We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Inn

6 Derby Road, Eastwood NG16 3NT, England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
5
6
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room (no12) was in desperate need of refurbishment. 2 light bulbs were broken (out of 4) The TV did not operate after 11.30pm and a fan would have been useful as the room was very hot on the the 2nd floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked thru late rooms for the same evening due to a course I was on overrunning Arrived to check in and was shown to my room Could be ok with a clean a deep deep clean The carpet was sticky and by the bed was some grated onion the previous resident had kindly left me incase I got hungry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologise for the issues you have encountered and will be undertaking an urgent investigation into this matter. Your comments will also be discussed at the next team meeting. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment in the accommodation which will now raise the standard of the rooms, however this is no excuse for the poor standard of service you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Eastwood hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

The place was run by kids that where run off there feet the same 5 people where constantly running around. The rooms where clean but down in the bar was a dive. I had to place the menus on the table to stop my arms getting sticky. We had breakfast it took ages to order and waited ages for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I apologise sincerely that your experience with us seemed to fall well below our normal standards. If you would like to contact me on 01773 712940 and we can discuss this further, however I can assure you that all of our staff are over 18 years... More 

new milton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

we went for lunch on Friday and the experience was very good, the food and friendly service was top notch, ok the place does not tick many visual boxes from the outside but the aforementioned made up for any lack of outer gloss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Blackpool, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I stayed at The Sun Inn with a friend for 2 nights. The room we were given was grotty and definitely needed updating, badly. Wallpaper was peeling, there was damp right up the bathroom wall and pipes were very visible in the bedroom. On the plus side, downstairs was quite nice and the staff were friendly. I wouldn't stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay here recently. We are due to have a refurbishment starting in the upcoming weeks therefore this will raise the overall standard of the rooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the pub and staff. More 

Ostseebad Rerik, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Where is Eastwood, I hear people ask. Well, it is just west of Nottingham. And it is the birthplace of D.H. Lawrence (of "Lady Chatterley"-fame, but actually one of the great authors of the twentieth century). We wanted to see his birthplace and visit the D.H. Lawrence Heritage Centre in Eastwood. But where do you spend the night in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I have stayed in Eastwood many, many times and this time we booked in at the above hotel. From the outside the hotel looks large and welcoming. The bar is large and décor to match the age of the hotel. Staff behind the bar are friendly and efficient. Check-in only took a matter of minutes and we were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the breakfast, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We visited the Sun Inn for a meal on a Friday lunchtime which was very good value for money and nicely cooked. The service was very poor though, I had to wait at the bar for ages to get served, another customer eventually went off to find someone to serve us. We then had to wait a long time for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have now had an opportunity to look into this a little further. Whilst we did have a large party to serve in the dining room, this does not serve as an excuse for the poor service you received from us on your recent visit. Can I take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

"Greeted" at reception/ bar, paid on arrival (maybe so don't refuse to pay!) room was a single as booked but having you're coffee/ tea etc on a dirty plate is not the best start! Bathroom is corridor like and not exactly pleasant! Go to get into get, bed is quite hard, not too much of an issue, putting you're hand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologise for the problems you encountered during your recent stay with us. Could I please ask that you contact me (Nikki) at the pub to discuss this further please if you would like to? Thank you More 

Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Booked at short notice as I was asked to work in Nottingham for a week, I was unable to get anything close to where I was working within the allowed budget. Found the hotel easy enough as the main road goes right past it. Overnight parking next to the hotel is free from 6 pm to 8 am which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastwood
0.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley
Premier Inn Ripley
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West
Premier Inn Nottingham West
#5 of 56 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dakota Nottingham
Dakota Nottingham
#27 of 56 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay