We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strand Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Strand Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    96
    66
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
49
96
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Marseille, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a very nice break here. The staff are friendly, bending over backwards to make us feel at home. This was not my first stay at the Strand, and will probably not be my last. Highly enjoyable and would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Merci beaucoup Monsieur. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Dundonald, Belfast.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We called in for dinner on our latest trip to Ballyliffin and everything was just as good as always. Tasty food, excellent service and comfortable surroundings. We are never disappointed. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and as ever we were delighted to see you again. More 

Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we had two guests who had not made a booking for the Hotel, The staff we're excellent sorting our friends with a double room, all of which we're clean, spacious, fully equipped and comfortable, in the morning a full Irish or continental breakfast awaited us which again was excellent! very reasonable rates and wonderful staff I'll be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that we could accommodate you and that you enjoyed to stay with us. More 

County Tyrone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having only seen our room, we left within 5 mins after checking in. Stained carpet, frayed duvet covers, stained toilet lid, old style TV sitting on a unit which blocked the wardrobe doors, filthy telephone, paintwork on walls chipped & general decor was awfuI. In serious need of refurbishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

We are always extremely disappointed to receive such a negative review. While we understand that you were not happy with your allocated room we are disappointed that we were not afforded the opportunity to try and put that right before you left. A very small number of our rooms have yet to be refurbished and are a little tired. We... More 

Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a fine hotel to stay for one night. The pub was fine and seemed to be a popular hang-out. Room was clean, just a bit worn looking. Breakfast was very good in a lovely room looking out on the garden and beach beyond. Views around the town were pretty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted that you recommend The Strand Hotel for a nights stay. The seaview is beautiful. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights ! Lovely very clean hotel! Nice location! Friendly staff! Food very good! Great location! Great value for money ! Nice to see manager /owner asking guests during the evening were we enjoying our stay! Quiz in bar Wednesday was good old craic!! Hotel really trying !! Visit won't be disappointed !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are delighted that you had such a good time. More 

Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used the Strand Hotel as a base to tour Inishowen. First impressions last they say, well our arrival was all matter of fact, no pleasantries, we were just processed and moved on, no orientation given. Upon reaching our room, the door needed a good shove to open (it remained obstinate throughout our stay). We had a great view....of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments about your arrival have been noted. We are disappointed that we were not afforded the opportunity to fix that door while you were with us. Some of our rooms have better views than others. If we had known that this was an issue for you we would have tried our best to allocate... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a last minute trip to Donegal. We had never stayed in Ballyliffen or The Strand before. The area is beautiful with a beach 5 minutes away. The people are lovely and could not do enough for us. We definitely preferred this area of Donegal and would come back again. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Inishowen is a very special part of Donegal and The Strand Hotel in perfectly located for exploring The Wild Atlantic Way. Pollan Beach is on our doorstep and we are lucky to have such wonderful views from the Hotel all of which can be enjoyed while having breakfast. Thanks... More 

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here to attend a party in the village. The staff were lovely. The bedroom was clean and modern. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was excellent . The view from the restaurant windows was absolutely spectacular and breakfast was of that fast disappearing kind ie. cooked to order and not cooling. For once my poached eggs were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that review. We have just posted that view on our Facebook page this morning. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on a short break. On arrival we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel which we didnt like. We asked for a change and were immediately accomodated with a nice bright room at the front. It was clean and tidy. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We do our very best to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay at The Strand Hotel and when given the opportunity we can resolve any issues that guests may have while here. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#1 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay