We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Elanthadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dolphin Beach Resort
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    51
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
88
89
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Kuwait
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is something really special. From the moment you first step across the threshold you can almost feel stress, tension and travel weariness just leaching out of you. And for us, there had been plenty of that. It was always going to be a tough day. We knew it would be a two hour drive to get to Wilpattu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark, it war a egret pleasure meeting you and chatting with you.Thank you so much for fantastic compliments and for great review. It Makes us very happy to know you had great time at dolphin beach. Hopefully next time driver will know where to come and you will have more time to stay with us. Untill next time all... More 

Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want ro relax, chill out, eat good food and meet nice people, than you have to visit Dolphin beach resort (Makara). We've planed to stay for two nights and stayed for four. And we have loved every minute there. The host Dean organized everything for us and we felt really welcomed. The room was nice, clean, with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Maja & Tomaz, Great pleasure meeting you and talking to you. Thank you for fantastic review and for choosing Dolphin Beach for your Kalpitiya stay. Wind has picket up and kite surfing season has started. I'm coming to Europe in October and will definitely contact you. Untill then all the best from windy Dolphin Beach Dean More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Relaxing and peaceful atmosphere, no loud music, nice swimming pool, great view over the sea, excellently furnished rooms, good food and wine, we had fantastic dreams and experienced whale watching for the first time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Walter, it was pleasure meeting you. Thank you for fantastic review all the compliments and pictures you send me from dolphin and whale watching. We are very pleased to know you had great time and that we will see you next year again. Until then all the best from all of us at Dolphin Beach resort Dean &DB team More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dolphin Beach was the first stop on our 10 day tour of Sri Lanka and we spent 4 amazing nights here. The rooms were beautiful with some great quirky features - only complain I would have is that you cannot lock the tents. Not too much of an issue for us but may be concerning if you had young children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daniella, great pleasure meeting you boat. Thank you for choosing Dolphin Beach and for great review and all the compliments. Dolphin Beach is in an absolutely safe still unspoiled area and if we had locks on the tents that would change look of resort. We do provide safety boxes in the rooms if you want to lock and secure... More 

Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this beautiful resort in April for 11 nights have never felt so relaxed and away from everything. The tents were amazing, especially the rain shower in the garden. All the staff were amazing from the moment we walked through the gates. Dean the resort manager is fantastic whatever you need he will try to provide. The dolphin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, it was a great pleasure meeting you and your family. Thank you for shearing your excellent experience with trip adviser readers and all compliments. Your opinion helps us to improve and provide beather service in all resort departments. We hope on your next visit to Sri Lanka we will have a pleasure to see you. Until then all... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at DBR for one night with 5 other friends, and gotta say it was a splendid stay, and we actually felt it would have been better if we could have stayed for an additional night. The whole setting is really peaceful with a beautiful unspoiled beach and it only gets better by the evening when the sun decides to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eshan, it was a pleasure meeting you all and thank you for great review and compliments. Considering you live in Colombo you should come and visit us more often to relax from Colombo's busy life.Untill next time all the best from DB Dean & team More 

Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We truly had a blessed time at the resort. When we arrived we were given fresh watermelon juice and taken to our wonderful tent. The room was very nice and clean. Every day fresh flowers were placed on our front porch. The staff were very helpful and kind. The food was always great and one day Dean's mother cooked us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michelle and Eldrige, it was a great pleasure meeting you and talking to you. We are extremely happy to know you had relaxing time and great food at Dolphin Beach. Thank you for wonderful review and all great compliments. We hope you will come and visit us soon. Untill then all the best from all of us at DB... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
126 hotel reviews
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Amazing resort environment, with the luxe 'tents' having all modcons and the whole area having an air of complete luxury - e.g the pool area. All for a reasonable 4-star price. Dinner on HB fabulous, prawns to die for. Dolphin trips also executed well. Small minus points: * For this price level we expect tea/coffee making in the room supplied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Erik, it was nice to meet you and your wife and is great to hear that you had fantastic time at Dolphin Beach. Regarding coffee and tea in the room, we do have small catel's that we provide on guest request. Unfortunately tents being made of fabric have tendency to absorb vapors from coffee making therefore we do not... More 

Nugegoda, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

This was our first family trip to Dolphin Beach Resort. It was just beyond anything we could imagine. The tents were air conditioned and very spacious. There were 2 king sized and comfy beds for a peaceful & calm night's sleep. The furniture, bathroom, floor & surroundings within the tent had an antique effect to them which was all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chaminda, it was a great pleasure meeting you and your family. Thank you so much for shearing your Dolphin Beach experience with Trip adviser readers and for great compliments. We hope you will come and visit us soon. Until next time all the best from all of us at Dolphin Beach Dean More 

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We had a very relaxing stay with our 3 year old at Dolphin Beach. Our family tent was well designed and comfortable. The pool and beach were lovely, and the dolphin-watching was a great wildlife experience. Half day trip to Wilpattu was well worth it. The Sri Lankan food and pizzas were good. Dean is a charming host, who made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dush & Maryann, thank you for taking time and share your experience at Dolphin Beach with Trip adviser readers. It was a great pleasure meeting you all and thank you for choosing Dolphin Beach. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again. Cheers Dean & DB dream team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (253)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay