We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
96/66 Moo 3, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Phuket, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Offers & Announcements
Family Getaway Package!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    137
    43
    15
    6
See reviews for
279
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at Sunwing Kamala as a family of 8 - 4 adults and 4 kids under 10. It suited us all and the facilities, service and accommodation was second to none. We will certainly be back. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the accommodation was fantastic, clean, neat and tidy. The pool was very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from 10 day family adventure . highly recommend Sunwing facilities are great kids club , swimming pool w slides , beach and massage 100mtrs from the resort with jet skis and markets. Thai food at the resort was excellent and cheap. We befriended Duong , Ariel, Enjoy and Pear the poolbar staff just beautiful ppl who love kids.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is as expected very family friendly and there is a lot of activities for kids. We booked the Royal Room with direct pool access which is very convient if you have small kids. It's much easier when you can go to/from the pool very easily. The kids can be indoors if they wish and relax while the parrents... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at sunwing for 12nights and LOVED it. We are a family of 4 (5yr and 9mth) Facilities were great, rooms more than comfortable. We booked a happy baby room which met i didnt need to pack cot stroller etc because all those things are included. Services and staff were wonderful, nothing was a problem for anyone. Some days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel a number of time during my 10 trips to Phuket. The hotel is split basically in 2. one half is for families with children under 14 while the other is more of an adults hotel. Kamala has many shops and bars, Black Cat on the main road is friendly and always willing to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Darran, First off thank you for the loyalty towards us. I definitely agree on the location as it is hard to beat. We are glad to read that you like the concept. By the way we have a cheap shuttle bus to Patong 3x times a day. Hope to welcome you back soon. Let us know if we can... More 

Hagen, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sunwing resort is quite new set up hotel. The complete area as well as the rooms was clean and well maintained. Our room had a big balcony with view on the pools, a big bathroom and the option for an additional third bed, which was not needed. The staff was very polite and helpful when we needed some support... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Rueschi, First off thanks for taking the time. We are delighted to see you had a good stay! I am happy to hear that you noticed hotel cleanliness, liked your room and the great breakfast range, while we were saddened to hear that it took our colleagues so long to open your room. Sadly anywhere people work, mistakes happen,... More 

Portals Nous, Spain
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very average 3 star hotel at best, but maybe OK for families with young kids. It has no Thai decor or feeling of luxury at all, just very basic. The pools, yes there are several are great for young kids up to max 10 year old, but not a hotel for couples without kids. Access to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunwing_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ola Peter T, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us online. We appreciate the notes regarding the pools – This year we were able to update a third waterslide, which has been a big hit so far! If there is anything we could change to make your ok stay to a brilliant experience please... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros; - Cheap - Cool pools for kids (one has a huge shaded area which is an excellent idea) - Large Buffet - Extremely helpful & friendly staff - Restaurant on the beach Cons; - Room was dirty on arrival (including brown traces on toilet seat, use you imagination if you must) - Lacks any kind of soul and thai... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwingKamala, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear BenZHCH, Thanks for providing us with specific feedback, as we are always eager to improve our service to provide our guests with the relaxing stay they deserve. We appreciate the fact that you point out the good pricing, the handy amenities and our brilliant team members. I am saddened to read that you were unhappy with the housekeeping and... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I would not say this hotel is worthy of 4 stars and think it must have them only because of the great pools - the photos on the website are nice but it lacks the attention to detail I would expect in real life. The food was fine, but the eggs and beans etc at breakfast was warm at best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunwingKamala, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear teammatthews36, Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback and for taking the time. We do appreciate your notes regarding the pools, the spacious rooms and dinner, while we are saddened to hear that you obviously were unhappy with the room cleaning. If you might find any mold or have any other issues to discuss please feel free... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Family friendly resort. Great staff and facilities. The food was ok, but nothing worth writing home about. All in all a recommendable resort. I could have wished for a deep dive pool and maybe a tilt, but this is only on the "nice to have" list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwingKamala, Guest Relations Manager at Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Henrik D, Thanks for your recommendation. We appreciate the notes about the friendly team and the facilities. I will make sure to forward your list to the management :-) . Hope to have you and your family back next year! Warm Regards, Dmitry Gluzgal Guest Relations More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

426 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (202)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Family Suite (33)
Viewed
Happy Baby Studio (26)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Royal Studio with Pool Access (28)
Viewed
Studio (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities