We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Station House Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Main St, Kilmessan, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Station House Hotel
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    57
    28
    32
    19
See reviews for
101
144
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we stayed in the hotel and found it lovely staff very friendly.the place is beautiful .the surroundings are beautiful espically for a wedding. if you want to get away from it all t his is the hotel for you. only down side food took long time to come the tv kept going on the blink. i found the bed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Station House Hotel has very friendly, helpful staff, excellent food and unique accommodation. Afternoon tea was superb and matched any from top Dublin hotels. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna R Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Station House Hotel and for the great recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Denise Slattery More 

ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding here and couldn't recommend it enough. We were looked after very well from the moment we booked over a year ago. The food was delicious. Some of our guests told it was one of the best weddings they were at. Everything about the day was so relaxed and we will fondly remember the day for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scallywally1985 Thank you from all of us here at The Station House Hotel for the lovely review. We are delighted you and your guests enjoyed your wedding day with us. Thanks again for the great review & recommendation. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future. Kind regards Denise Slattery More 

Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh dear S L O W Food took an hour for each course Between courses they decided to vacuum the dining area! Confused, disinterested service...given three different menus to choose from Food itself varied from poor to OK...undercooked roast potatoes, lamb boring, flavourless vegetables, prawn pil pil were stir fried in tobasco, vol au vent made with what seemed like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcos_Simpson I am very sorry to hear of your recent experience with us at The Station House Hotel. Perhaps if you had said something to us at the time we may have been able to rectify the situation. We have a selection of menus available in the Signal Restaurant, offering various prices, hence the reason for three separate menus... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night, was a fabulous stay! Staff were wonderful and very friendly! Food was amazing! Also had a great nights sleep! Location is fabulous and very easy to get to! Really couldn't fault the place!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrianfin56 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Station House Hotel and also for the lovely recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Station House Hotel in the very near future. If you would like to contact me directly... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here over a bank holiday weekend just to give it a try. I had heard about the place about 30 years ago and always promised myself a visit. Our son attended a wedding there recently which he said was 'fine' so being only an hour away we booked the Master Suite for a night away. It is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claughton Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Station House Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were not impressed with the service you received. It is always good to receive any kind of feedback (both positive and constructive). We will certainly take your comments very seriously and investigate... More 

Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed here before and had a wonderful stay I was excited to return. Unfortunately our room was not in the hotel but over the function room. It was dark with no window only a skylight. A clean room but very small. At breakfast we waited a good twenty minutes for someone to appear. Surprising, as there were only two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gerannDublin Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Station House Hotel. I am very sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us on this particular occasion. I would like to assure you that we always aim to give the customer 100% satisfaction and excellent customer service... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Station house for two nights, the hotel is set in a secluded setting outside the village of Killmessin. The hotel is a disused railway station, the rooms are on the small side and would benefit from a refund. The signal resturant is without doubt the best in terms of quality and price, the food surroundings, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DAVIDMCKEOWN Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for the recommendation. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to The Station House Hotel in the near future. Kind regards Denise Slattery More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had lunch once again in the beautiful Station House Hotel. Food cooked to perfection as usual and a lovely leisurely pace. No rushing guests in this establishment. Courteous and friendly staff and excellent service. After lunch, a leisurely walk in the beautifully kept gardens, was so relaxing and enjoyable too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sibeal2014 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit with us at The Station House Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you to The Station House Hotel in the near future. Kind regards Denise Slattery More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the email I've just sent to the hotel after a disastrous birthday night out for my wife This evening myself and my wife who's birthday we were hoping to celebrate booked at a your restaurant for 8pm, we arrive early at 7.45pm and were shown into the bar by the lovely lady on reception, we chose a seat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lance & Rachel I am very sorry to hear of your recent experience with us at The Station House Hotel. The shortcomings you described are inexcusable and I can only apologise at this stage for the level of service you received. We aim to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable experience at The Station House Hotel and I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay