We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strand Hotel

Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Strand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    52
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a weekend break on a special offer last weekend. Hotel was great and so were the staff. The food and drinks were very good and very well priced. Met some nice people and would def return again. Only one small complaint, beware when you book online on the hotels website. They take a 10% deposit and when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had such a good time. We are grateful for your comments re the deposit. This should not have happened and is very unusual. We hope that you might allow us to make it up to you on your return. Should you return please do not be embarrassed and remind... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for a wedding when we get to the hotel there was a Friendly welcoming atmosphere, great entertainment in the evenings, fantastic food and service and nothing is ever too much trouble. The staff would so helpful... Only problem we did have was there was no hot water in the morning but this looed to have been a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that your enjoyed your stay. Our boiler has been a bit temperamental so I apologise for that. I am glad that our reception team offered you a discount and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The greatest singer and comedian in all of Ballyliffin. A credit to your hotel and team. Extremely friendly hotel and looked after us very well. Including providing breakfast after hours. Up Martin Doherty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StrandBallyliffin, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We certainly aim to please.. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Having stayed at the hotel on numerous occassions for family events/weddings etc I can safely say that this is the best hotel in Inishowen. Friendly welcoming atmosphere, great entertainment in the evenings, fantastic food and service and nothing is ever too much trouble. Johnny Bill has ensured that even in their busiest times that the service provided is second to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly try our best to be consistent and we value all of our guests and love to see our guests return. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this cosy family run hotel in Donegal. Our room had a great sea view and a very old television. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and gave us lots of information about things to do and see in the area. Breakfast was substantial and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

good enofe food average prices nothing to write home about do. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean around bar restaurant . Food served very quickly And efficiently . Menu fir bar food very clear and well suited to your needs

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Stayed one night. The cost was more expensive than advertised on a well recognised website. Some of the decor is dated. Unable to have a shower at night as hot was not available. Lift was also broken which was a bit of a problem as my partner has mobility problems. On a positive the staff were very welcoming and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our best rates are advertised and available to book on line. No different from other Hotels our rack rate is offered to all walk in guests. Unfortunately the lift was out of service and needed the services of an engineer. We are disappointed to hear about the shower as we are sure that this could... More 

Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Spent two nights here as a friend was getting married. Checked in and went straight to the room , there was a few of us that were staying and thankfully had gotten rooms up on the same floor all near each other. Went into the room and it was warm but tiny and noisy, the tv was the oldest thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would be most grateful if you would e-mail us on strandhotel@ballyliffin.com so that we can investigate this matter further. We are concerned about some of your comments and would appreciate some further information. More 

Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of our first trip to Ireland. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, the only slight negative was the bed was VERY hard and the TV was ancient. Breakfast was lovely and we had the five course a la carte... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are slowly but surely upgrading the TV's in our rooms. Our priority was to upgrade the wi-fi which is now finished and is available throughout the hotel so we will now turn our attentions to TV's etc. Thank you again and we look forward to your... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

just back from three nights stay at this hotel and can say that we enjoyed it so much very clean.lovely staff and to add the food was excellent will definitely return for another relaxing break at some point. The cleaning staff were so helpful room cleaned every day fresh towels every day.room service was on time. overall the whole of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay