We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Kalpitiya B&Bs / inns

Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge to your Saves list
off 40 km post Kalpitiya Road | 2 km towards the sea, Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (52)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • More
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpitiya
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
21
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mui Ne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Despite only staying a couple of days. Was blessed to see dolphins, and kite between a couple of islands at the 'magic spot'. Great to be back on the water after a 3-4 year break, and have a refresher session which was flexible. Very impressed with the professionalism and helpfulness of the locals. A very relaxed site with sweet puppies!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Kite camp is the best i have been so far. The staff is so cool that you feel like home, you are not considered as a basic customer but a family member. Spot, rental gears food are awesome. Normal quiet night can easily turn in a crazy party. Do not hesitate go there

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'm just back from 4 weeks at Srilankakite. I had planned to travel around Sri Lanka but then liked it too much there and stayed the whole time at the camp kiting. Of the various camps around Kalpitiya I went for this one as it's right at the lagoon meaning you can go in and out of the water as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I travelled to Sri Lanka for 15 nights and we stayed here for the whole time. The kitesurfing spot was the best on the lagoon by far as it's right on the lagoon. You can launch from the beach if you are competent but if not the boat men will take you across whenever you request so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zutphen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in Fabio's place. Good stuff: local staff and kiteschool people were great! Location for kitesurfing is the best. Met some great people over there! Bungalow was very basic, quite overpriced in comparison with other locations. Food was ok. Negative point is that there was only one toilet. They are building some new, not sure when that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lieke, Thanks for staying with us and your review. The new toilets will be finished in 2 days from now, finally :) we were late cause of the heavy rain in april. As mentioned earlier our prices are a bit more expensive than the other places cause we are in very remote place, that makes the charm, we have... More

Pak Nam Pran, Thailand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

1. Extremely overpriced 2. The service is so bad it is beyond a joke 3. Fabio seems like a nice guy but other than that the staff are just a bunch of incredibly arrogant rude french guys who seem to think they are Pro kiters and have no interest in any kind of hospitality or service They are rude to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rpt101261, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you didn't like the atmosphere here at Srilankakite. Unfortunately we don't remember you staying here with us and think that using both a new "english" account plus your french account to say bad things about us is not really helping. Luckily the real people staying here write real... More

Saigon, null, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights and had a really really good time, enjoying kite surfing, dolphin watching, excellent food, home made pizzas & croissants in a friendly atmosphere ! The bungalows are located right in front of the blue lagoon & very quiet. Kite surf teachers are very helpful and skillful from water start to handle pass. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boracay, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

after i stayed at kalpitiya for about 3 months i can really say that this school has by far the best location. located just at the lagoon makes it very easy to go in the water whenever you want, its not like this at the other shops as far as i know. the staff was very friendly and helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I give Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge 4 Stars, 1 for Fabio, 1 for Stef, 1 for Phil, and 1 for Bau, who all own, run the place, kite, and hang out with the guests. They are friendly and approachable and if you stay long enough it is more like you are on vacation with them which gives a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

perfect location and spot on the lagoon; deluxe chalet are simple but elegant and clean. great instructor, no time lost as the kite center is next to the lodge stayed there only 3 days so did not have time to get bored with the food...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge

Address: off 40 km post Kalpitiya Road | 2 km towards the sea, Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Hotel Kalpitiya

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kalpitiya with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled between the salt pans and the lagoon, our Sethawadiya property comprises four eco chalets with views of the ocean beyond picturesque sand bars. The chalets include a private sitting area and bedroom with attached bathroom. This is the perfect getaway for those looking for an experience beyond commercialized resorts. Just opened from 1st July 2011, Srilankakite located at Sethawadiya Dolphin view ecolodge. This kite centre is dedicated for beginners intermediate and advance lessons with the latest equipment available at the centre from north boarding that include rentals sale and repairs of all kiteboarding equipment. Get advise from world famous Fabio Ingrosso staying throughout the season at the centre testing the kites for north boarding again one of the most technically advanced reputable kite brands in the world. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer