We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Inn

6 Derby Road, Eastwood NG16 3NT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sun Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

visited 3 different places in the last 3 weeks for fish and chips all local to find the best, sun inn eastwood came way on top excellent fish very tasty well done chips great service well done to all.

Helpful?
Thank mick h
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Prebooked a room in the Sun Hotel for an overnight stay when attending a family funeral. A family member had heard the rooms had been updated so we took no notice of previous reviews. We were given family room for £80 as no available doubles. Was not expecting the Ritz but thought for that price it would be clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jare56
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, we are sincerely sorry for the issues you have encountered during your stay which fall far below our normal standards. Your review will be discussed at our next full team meeting and the maintenance issues you have reported will be looked into urgently. If you would like to contact me to discuss these... More 

Travelers are raving about these Eastwood hotels

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Always a good welcome at the sun inn. Rooms have been updated to a good standard. But do not expect 5 star. Really friendly staff in the morning a be assured of a great breakfast. Always stay here when in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Mike A
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

Had two nights here and it was below par if I'm being honest Things I liked Friendly staff Easy quick check in Things I didn't like Poor wifi..kept dropping signal Food was obviously mainly bought in and my chicken tikka masala was very poor Bacon served at breakfast was poor quality and cheap fatty cut You have to pay to... More 

Helpful?
Thank sowie
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and provide feedback. I am sincerely sorry for the issues you have encountered whilst staying with us, this falls far below our normal level of service particularly concerning the food quality and WIFI signal. Can I please ask that you contact me if you wish discuss this further, my name... More 

Higham Ferrers
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Small inn offering real ales at good prices, limited seating but seems to cater for locals, nice pub to visit if going to eastwood hall as costs of booze there are expensive and this is only a 8 minute walk away, they do food but we didn't try it.

Helpful?
Thank Copperpot_uk
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Overnight stay for work - on band night which meant no sleep till the crowd cleared as my room seemed to be directly above the stage. Sheets were cleanish but the carpet & walls were beyond salvage. The whole place feels tired & run down - an example of why the pub/inn business has been in steep decline. Parking a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mac K
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay, if you would like to discuss this further with me please contact me (Nikki) at the pub on 01773 712940. Kind regards. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The room (no12) was in desperate need of refurbishment. 2 light bulbs were broken (out of 4) The TV did not operate after 11.30pm and a fan would have been useful as the room was very hot on the the 2nd floor.

Helpful?
Thank 619joseph1943
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, the accommodation has now undergone a full refurbishment which has raised the overall standard. We apologise for any issues you encountered during your stay such as light bulbs not working. We hope to welcome you back in the future to showcase the new rooms to you. Kind regards. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

I booked thru late rooms for the same evening due to a course I was on overrunning Arrived to check in and was shown to my room Could be ok with a clean a deep deep clean The carpet was sticky and by the bed was some grated onion the previous resident had kindly left me incase I got hungry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologise for the issues you have encountered and will be undertaking an urgent investigation into this matter. Your comments will also be discussed at the next team meeting. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment in the accommodation which will now raise the standard of the rooms, however this is no excuse for the poor standard of service you... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

The place was run by kids that where run off there feet the same 5 people where constantly running around. The rooms where clean but down in the bar was a dive. I had to place the menus on the table to stop my arms getting sticky. We had breakfast it took ages to order and waited ages for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesbiano99
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I apologise sincerely that your experience with us seemed to fall well below our normal standards. If you would like to contact me on 01773 712940 and we can discuss this further, however I can assure you that all of our staff are over 18 years... More 

new milton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

we went for lunch on Friday and the experience was very good, the food and friendly service was top notch, ok the place does not tick many visual boxes from the outside but the aforementioned made up for any lack of outer gloss.

Helpful?
Thank ian h
Nikki D, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastwood
0.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham North West (Hucknall) Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay