We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
High Street, Robertsbridge TN32 5AW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Inn
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights at The George and it did all we wanted it to. The rooms were the perfect size and temperature; the food the perfect size and variety and the hosts the perfect balance of welcoming but not intrusive. John and Jane clearly have a very good eye for hiring exceptional staff as everyone we met was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The George Inn for one night away without the children.We were greeted with a warm welcome,our room was really lovely and the large open fire in the bar was a fab spot to enjoy the atmosphere and relax with a mulled wine in there extremely comfortable leather chairs . The food was very good quality ,a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Ahhhhh I know just how valuable that time is without the children so I am delighted that you both enjoyed your visit to us and the leather chairs did their magic on you! Thank you for your lovely comments and I will make sure that the team get to see your review too as without them, we couldn't do what... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of 8 adults + baby in arms had dinner here at last minute even though they had bookings. The staff were lovely, v attentive & accomodating. Hoping to spend a night or 2 in 1 of their fantastic looking room's in near future. We'd travel an hour just for dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very very much for taking the time to post your comments and I am delighted that we managed to look after you over the weekend. We would love to look after you all again and please do contact us if you would like to stay in our rooms as they make a great place for a base in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at The George Inn for one night due to work commitments. I arrived late in the evening and was welcomed with by the lovely hosts and personally showed to my room. I ate in the restaurant and enjoyed an delicious steak. The stay was very short but I felt relaxed for it! My only disappointment was the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding the "Business Breakfast" that we offer and I have taken all of your points on board. We do understand that sometimes business guests need to leave early and as we are not a large hotel, we cannot unfortunately offer breakfast before 8am, however that is when we then offer our "Breakfast Basket... More 

England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid February and must start by saying this is a quaint character filled pub which offers accommodation, in what is a very pretty little village (exactly what we wanted). However, there are some niggles:- We had booked into the ‘Pooke’ room which was spacious and beautifully furnished, (though short on coat hangers and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and I am glad that overall you did enjoy your stay but at the same time, I am sorry that you felt we were not so good in other areas. We can only apologise for the shower breaking during your stay and as you correctly noted, John did come over immediately we were aware... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I fully agree with a recent reviewer, that they seem to have got everything right at The George. I had never been there previously but enjoyed an excellent evening recently, with a friend. I was also impressed by the "professional" attitude of Jane, joint owner, who spent time with us to ensure complete satisfaction. We enjoyed a delicious meal of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and I am so pleased you enjoyed the evening as much as I did. The Pancake Race was such a giggle and I have to admit, probably the most competitive we have ever held. I am delighted that you enjoyed your fresh fish and locally sourced ice cream as well and thank... More 

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

They seem to have got everything right at The George Inn for a relaxing, comfortable and superb stay. We arrived after a long journey from West Wales and the staff immediately made us welcome. Lunch was very tasty and beautifully presented. Dinner too was excellent as was the following morning's breakfast. We were especially impressed because the owner, on discovering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you very much for taking the time to write it for us. Looking after our guests and making sure you have a fabulous stay with us, is very important to us and so when we get a review like yours, it makes it all worthwhile. Thank you again and I hope you had a... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

From booking to departure nothing was to much. Customer service is really important and it showed. Excellent service from everyone. Room was lovely and ideal for a night away. Dinner was superb, good atmosphere, service and most of all the food and wine were gorgeous. The old test of 'would I recommend it to friends and family'?... Yes absolutely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your lovely review. Customer service is very important to us and I will make sure all of the team see your review as without them, we couldn't do what we do. Thank you again and hopefully we can look after you again soon. Kind regards Jane More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We had a lovely night here for our wedding anniversary. The room was very well appointed and comfortable with all the expected facilities and makes a lot of 4+ star hotels look poor by comparison! We had booked in for dinner in the restaurant downstairs and headed down to the bustling bar for a pre-dinner drink. The staff were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us on your special weekend. It was lovely to meet you both and do keep in touch as we would love to look after you again. Happy Anniversary and here's to many more ... Kind... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

John and Jane the owners of this beautiful hotel and restaurant looked after us superbly. We had a weekend away with friends and took the well appointed bedrooms and booked two dinners in the restaurant. We all met in the bar for a few drinks prior to dinner on Friday night and it was lively with a large number of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

We are all so pleased that you had a great weekend with us and we enjoyed having you all to stay too. Thank you very much for writing such lovely words and we look forward very much to looking after you again hopefully soon. Kind regards Jane More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question