We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Danseys Pass Coach Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Danseys Pass Road, RD2, Naseby 9071, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naseby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Danseys Pass Coach Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had one night at the Inn. Monica the host was great from our arrival. She took us to our room which was quant and comfortable the lounge was lovely with a huge fireplace. We were kept up with snacks and drinks in such an awesome setting. All the staff were so friendly. Had a lovely dinner and retired to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After three weeks of hot dry days, we welcomed a cool wet one. From Naseby, we did the Curling and then decided to go for a drive and stumbled on the Danseys Pass Hotel. What a lovely place this is. It was welcoming, busy, warm and cosy, with lots of history. Look forward to returning and soaking up some more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
677charlie, Team at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Geoff M, thank you very much for your very nice review. We are happy to learn you liked the atmosphere here at Dansey`s Pass Coach Inn and we are looking forward to your return. Best regards More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a trip to the top of Dansey's Pass we stopped here for a cold drink. Nice pleasant staff and we enjoyed sitting in the shade outside under the tall trees. This place oozes history. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank NZfour
677charlie, Team at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this review

Dear NZfour, thank you very much for your great review. We hope to see you here at Dansey`s Pass Coach Inn again and remain with kindest regards! The Team More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've visited this place several times before but have only dined here once before a long time ago. I knew what to expect and wasn't disappointed with this beautiful hotel. A completely relaxing stunning setting inside and out where you could happily relax for the day. We hadn't booked and on arrival we first went to the bar and ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank 355rebeccag
677charlie, Team at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca, thank you very much for your nice feedback and for taking the time to write it. We are sorry you had that experience with that Lady at the bar. She is not here anymore- so what is left are all the things you liked. We would be very happy to welcome you here again and we`ll give our... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We stooped at the Danseys Pass inn, as we had heard lots of good comments on it. Other than the fact it is a beautiful building, the staff were absolutely hospitable, chatted to us as to where we had been and going, had a few laughs with them, then ordered our meals. We sat outside to enjoy the sun, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elle K
677charlie, Team at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Elle K, thank you very much for your great review. We all found it very motivating and its the best treat for us if our guest leave happy and with good memories! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you here again and wish all the best for 2016. Thank you. Best regards The Dansey`s Pass Team More 

Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We visited the Inn after crossing Danseys Pass from Omarama on our way to Naseby. We stopped off for a late lunch but unfortunately we were just too late so had to settle for the bar menu. Being a lovely warm day we sat outside in the old Kyeburn Diggings. Very peaceful and relaxing. The food was excellent when it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete H
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for the Kyeburn diggings and stumbled on this instead - giving it an excellent rating in spite of them running out of fries, corona and ginger ale - it's just so cool! Would love to come here w a crowd and stay a night- oozing with character

Helpful?
Thank Skwoke
677charlie, Team at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Skwoke, thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are very pleased to learn you like to come back even if some things went wrong that day. We apologize for that! We are really looking forward to welcome you here at Dansey`s Pass Coach Inn again! Best regards The Dansey`s Pass Team More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I dropped in here for a cup of coffee whilst driving over Danseys Pass. It's a well-restored old coaching inn with full restaurant and bar facilities. The staff were excellent, and both the chef and young lady from North Yorkshire made me feel welcome. It looks like a good place to stop over next time I'm passing through.

Helpful?
Thank SuaGiLo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night here and loved it. The roaring fire, mulled wine and board games made for a very relaxing night. AND the meals were amazing. The rooms are a little basic but the whole experience was fantastic and they fit in with the atmosphere of the hotel. I will be back ....

Helpful?
Thank Sunflower6482
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Oh where do i start... great service, awesome lounge and fantastic warm fire, considering the amount of snow outside, (but that was a bonus to me) Food was perfect. Our room was warm and comfortable. Time only allowed us to stay one night but We would have loved to stay longer.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naseby
13.3 mi away
Hawkdun Lodge
Hawkdun Lodge
#1 of 5 in Ranfurly
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ranfurly Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities