We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
96/66 Moo 3, Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Special Offer
Family Getaway Package!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach
Review This Hotel

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    128
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
260
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (347)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We decided to spend 6 nights in Patong at the Holiday Inn and then a quieter 6 nights in The Sunwing resort. We have x 2 children under 3 and were travelling with another family with young children. Looking through the best hotels for kids in Phuket we settled on the Sunwing. The hotel was quite dirty. Had trouble getting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights great location yummy breakfast with lots of choices for everyone. The pools were fun for the kids even with water slide and water Polo net. Short walk to beach and food. Would stay again. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Louise C, Thank you for taking the time! I definitely agree on the breakfast – It is simply unbeatable. We can’t wait to have you back in our quite oasis – Please say Hi to your kids from Lollo and Bernie. Warmly, Dmitry Gluzgal Guest Relations Manager More 

Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have 2 boys, 10 and 3 yrs old, and booked a family studio for 3 nights. The resort is very child friendly and the room is well equipped but not luxurious. The bathroom door is always stuck and there are not enough hooks to hang clothes inside the bathroom. But overall it is clean and pleasant. We enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear pamelagoh717, Thank you for your kind comment. I am so pleased to read that you liked the resort and appreciated the amenities, the food and that you have valued our price performance. We are proud to claim ourselves a quite calm neighborhood compared with other crowded destinations and are happy to learn that you agree. There is no comparable... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the worst experience with this hotel from the moment we step foot in the door. We arrived at 12pm on a very hot sticky day and were greeted at reception and told to come back at 230 as our room was not ready. We decided to have a look around the hotel but it was very very hot.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Meg D, We are saddened to hear that your experience here did not match with the majority of the other happy families spending their holidays with us in Kamala. Please understand that the good to know and the other couple signs about the HMFD, that we have been putting out, which by the way is a quite harmless and... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to stay at this hotel with some friends for 10 days in the middle of February. Unfortunately it wasn't possible to book for the whole week when we tried to book through various booking sites online. We contacted the hotel directly through their webpage and after a short mail corespondance everything was booked for us - but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Torgrim S, Thank you so much for the 5-stars! We felt honored to read your review, mentioning the hotel cleanliness and the free upgrade you received upon arrival. We always try to amend the booking if we can, since we know that moving within your stay can be quite a stiff task. I will also make sure to forward... More 

Köln
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 4 weeks at the sunwing from mid-January until mid-February and we had a "Happy Baby Studio". This hotel and Kamala in general is perfect for a vacation with little children. The Happy Baby Studio had all kinds of equipment that you will usually look for in a hotel, such as a high chair, baby bathtub, baby toilet etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear BigBumix, Thank you so much for the glowing five stars! We are thrilled to read about your stay with us, here in Sunwing Kamala. I totally agree on the “Happy Baby Studios” to be extra convenient. We strive to provide you with everything that might be needed when traveling with an infant. We are also pleased that you enjoyed... More 

Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just came back from Phuket after a 10-day holiday with a lovely stay in the Sunwing Kamala Resort. First up, convenient location - this resort is located literally on the Kamala Beach which is a 30-mins drive from the Phuket International Airport. Such distance is acceptable for young kids after a long flight. It is another 10 mins drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Yan W, Wow Thank you for the glowing five stars ! We were thrilled to read you review. It is so nice to see that the concept is catching! I do also totally agree on the location, which is simply unbeatable and yes the new waterslide has been a big hit so far ;) The Lollo and Bernie buffet... More 

Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A perfect hotel for familys with children between 2 to 12 years. Lots of activitys to keep them occupied the whole day and evening. The food on the hotel was good but as always you could eat cheaper and good at a lot of restaurants close to the beach.The rooms was in a good standard with comfortable beds. No problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth L, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Sunwing Kamala! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the activities, the food and the friendly service. I hope you will return next season! Big hug from Lollo & Bernie. Warmly, Dmitry Gluzgal Guest Relations Manager More 

Helsinki
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Sunwing Kamala is a big hotel with a great selection of services in the hotel area. There are several pools with waterslides, a gym, instructed activities (like yoga and cross training), a kids club, few restaurants, location by the beach, and so on. As such everything looks quite ok. However, this place was absolutely the worst tourist trap I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunwingKamala, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Iinatravel, Thank you for taking the time to recap your recent stay with us. We are really sorry that your experience did not match that of the majority of our happy guests. I appreciate the notes about the pools and other amenities. Please note that we have seasonal rates in Phuket and since you picked to stay during the... More 

Bucks, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

stayed here the week before Christmas in 2013 but forgot to review. We loved this hotel it was perfect for our 7year old son with 7pools and fantastic beach. We enjoyed walking up the beach to the amazing treetop bar where we chilled out and enjoyed the atmos. We ate at seaside bar on the beachfront a few times as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwingKamala, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear lis and dave, Thank you for the review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see you enjoyed the holidays with us last year. I am ecstatic to see that you enjoyed our pools and am glad to tell that there is a new kids water slide since a couple months. I must confess it looks fun every time... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

420 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (202)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Family Suite (33)
Viewed
Happy Baby Studio (26)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Royal Studio with Pool Access (28)
Viewed
Studio (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question