We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palms Resort

Certificate of Excellence
88 / 6, Moo 3 | Kamala Beach Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150 , Thailand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Palms Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    30
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed three nights at the Palms and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located in the village of Kamala approx 150 metres from the beach. The hotel has two pools which are located on either side of the rooms. The rooms are very spacious and clean with free wifi. Breakfast was included however the restaurant wasn't opened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days in May 2015. Very disappointed. AC was not on when we arrived. The reception gave us the key and told us to go to our 3 bedroom condo. they did not a company us to show how AC works etc... So we did not even know how to turn on anything. Gor the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience, but as you did NOT book through The Palms Resort, our Reception would not even be aware of you coming until you turned up, and have nothing to do with this unit. This apartment is rented out by the owner individually, who should have an agent to meet you and... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The 2 bedroom poolside suite was very spacious, well equipped and maintained beautifully by pleasant housekeeping staff. The tour desk staff were extremely helpful and were quite accomplished English speakers. Restaurant food was very nice and service always attentive. Walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, markets and Fantasea Show. Highly recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments on The Palms. Our staff certainly try hard to make sure that all of our guests have the best stay possible, so I am very pleased to hear that it is being noticed. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and thank you again for taking the time to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Extremely warm and friendly place. The staff are very helpful and courteous. The ground floor rooms have a small terrace and steps directly into the pool, which is ideal for children. The hotel is in spotlessly clean and comfortable we visited last year and are returning this year. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nicola many thanks for posting the nice comments on TripAdvisor. The staff do try very hard to make The Palms a bit special, so I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back again next year. :) More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. It was in a great location, the staff where very friendly, although little variety to what we are used to for the buffet breakfast it was still a good feed and lots of food to go around. We left satisfied. Our room was clean, bathroom a good size and we had a balcony overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a nice review of The Palms on TripAdvisor. It is always good to get a positive feedback as our staff do try hard to please. Many thanks again, we look forward to seeing you back here in the future. More 

Province of Rimini, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

the worste experience in my life.... Booked 4 weeks here and the first day i ve been robbed 1200 usd. Money left in the safe in my room... Useless my complain everybody deny... Manager didn't even apologize... Very unconfortable situation, i still have 26 days to spend here ( already paid). Want to change hotel and been deny my money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

1:. First you complained about money being taken from your room safe in your room. When I went personally to your unit and looked, I found the safe to be working perfectly well. You then told me that "someone had broken into the safe....BUT had only taken HALF of your money!" (ie 1,200 USD). Presumably leaving another $1,200 behind, which... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

The Palms is a wonderful place to stay (so long as you get a good deal on the price that is, I'd pay 3-star hotel prices for it and be very happy... but wouldn't pay 5-star hotel prices). We are currently staying in a "Family Suite" which has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living area. It is large, spacious, relaxing and generally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rick, thank you very much for your nice comments about The Palms Resort. However, I am a little confused about the comment you make on charging 5 star prices? Our prices have never been 5 star, and in fact have remained unchanged for the past three years. They do increase during the peak periods of Christmas and New Year,... More 

Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This was a great place and location. The staff is EXTREMELY FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. There was a mishap with the reservation. Ning and Non at reception were able to fix the situation beyond my satisfaction. The rooms very spacious and clean-- beds big but HARD - but I think that Thailand - The staff greets you in the morning and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnPalms, General Manager at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sandy, thank you very much for taking the time to post here about The Palms. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you next time. Best Regards, John More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This is a great place to stay when in Kamala. The Palms is located a street with a lot of restaurants and shops, and only a five minute walk from the beach. Despite of the location the hotel is nice and quiet. The apartments are spacious and clean. Comfortable beds. The staff was also really nice and helpful. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnPalms, General Manager at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Hi Cecilie, Thank you for your nice comments here about The Palms. I am sorry you had a problem with the Breakfast, but it may have been due to our kitchen just re-opening after having being refitted. I will check it out myself to make sure it is up to our standard. Best Regards, John More 

Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This was the second time I have stayed here, it was as good as the last! Rooms very very spacious and the staff very friendly. This hotel is perfectly positioned in the beautiful beach of kamala. Everything was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnPalms, General Manager at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks Emma for your nice comments, I am so pleased that you and your party enjoyed your recent stay at The Palms, and myself and the staff look forward to seeing you again when you return next time. Best Regards John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.1 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
8.8 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#38 of 54 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
3.1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#135 of 289 in Patong
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay