We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Inn

6 Derby Road, Eastwood NG16 3NT, England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    5
    6
    9
    8
See reviews for
5
6
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked thru late rooms for the same evening due to a course I was on overrunning Arrived to check in and was shown to my room Could be ok with a clean a deep deep clean The carpet was sticky and by the bed was some grated onion the previous resident had kindly left me incase I got hungry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place was run by kids that where run off there feet the same 5 people where constantly running around. The rooms where clean but down in the bar was a dive. I had to place the menus on the table to stop my arms getting sticky. We had breakfast it took ages to order and waited ages for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I apologise sincerely that your experience with us seemed to fall well below our normal standards. If you would like to contact me on 01773 712940 and we can discuss this further, however I can assure you that all of our staff are over 18 years... More 

Travelers are raving about these Eastwood hotels

new milton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

we went for lunch on Friday and the experience was very good, the food and friendly service was top notch, ok the place does not tick many visual boxes from the outside but the aforementioned made up for any lack of outer gloss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Blackpool, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I stayed at The Sun Inn with a friend for 2 nights. The room we were given was grotty and definitely needed updating, badly. Wallpaper was peeling, there was damp right up the bathroom wall and pipes were very visible in the bedroom. On the plus side, downstairs was quite nice and the staff were friendly. I wouldn't stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay here recently. We are due to have a refurbishment starting in the upcoming weeks therefore this will raise the overall standard of the rooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the pub and staff. More 

Ostseebad Rerik, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Where is Eastwood, I hear people ask. Well, it is just west of Nottingham. And it is the birthplace of D.H. Lawrence (of "Lady Chatterley"-fame, but actually one of the great authors of the twentieth century). We wanted to see his birthplace and visit the D.H. Lawrence Heritage Centre in Eastwood. But where do you spend the night in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I have stayed in Eastwood many, many times and this time we booked in at the above hotel. From the outside the hotel looks large and welcoming. The bar is large and décor to match the age of the hotel. Staff behind the bar are friendly and efficient. Check-in only took a matter of minutes and we were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the breakfast, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We visited the Sun Inn for a meal on a Friday lunchtime which was very good value for money and nicely cooked. The service was very poor though, I had to wait at the bar for ages to get served, another customer eventually went off to find someone to serve us. We then had to wait a long time for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have now had an opportunity to look into this a little further. Whilst we did have a large party to serve in the dining room, this does not serve as an excuse for the poor service you received from us on your recent visit. Can I take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

"Greeted" at reception/ bar, paid on arrival (maybe so don't refuse to pay!) room was a single as booked but having you're coffee/ tea etc on a dirty plate is not the best start! Bathroom is corridor like and not exactly pleasant! Go to get into get, bed is quite hard, not too much of an issue, putting you're hand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologise for the problems you encountered during your recent stay with us. Could I please ask that you contact me (Nikki) at the pub to discuss this further please if you would like to? Thank you More 

Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Booked at short notice as I was asked to work in Nottingham for a week, I was unable to get anything close to where I was working within the allowed budget. Found the hotel easy enough as the main road goes right past it. Overnight parking next to the hotel is free from 6 pm to 8 am which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I visited the Sun inn on Monday, I was downstairs in the pub all night, I got to know a few of the regulars and thought the bar staff were very cheerful! I also had something to eat and it was the best 'pub grub' I had tried in a while. Although the rooms were average, it was a bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay