We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strand Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Strand Hotel
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    55
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
85
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We dined here on a Sunday there was seven of us we opted for table service rather than the carvery We had three courses soup the roast beef which is to die for and various sweets & it was €15 pp The waitresses/waiters do an excellent job , which we mentioned to John the owner so girls & boys you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you our Sunday Lunch menu is very popular as is our Carvery and we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch. Thanks so much for your review. More 

Dundonald, Belfast.
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Another fabulous break at the Strand over Easter, even the weather was great which is always a bonus. The Strand offers everything we need to make our stay enjoyable.....everyone is friendly, the rooms and the rest of the hotel are clean, the food, both at breakfast and if you're having other meals, is tasty and reasonably priced. Nothing is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review. The fact that you have returned to stay with us is a compliment in itself but we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay over the Easter break. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really friendly staff on a very busy Easter weekend. A lot of day diners on Sunday meant a very busy restaurant and an under pressure reception which accepted our last minute meal booking with a smile. Evening entertainment is/was rather slower than we expected but the good weather and reasonable prices, both bar and hotel, made for an excellent weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Room 53 has the best view.. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff are so friendly! I would recommend the hotel for any private function. We went to the hotel after my sons christening. We were a small party of 12 adults & 5 children and really appreciated having a section of the larger room partitioned off, creating a more cosy space for us. The food ( soup/sandwiches/chips etc & dessert) was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Family Function and are grateful that you took time out to review it. Thanks again. More 

Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Very enjoyable and relaxing weekend....Staff very friendly and efficient, room very spacious and clean... Compliaments to the chef for the excellent food. Returning in April for a family wedding.....cant wait! Great value for money would highly recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we will see you over the next few weeks. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Had a lovely stay here with my boyfriend on the 14th March. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Breakfast the next morning was a home a way from home. My boyfriend is coeliac and The Strand were very accommodating. Thanks for a lovely time 😁

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do our utmost to ensure that everyone's stay with us is enjoyable and looking after our guests needs and dietary requirements are important. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Myself and my family have always came to this hotel for the carvery for years from Derry as the quality and amount of food you get is incredible value! However when I visited a few weeks ago with my boyfriend (his first time) I was slightly disappointed. We arrived on a Sunday around 3:40 and I asked at reception if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are very disappointed to read about your experience especially as we get such great feedback on our "friendly staff". We pride ourselves on our service and standards and will be addressing these issues with the staff. In the meantime may we ask you to contact us on... More 

Castlerock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Stayed for a weekend break on a special offer last weekend. Hotel was great and so were the staff. The food and drinks were very good and very well priced. Met some nice people and would def return again. Only one small complaint, beware when you book online on the hotels website. They take a 10% deposit and when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had such a good time. We are grateful for your comments re the deposit. This should not have happened and is very unusual. We hope that you might allow us to make it up to you on your return. Should you return please do not be embarrassed and remind... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stay here for a wedding when we get to the hotel there was a Friendly welcoming atmosphere, great entertainment in the evenings, fantastic food and service and nothing is ever too much trouble. The staff would so helpful... Only problem we did have was there was no hot water in the morning but this looed to have been a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that your enjoyed your stay. Our boiler has been a bit temperamental so I apologise for that. I am glad that our reception team offered you a discount and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The greatest singer and comedian in all of Ballyliffin. A credit to your hotel and team. Extremely friendly hotel and looked after us very well. Including providing breakfast after hours. Up Martin Doherty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
StrandBallyliffin, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We certainly aim to please.. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question