staff were all really friendly & helpful, which made our stay very enjoyable. Breakfast was good, with very pleasant waitress service. Didn't try the fine dining, went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We retraced our steps of 15+ years ago and went back only to find Ballathie very disappointed The meal was overpriced for what you got and when I told the staff that I was allergic to shell fish And could I have the Salmon with no prawns they did exactly what I asked a small piece of smoked salmon with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordon K, I appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinions about Ballathie, I am however somewhat frustrated at a few of your comments having hosted you for most of the time when you were with us. Please allow me to elaborate. When I presented the menu to you for your evening meal, you indicated that you... More

Leven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to The Ballathie House Hotel for Afternoon Tea ( no not a cuppa and a slice of cake) which is the full-blown experience involving the beverage of your choice with 100% home baked savoury sandwiches and pastries. The best advice I can give is "arrive with an appetite" you will need it to indulge in the culinary delights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darthonian, Thank-you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Ballathie. Your review states exactly what we are trying to achieve here at Ballathie. You are correct in stating that our offerings are bespoke made for our guests. We offer a wonderful selection of nine loose teas that have been selected by our team to represent... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took the family including 2 toddlers and a baby to celebrate a 60th birthday. Staff good at dealing with the kids. Cakes handmade and really tasty. Good selection. £15 each is a reasonable price. Lovely house in lovely grounds. You can walk down to the tay. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jcsandilands, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about your afternoon tea experience at Ballathie. It is wonderful to read about how we looked after you and your family. Afternoon is something special at Ballathie. We have paired our hotel with the single tea estate from Vithanakande in Sri Lanka. We have hand selected this tea... More

Tamworth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We'd booked online for two nights in a superior room. On arrival we were given the keys to room 1 and directions to find it. The room as large with views over the lovely hotel grounds. BUT, the bathroom was tiny. The bath had a shower over but it was fixed at a low height which meant it could only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter H, Thank-you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Ballathie. I am sorry that you did not fine the rooms to your satisfaction. You are correct in stating that the bathroom in room one is smaller that all of our other bathrooms but this is because it is located in a Turret. Like all other turrets... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a chance find as were on our way to have night in Pethshire to see Lady the Osprey..thought we'd treat ourselves in a nice place for DB&B and boy was it good.....so good in fact that the following week we went back for another night DB&B ...It sounds expensive but when you analyse that the dinner is £49... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Snowgoose S, We appreciate the time you have spent to write a review about Ballathie. . It is very warming to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our river side rooms are perfect for a retreat for peace and tranquillity – It was wonderful that you were able to appreciate this in 2 different rooms over a... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Ballathie House Hotel this weekend, as a silver wedding anniversary gift from our children. We arrived at lunch time and couldn't believe the beautiful driveway and the hotel when we arrived. The lunch menu was exquisite, the nicest sea bass I have ever tasted. Delighted to be told we had been upgraded to bridal room as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolcumbernauld, Thank-you for taking the time in writing a review about Ballathie. Congratulations again on your silver wedding Anniversary – A huge milestone by modern standards and well worthy of an upgrade to our honeymoon suite. One of our key elements of our small successes here at Ballathie, is our ability to work as a team. On occasions this... More

Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ordinarily we stay in 3 star places but Jill McKean of Scottish Highland Trails added this little surprise and are we ever glad she did. It was a treat beyond all imagination. The places oozes refined elegance. As we arrived through a tree lined lane the minute we saw the place we were sure that we had taken a wrong... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ColleenDi, It is wonderful to read your gleaming review about Ballathie. I am delighted that you were able to sample and enjoy every element that Ballathie has to offer. It is very reassuring to read that on this occasion we were able to exceed your expectations, This is something we always aspire and set out to do, but occasionally... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ballathie House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer