We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Beach Resort

Elanthadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dolphin Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dolphin Beach Resort
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
63
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

As an ex-pat resident in Colombo, Dolphin Beach has become my undiscovered oasis retreat. This gem is Sri Lanka meets Morocco with romantic tented living spaces on the beach. The food is healthy and locally sourced and I would drive the three hours from Colombo just for the pineapple chicken salad bowl (served in a pineapple). Dean is the most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Beth and Joe, so nice to see you again and thank you so much for fantastic review. Our chef is very pleased you enjoy his Chicken pineapple salad and has surprise for you wen you come next time. Until then best regards to you and your friends in Embassy. Bacioni belezza Dean More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A Little Piece of Heaven - or so the song goes! Disregard Avenged Sevenfold - Dolphin Beach is truly heavenly. Angel Dean is the star on top of the Christmas tree - the place is wonderful! We stayed there just one night but there were memories made to last a lifetime. Dean, you are the perfect host and the world... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tess and Mary, it was an absolute pleasure meeting you in A Little Piece of Heaven. Wish you had more time and stay at least one more night with us at Dolphin Beach resort. I'm very grateful for your excellent review and glad you had fantastic and memorable time. Hope you will be back son so we can continue... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and at home. Dean the manager was amazing and made us feel welcome and relaxed in this beautiful resort. The staff were very attentive but not over bearing. The food was delicious, healthy and freshly cooked to order. We had planned to take some excursions but loved it so much we never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Trisha, Thank you so much for your excellent review and compliments. It was rely a great pleasure meeting you and talking to about life in Asia and Abu Dhabi. Hope to see you in January... Until then all the best from DB Dean More

Southern Province, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

During the spring/summer 2014 I stayed 3 months in Sri Lanka for work and travel. I came first to this wonderfull place at the beginning of my trip and it was so nice that I had to come back at the end. Dean the manager is also a very friendly and helpfull person and always in the mood for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Janina, Thank you so much for finding time and share your excellent experience at Dolphin Beach resort. All the staff including me is very happy that you had fantastic time while staying with us. Hope work is good and that you have some time to rest. Please send my regards to your mother and I hope to see you... More

Mysore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i had the pleasure of spending two nights at dolphin beach resort kalpitiya and absolutely loved the place..a quick drive from colombo on unhurried roads and you find the resort tucked away in a private corner of the coast...we were warmly welcomed by the manager dean and his helpful crew...the tented accommadation is absolutely cosy,very comfortable,clean and quiet...the meals at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shehan, it was absolute pleasure meeting you. Thank you so much for your fantastic review and recognition of our bathroom amenities. It makes me very happy you enjoyed lemon grass soap we make. I really hope to see you very soon back at Dolphin Beach. Until then all the best from sunny Kalpitiya Dean More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in the family A/C tent with two double beds. Lots of great places for kids and adults to hang out in the hotel ground. Host, staff and meals were all excellent. There was no problem looking for the place as we had good direction from the hotel website The only place we would stay when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Madam, thank you for wonderful review and for beautiful compliments. I'm very pleased to hear you had excellent time at Dolphin Beach and considering you live in Colombo I hope to see you very soon. Thank you again and best regards Dean More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend& I visited Dolphin Beach and stayed for two nights, although we wish we could've stayed for longer! Our stay was absolutely pleasant and we had the most enjoyable time. I happened to spend my birthday in Kalpitiya at dolphin beach where they had organised a surprise BBQ with firecrackers and a delicious chocolate cake! The hammocks by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Soraya, we all are very pleased to hear you had excellent time while staying at Dolphin Beach. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to meet you but hope I will have that pleasure on your next visit to Kalpitiya. Until then best regards from sunny Dolphin Beach resort Dean More

Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No electronic keys, no doors, just tents and zips ! Welcome to the Dolphin Beach Resort - a place of utter tranquillity at the end of the world ....... a place where 21st Century paranoia does not exist and will never be allowed entry. The tents are giant, adult size playhouses beautifully crafted in, I believe, Rajasthan - colourful, fun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thomson family, thank you for your excellent review. It was a great pleasure meeting you and having fun with you. Your presence is very much missed at the resort. I really hope i will see you back soon at Dolphin Beach. Until then best regards Dean More

Jurien Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived late after renting our own tuk tuk from Columbo and driving up. We stayed at Dolphin Beach for 2 nights. The host/manager Dean was incredibly helpful and welcoming when we finally arrived. Anything we wanted he would have organised for us. The infinity pool over looking the beach was best part. Swam in the ocean out front and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ausies, let me apologize first not to say god buy to you. As you know I left for my wacationn that night. Thank you for your great review and I hope you will come back one day. The poop in the room is not mice it is from a little fruit bat that sometime comes in when guest have... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Unfortunately we stayed only for one night. We planned to be there on Monday early in the afternoon but our driver got lost so we end up arriving late night at this magnificent place. ..after a long drive. .. Dean was waiting for us at the gate already. .The way he welcomed us was just more than warm. .. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gülsüm, It was a great pleasure meeting you all. I wish you had more time to spend with us. I miss your girls a lot. We all are wery pleased you had excellent time and that you enjoyed food at Dolphin Beach Resort. Hope to see you again very soon and thank you for your excellent review. Best wishes... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: Elanthadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Kalpitiya

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay