We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 The Crags B&Bs / inns

Tarn Country House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   P.O Box 82, The Crags | Plettenberg Bay, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602 , South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tarn Country House to your Saves list
Tarn Country House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Ranked #2 of 5 The Crags B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014
Alison C Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We arrived after a long journey from London, via Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth. We were warmly welcomed with an iced drink. The place is so peaceful, it was just the place to unwind for a few days. The setting is spectacular, the house and beautiful gardens look out to the Outeniqua mountain range. Our room was large, comfortable, clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Urdorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I came accross this accommodation by accident and were glad we did so. It was our first accommodation on the Garden Route and they still had rooms available. We were welcomed very friendly and openly and were given the choice of two types of rooms. In the end we chose the one with the bigger bath. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed for a week, booked two adjoining rooms, rooms very comfortable really enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. Couple of points, it can get very hot 36 degrees one day we were there and the rooms don't have any air conditioning - they do have fans available but a bit like trying to sleep with an airliner in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shanarina, Owner at Tarn Country House, responded to this review

Dearest wolfsbgk! Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Tarn Country House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I want to clarify for future readers and possible guests of Tarn Country House, that our credit card facility has been finalized and we are now able to do credit card transactions on... More

London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and would certainly recommend it. On the plus side, the room was nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the two dinners we had were both well worth staying in for. A few points are worth noting - no air conditioning - the room got very warm, no credit cards, no TV,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shanarina, Owner at Tarn Country House, responded to this review

Dearest 381276 Thank-you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Tarn Country House. All your constructive points have been noted, and we are so glad that you will come and stay again. Please note that credit card facilities are now in place at Tarn Country House, much to the relief of our guests and owners... More

henley in arden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

we stayed for another year at this idyllic place with lovely rooms and a spectacular views. our room was as good, spacious and clean again and the garden and pool were extremely pleasant. however the owners have retired and brought in a management company and although we found the new manager pleasant and helpful the breakfasts were very poor and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We traveled the Garden Route during our family Christmas holidays and stayed at Tarn for 3 nights. It is the perfect place for a great family holiday! Huge beautiful gardens with breathtaking views, lovely swimming pool and all activities are within 5 minutes drive. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and nothing is ever too much for them.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Tarn Country House for 2 nights about 10 days ago. Even though the weather was not the best on our arrival, we received a very warm welcome by the receptionist, who offered us a glass of delicious home made lemonade. We were filled in on all the activities in the area and she even gave us a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived and we had to wait for about 15 mins till someone helped us check in. Super confusing check in but in the end we found out we had been upgraded to an apartment like room, which was fine but not really necessary as we were two best friends travelling together and only needed a twin, as I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shanarina, Manager at Tarn Country House, responded to this review

Dearest Miss_JMGB, Thank-you for taking the time to write to us, I do appreciate your time and giving us feedback. Firstly I would like to apologize for anything that went wrong during your stay, this was by no means our intention and we will take everything that you have said into account and better ourselves from it. I was aware... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We recently stayed here for three nights, but unfortunately the weather didn't play along, which may have put a damper on our experience. Carrying our luggage from the car to the rooms left us and our suitcases soaking wet. One of our rooms wasn't ready on arrival (at 3:15 in the afternoon) and although breakfast is served from 8 till... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shanarina, Owner at Tarn Country House, responded to this review

Dearest SylviaH3001, Firstly, happy new year to you. I am sorry that I did not meet you in person, however I had feedback from my team, and was under the impression that you had had a good time at Tarn Country House. Secondly, we take our reviews extremely seriously at Tarn, and I will endeavour to explain as best I... More

Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a lovely property in a beautiful part of South Africa. The rooms are large and very comfortable, the location is beautiful, the staff is gracious and helpful and the breakfast is quite nice. The internet is only available in the lobby, which is a pity, but parking was free, and the pool was perfect for the children. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tarn Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tarn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Country House

Address: P.O Box 82, The Crags | Plettenberg Bay, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Country House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tarn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarn Country House South Africa/The Crags

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful bed and breakfast among all the activities there are to do in The Crags. We have 8 suites, catering for 16 guests maximum in 3 different style of room. Our restaurant caters for dinners, and we also do beautiful and yummy tapas platters that you can enjoy in your room or around the pool. We welcome couples, families with children of all ages, and wedding groups. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer