We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hazlewood Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hazlewood Castle
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    104
    46
    32
    19
See reviews for
90
235
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (501)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I were in a wedding party, and thought everything done by the hotel for the reception after the wedding was first class.The driveway and grounds surrounding the old buildings are beautifully kept, with tidy lawns, ponds, and several sitting areas. The castle building itself is full of character......windows might squeak and stairs might creak, but we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Hazelwood Castle for a romantic weekend away, from the minute you leave the A64 you are happily suprised from the almost 1 mile long private driveway through scenic woodland which opens up to the spectacular view of the castle and Yorkshire countryside. The entrance which is around the rear is like something from medival times with massive oak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel. I appreciate that the bar is small in the original cellars of the main castle, but it is unique in the fact there is an altar, metal bars as if it was a holding room. However we have a number of public areas and the outside... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought hard about whether to write this review but it was such a disappointing visit I felt it necessary. We spent 1 night in the elderflower room. There was a dead fly in the towel, the toilet wouldn't flush without a Herculean effort, the paint was chipped everywhere, and the ceiling and carpets were stained. It just felt dirty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your stay was disappointing and I am somewhat dismayed that your issues were not dealt with whilst you were still in the hotel. Rest assured I will investigating the points raised that we do not further disappoint. I am delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant and... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to this wonderful place, as before we were welcomed into a little bit of English history with beautiful gardens a stream running through with a fountain in the middle ,the approach up to the castle was beautiful with all the bluebells open in the woodlands it looked like something from a artist painting.. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you returned to see us and hope that this will be a regular visit! The driveway is looking lovely at the moment with all the bluebells and wildlife running around. I am hoping to get some more pictures of these on the website so everyone can see them! See you... More 

2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea for two as a birthday present. We visited last Sunday and were extremely disappointed with the service there. We were told we could sit in which ever lounge we wanted ( the two we looked at still had dirty pots on the tables!) we mentioned this at reception and they were removed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, from your recent visit. I am sorry that you did not receive the service and standards, of which we are proud of. It is disappointing to hear that the service was slow, which although we had a wedding on, other staff operate the lounges and this should of unaffected the service that you received. I... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was left to myself to book a hotel for a trip that a friend and I were taking. I very nearly did not book this location due to some of the poor reviews, so I was quite specific when I phoned them to book. I ensured they had no weddings on at the time and asked for a quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review about your stay at Hazlewood in March. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and location, no doubt this brought back memories of past visits, however I am sorry to hear that you did come across issues that could so easily be resolved. I have read with interest the points that... More 

leicester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights and was given a room in the main castle. The room ( size wise) was amazing and the bed was hugely comfortable. It was spotlessly clean and had all appropriate amenities such as shampoo, towels, hair dryer, tea/coffee, television. The floor was a little creaky. The view from my window was amazing and temperature... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments - we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I must apologise for the sandwich incident we do have a new member of staff, of which is most embarrassed to not deal with your request in the appropriate manner. The team can organise sandwiches 24 hours a day and I... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Over priced "superior room" ..in Need of refurbishment... Scuffed skirting boards.. Mildewed blinds.. Cob webs from ceiling is not acceptable at those charges..paid additional "housekeeping charge for dog yet room had" dog aroma" ..unable to have glass of water.. No glass supplied..not a hotel we would recommend ..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments that I have past to the team. It is with regret that the basic housekeeping services were not provided for your stay and I can assure you that this has been addressed with the housekeeping team. I have contacted you directly so that I can have the opportunity of restoring your faith in the hotel... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A stunning setting and great staff but overpriced. The room was dated and in need of refurbishment. Little in way of extras. Instant cheap milks, dated kettle that barely wirked and windows that rattled all night. Flat pillows. Have stayed in a lot better places for the same money. Either improve standards or reduce price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about the surroundings and the team. I am sorry that you felt that we were overpriced, my management team would have been delighted to discuss the points raised whilst you were in the hotel so that we could in some way show you our commitment to improving our service and standards. We are continually... More 

UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed last minute after we were let down on a booking for Valentines day (Friday 13th February should have known) and then enjoyed it so much we stayed here again for my birthday in April We have stayed in 2 different rooms - first time in a fab huge suite in the castle itself (cannot remember the name but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again and for you to have another fantastic experience, at this rate you would of stayed in every room by next Valentines Day! The team are delighted that you enjoyed your time and we will see you very soon!!! Best wishes Melissa Watson More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

303 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (260)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay