We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Catalina Hotel & Suites

Hotel website
beside Cetal LaCatalina, Birri, Costa Rica
Offers & Announcements
7th night free
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Catalina Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Catalina Hotel & Suites
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
5
42
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
There are newer reviews for La Catalina Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

My wife and I booked a Costa Rica Trip through Travelocity as a belated honeymoon/get away. We careful read through many different packages, and, not being familiar with Costa Rica, relied heavily on web discriptions and reviews. We decided on La Catalina Resort based on both these criteria. Upon arriving in Costa Rica, we soon realized that La Catalina was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I got the feeling that at different times of the year this could be a nice place. It was more expensive than the places we stayed in La Fortuna and Santa Elena and no where near as nice. Plus we paid more than our quoted price per night due to the exchange rate. We were wuoted in US Dollars but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
piscesgirl41, Public Relations Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate all comments from our guests, whether they are good or bad, however, wherever the comment is not factual or we owe the guest an apology, we then believe a reply is warranted. This guest owes us an apology for being totally misleading in their review posted. This guest booked a Studio room for $73.00US per night plus taxes... More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

La Catalina was a bit of a disappointment to my group of 5 during our 9 night stay in May, 2008. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the amenities are lacking - at best. We had a private 2 bedroom house - which was OK - and the views from the front porch were great (very relaxing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cuzco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

I stayed at La Catalina 1 night when i arrived to Costa Rica because is 20 minutes from the airport, then i went to the Copacabana in Jaco and went back to La Catalina for 3 nights more, your are close to many tours like the Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfalls, was great. The rooms are nice i stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

After all of the wonderful reviews I had read on this and other web sites, I was very excited to check into the hotel, April 5, 2008. What a huge disappointment. Let me preface this by saying that I am not a hotel snob. I can stay at a Motel 6 and be perfectly content, provided it’s clean and everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
piscesgirl41, Public Relations Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate all comments from our guests, whether they are good or bad, however, wherever the comment is not factual or we owe the guest an apology, we then believe a reply is warranted. We attempted to contact this guest but this guest would not respond to us. This guest made no complaint during their stay or upon check-out. We... More 

columbus
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

DON'T STAY HERE. It will cost you an extra $40 roundtrip just to get to the Fiesta Casino where the tours from San Jose will pick you up. If you stay at a San Jose hotel, this pick up will be FREE. The website also says that it is 20 minutes to San Jose. This is a lie. It took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
piscesgirl41, Public Relations Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate and value all comments from our guests, whether they are good or bad, but where the comment is not factual, we then believe a reply is warranted. Prior to this guest coming to Costa Rica, she asked for cost for certain tours. The transfer cost of $40.00 was fully disclosed to this guest for one of the tours... More 

Detroit, Mi.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

My husband I stayed for a week at LaCatlina in one of their Villas. Another couple who was supposed to travel with us cancelled at the last minute, so we had the 2 bedroom to ourselves. The restaurant has a large variety to choose from and everything we tried was excellent. The location is about 20 minutes up the hills... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Neveda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

We had a great time and the hotel was beautiful, service was great, food was very good and staff was very nice and friendly and very helpful. We are so glad to have choose this hotel and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kansas city
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

La catalina offers a quiet and secluded stay that is in the hills overlooking San Jose. Next to a small town (Birri), we walked there a few times to enjoy a rustic meal, and also watch the kids play soccer (Futbol). San Jose was close too, via taxi or bus (in Birri). You can stay in the main building apartments,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

First and foremost, this hotel is for one thing: getting away from the daily grind. One doesn't stay at La Catalina looking for a great nightlife or great shopping. The hotel is located atop a hill in the Heredia province, close to San Jose (about a 20-minute drive). Even though there is a small town within walking distance of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question