We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mottram Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Hotel amenities
Mottram Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014
rob d
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    168
    112
    53
    23
See reviews for
101
261
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (695)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (190)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mottram Hall
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I have visited several different spas in the last few years and this one far surpasses the others. I was greeted warmly by staff and made to feel at ease and relaxed immediately. The lady who looked after me during the day, Natalie, was so lovely and friendly, she is a credit to the establishment! As is Gail, with whom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear rob d, Thank you for your comments about Mottram Hall Club and Spa. It is lovely to hear that our leisure facilities exceed your expectations and that the staff were friendly and professional. Thank you for these comments, it is also so good to hear such positive feedback about the Mottram team. We look forward to your return to... More 

Bolsover, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I understand that not everyone has an excellent experience here, but we have stayed twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Both times we upgraded to another room and did ask when booking if it had been refurbished. Both times we had a beautiful room, a bit on the small side but that is how the main house is. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear Jennywap, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you have returned to enjoy the whole resort and that the rooms are comfortable and you are able to relax in the leisure club. I apologise for the wait in the food, thank you for bringing this to my attention.... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on sunday evening and we have to say we had a lovely time, the room was really nice and the spa & pool were great. You could not fault the evening meal or the breakfast. The staff were all excellent and very friendly. We would highly recommend a stay here and are looking forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear jollygirl2014, Thank you for your kind words in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am so pleased to hear that your Mottram experience was enjoyable and that the whole team were on hand to assist you throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall in the future. Kind Regards, James Stewart More 

Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I recently stayed at Mottram Hall with a friend its an absolutely beautiful hotel with an amazing spa, would most defiantly recommend here to everyone. We had a living social voucher, staff didn't treat us any different which was nice as usually staff can be funny with voucher deals. The staff were really nice and the spa its self was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear Rachael M, Thank you for your comments in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time here and were able to have a taster of the whole resort. Thank you for your comments in regard to the staff, I am happy that they were friendly and professional. I hope that... More 

Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Visited with my friend yesterday on a groupon deal. Exceptional spa staff made us very welcome and explained the day, times etc.The treatments were exceptional and no pressure to buy products just very helpful advice. At lunch time we plodded off on a journey round the hotel in our robes and slippers to find a bite to eat before our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear ManchesterCurlytop, Thank you for taking the time to write about your spa experience on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear that the spa therapists were exceptional and that you were able to relax in our leisure club. Thank you for your comments about the lunch service, we always value constructive feedback. We hope that you have the opportunity to... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed on a golf break. Golf course was a good, great layout and in superb condition with great facilities, golf shop is very expensive though. The hotel facilities are great but the room was very disappointing, double bed but very small room. Blind was broken which meant I couldn't wind it up so the room was dark all of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear Shepj6, Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the golf on our championship golf course but am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the room you were allocated. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Got there 2 hours after possible check in. Room still not ready, had to sit in the bar for more than an hour, leaving no time to use the spa facilities. If we wanted to sit in a bar all afternoon we'd have stayed at home and gone to the pub in the village where we live. Staff where lovely,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear Neil M, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that there was a delay at check in and you were unhappy with your room, thank you for bringing this to my attention. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email at... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Mottram Hall as a treat to ourselves for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. On arrival the drive up to the Hall is so lovely and tranquil lined with trees and golf course heading towards the Hall which looked stunning with vibrant flowerbeds and fountain. We were greeted by friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear Arthur D, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us celebrating your 20th wedding anniversary and that the Reception team were on hand to make you feel very welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.... More 

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We arrived 30/8/14 for afternoon tea with my nanna n her sister n my mum. On arrival there was a wedding party, so we couldn't sit in the conservatory we had asked for. We were shown into the tea room they were using and to say I was disappointed would be an understatement! There were people sat in their dressing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear LouiseA1990, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your afternoon tea booking didn’t get of the best of starts, but that Matt was soon able to rectify this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future. Kind Regards James Stewart More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Mottram is without doubt the perfect Wedding venue, the Georgian facade and fountain as you drive in is sure to impress. As you enter the magic continues, the grand hallways, welcoming reception rooms and intimate bar make guests feel really welcome. The staff are all superb, very efficient and genuinely helpful. To say that everything is taken care of is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review

Dear cabbie37, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you found Mottram Hall to be the perfect venue for your wedding and that all events team were on hand to help make the day such a success. We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall sometime in the near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (162)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question