We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
High Street, Robertsbridge TN32 5AW, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and the staff were extremely polite throughout. However, we had to ask for the menu. Main course took over an hour and the standard was poor for the relatively high price. Overcooked fish, chips had not been cooked at a high enough heat so were extremely greasy and soggy, burger was well overcooked. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our arrival for lunch we were greeted like old friends and made really welcome. This was our first experience and will not be the last. Excellent lunch, excellent friendly service. We will be returning and recommending to friends. In fact, the recommending is already well under way. We didn't stay at the hotel, only went for lunch as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

My husband and I had a rare night away and chose to stay at the George. The pub is located in a quiet picturesque village which has conveniences such as a pharmacy, One Stop and a delightful bakery/coffee shop. The George is situated at the top of the high street and has lovely views of the village. We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly staff and shown to our room (Hilaire) which was modern, clean and perfect for two. We had dinner in the pub, and after talking to the chef about my wheat and gluten intolerance he assured me he could adapt anything on the menu to suit my needs. I had the cheesy garlic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We spent two nights at The George and it did all we wanted it to. The rooms were the perfect size and temperature; the food the perfect size and variety and the hosts the perfect balance of welcoming but not intrusive. John and Jane clearly have a very good eye for hiring exceptional staff as everyone we met was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed at The George Inn for one night away without the children.We were greeted with a warm welcome,our room was really lovely and the large open fire in the bar was a fab spot to enjoy the atmosphere and relax with a mulled wine in there extremely comfortable leather chairs . The food was very good quality ,a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Ahhhhh I know just how valuable that time is without the children so I am delighted that you both enjoyed your visit to us and the leather chairs did their magic on you! Thank you for your lovely comments and I will make sure that the team get to see your review too as without them, we couldn't do what... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

A group of 8 adults + baby in arms had dinner here at last minute even though they had bookings. The staff were lovely, v attentive & accomodating. Hoping to spend a night or 2 in 1 of their fantastic looking room's in near future. We'd travel an hour just for dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very very much for taking the time to post your comments and I am delighted that we managed to look after you over the weekend. We would love to look after you all again and please do contact us if you would like to stay in our rooms as they make a great place for a base in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I stayed at The George Inn for one night due to work commitments. I arrived late in the evening and was welcomed with by the lovely hosts and personally showed to my room. I ate in the restaurant and enjoyed an delicious steak. The stay was very short but I felt relaxed for it! My only disappointment was the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding the "Business Breakfast" that we offer and I have taken all of your points on board. We do understand that sometimes business guests need to leave early and as we are not a large hotel, we cannot unfortunately offer breakfast before 8am, however that is when we then offer our "Breakfast Basket... More 

England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid February and must start by saying this is a quaint character filled pub which offers accommodation, in what is a very pretty little village (exactly what we wanted). However, there are some niggles:- We had booked into the ‘Pooke’ room which was spacious and beautifully furnished, (though short on coat hangers and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and I am glad that overall you did enjoy your stay but at the same time, I am sorry that you felt we were not so good in other areas. We can only apologise for the shower breaking during your stay and as you correctly noted, John did come over immediately we were aware... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I fully agree with a recent reviewer, that they seem to have got everything right at The George. I had never been there previously but enjoyed an excellent evening recently, with a friend. I was also impressed by the "professional" attitude of Jane, joint owner, who spent time with us to ensure complete satisfaction. We enjoyed a delicious meal of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and I am so pleased you enjoyed the evening as much as I did. The Pancake Race was such a giggle and I have to admit, probably the most competitive we have ever held. I am delighted that you enjoyed your fresh fish and locally sourced ice cream as well and thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay