We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hazlewood hotels

Hazlewood Castle

Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hazlewood Castle to your Saves list
Hazlewood Castle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
lynda j Walsall, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (402)
  • Photos (230)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (93)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    75
    38
    24
    17
See reviews for
72
193
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed with our family, we had two rooms overlooking the courtyard and ourselves stayed in the castle. My daughters room a little disappointing as it was quiet small and needed an extra bed in it for our grandson, however besides that we had a lovely time. Staff friendly and the food was very good. We had a picnic in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shabby, unpolished furniture. Public areas ruined by meeting boards. Useless reservation staff. No info on check in. Bedrooms are grubby. Restaurant is a dark stifling dungeon. Bar is as big as an oubliette. Could be a fab place.... How anyone rates this as Excellent is beyond belief!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity of meeting you and discussing your disappointment in Hazlewood Castle whilst you were at the hotel as I believe that talking to my guests is the best way to develop what we offer and to improve our mistakes. The team and I... More

Doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding at Hazlewood Castle last Saturday and as a venue it was picture perfect. Heidi managed to deal with a bridezilla pre and post wedding (apologises again!), everything ran to clockwork and every single person I have spoken to were blown away by the quality, taste and service in regard to the Wedding breakfast. In regard to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments we are delighted that you had a fabulous wedding day and the team are touched by your personal thank yous! Comments and feedback does get shared with the whole team and this allows us to perfect what we do! Father Ian is truly unique and we are fortunate to have him here! We do... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend of ours chose this hotel as her wedding venue. We thought wow, we can't wait to stay here. We decided as a family to stay over for a couple of days and make the most of our stay. We booked 11 months in advance. A few weeks before the wedding we checked our booking to be told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your friend's wedding day but we are truly sorry that certain errors spolit your stay. I have spoken to the team involved to ensure a repeat of the booking confusion does not happen again and it is with regret that this did. Clearly a case of mis-communication has occured... More

Doncaster
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was really compact with a small wardrobe and the kettle along with the ironing board (falling to bits), were shoved inside, which we had to remove to put our clothes in. It was impossible to open the windows, although they were slightly opened when we arrived, there was no way of opening further. The ledges in the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about the wedding, which I have passed on to the team. But I am genuinely sorry that the accommodation and breakfast the following morning didn't live up to the rest of the experiences. We, like many have been caught out by the heatwave and have a limited number of fans, with more having being... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got married at Hazlewood Castle on Saturday and we are absolutely devastated that the whole experience is over! Hazlewood Castle was the first venue we visited and we didn't need to see anywhere else, it was perfect for us! The Castle is steeped in history and is imposingly beautiful. We had our marriage blessing in St. Leonard's Chapel which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both. The team and I are delighted that we made your day just perfect. I can assure you the team including Heidi and Kelly love their jobs and this shows in the service they deliver! I am sorry that you are going to miss all the planning and hope that you do not become a stranger to... More

The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We Stayed one night at Hazlewood . We arrived early the day of checking in and we were able to get into our room with no problems. I headed straight to the spa and figured out it would've been better to book an appointment because I was never greeted the 45 minutes I sat there. I had the helpful ladies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments - the team are chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and the surroundings - I am sorry that it was such a short visit and hope that maybe you will come back for a longer visit in the future. Best wishes Melissa Watson More

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The castle itself is beautiful with fantastic features and a really good atmosphere. We were here for a wedding and the chapel, grounds and service were all first rate. The food was very good quality and there was an excellent range of drinks at the bar. Our room was very clean, comfortable and had everything you could need and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed that a technical issue with our credit card process marred your stay. I can assure you that this matter is being dealt with, with both out accounts department and the company in question, so that this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback and we hope... More

u.k
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned from a two night stay at Hazlewood Castle and was very impressed. The grounds were very well kept and there were plenty of places to sit outside which as we had good weather it was nice to be able to do this. We stayed in two of the standard rooms in St Leonards and they were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are lucky to be surrounded by beautiful surroundings, which we take for granted. I have noted your comments regarding the heat in the rooms and we are putting plans in place to assist our guests feel more comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Melissa Watson More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fantastic hotel. We have stayed at Hazelwood Castle twice now and on both occasions we were upgraded to the Elderflower room which was really lovely. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and a wonderful place to sit out and have a drink or read. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed yourselves again and hope that this is not the last time you see us. Best wishes Melissa Watson More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hazlewood Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hazlewood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hazlewood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle England

230 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 35 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer