We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Menjangan

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Jl. Raya Gilimanuk, Singaraja Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia
Offers & Announcements
Grab our LIMITED OFFER!!
The Menjangan
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buleleng
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Steve T Newcastle
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    80
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
76
233
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Newcastle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at The Menjangan because of the diving available on Menjangan Island a short 20 minute boat ride away. The hotel was a really nice surprise and a bonus because it gave us a unique experience that we had not expected. It is truly a jungle and beach hotel, with the feel of somewhere completely cut off from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were really looking forwards to staying in this hotel, so that we could see the animals and do some snorkelling. On arrival, the main reception is shabby and service haphazard. The welcome drinks were served with metal straws and the small canapes were crawling with insects. We were shown to Room 101. The bed did not have any mosquito... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Dear Seggiesmoggie, First of all many thanks for taking time reviewing our Hotel although you checked out after 1 and half and never experienced sleeping in our rooms. Unfortunately I was not present at this time due to my annual leave in Europe so I missed the chance to talk to you directly and also to explain more detailed our... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is truely the other side of Bali. Very naturey, with world class coral. Breakfast is fantastic, especially if you dine by the beach. The ride between the hotel rooms and beach can be long by shuttle, and it is quite a rocky ride, but it is also quite an experience to feel so close to the jungle. And you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Pagi dear Abel w, Thank you for your kind and warm review, our entire family was very happy to read it (and special thanks from the Breakfast kitchen artists for mentioning their creations). We are always very open for suggestions and ideas. Would you mind to send me an email sharing your advice on how to improve the dinner... More 

Hertfordshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this hotel. Our room was excellent, clean all mod cons, well serviced daily with air conditioning or heating. The swimming pool was fine. The beach area was lovely though not soft sand, but gritty sand. We went on a snorkelling trip organised through the hotel which was fabulous and saw numerous different species, colours, shapes and sizes of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Sore dear Rob R, It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your days here at the Menjangan so much. Thank you for taking the time to review us. In fact very true what you mentioned about the Balinese people, one of the many reasons Bali is still such a magnet. Sorry to hear that you... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon in Bali. It is quite a trek to get to this unique location (4 to 5 hours from the south of Bali), but a very fascinating drive with much scenery that was pointed out to us by our resort-arranged driver. We were impressed with how well the resort integrates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Pagi dear IainandKirsten, Isn’t that the purpose of a wonderful honeymoon…to feel special? Again congratulations on your wedding. What a nice compliment! We thank you very much for sharing this with the travel community. I personally have forwarded and discussed your comments with the team and they say THANK YOU. In addition, I was discussing the price structure again... More 

australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the monsoon deluxe and had to be moved at the aircon was not working properly, and they are in the process of replacing them. The resort is huge and while they have free transport all over the very bumpy roads it can take 20 minutes to get to the beach! The food is only a average which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Siang dear USAbound, Thank you very much for taking the time to send your review and share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that we did not come up to your expectations in most of the areas. Please accept our apologizes for the bumpy roads, which are unfortunately, out of our control since their maintenance lies... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel, in particular the bungalows on the sea, is very interesting. But locations within the hotel are FAR away from each other. AT least 3 km between each location and only scarce shuttles. One feels like being in a (golden) prison within this resort. There is nothing to do, only one real restaurant, Yes it is relaxing but nearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Siang dear Dorcq, Thank you very much for sharing your impression here on TripAdvisor, we much appreciate that you have taken the time to do so. Really sorry to hear that you felt like in a “golden prison” while you were here. In fact, solitude, calmness and abundant wildlife is not for everyone and we are sad to read... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights here at the tail end of our honeymoon - it's quite a trek from Sanur where we had been staying, but the transfer price was reasonable and some things are just worth travelling for! This hotel absolutely has the wow factor - we stayed in a beach villa and for us this was absolutely perfect; the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Sore dear G-in-Hertfordshire Again our best wishes on your Wedding and much love and health for you forever! It was our great pleasure having you staying with us and even more now that we learned how much you enjoyed it. Indeed, when travelling during low season the Resort seems pretty much deserted, although there are people around. But spread... More 

Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am traveling with a group throuout Bali. The Menjangan Resort was selected by the holiday organizer as a wonderful location to relax in the lap of luxury. I am not disappointed. My husband and I are staying at a beach villa where we have beachfront property, warm breezes and lots of space to relax alone or with friends. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Siang dear P M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with the travel community. It was our pleasure having your group staying here at “the other side of Bali” and we are full of fond memories. The nearest village is Pemuteran, about 20 minutes away by car, and in fact the locals were... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed an the Menjangan at the end of our honeymoon and it is certainly a unique hotel. Its setting is fantastic in the National Park with everything that brings. The wildlife living alongside you! We were in one of the beach villas which have a lovely look and feel. Ours didn't have any nets on the first night, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rico H, General Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review

Selamat Pagi dear Mozza 126, Again our warmest congratulations on your Wedding, may love and health be with you all the time! It was an honour to welcome you here at the Menjangan and we are utterly pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon so much! Indeed, this is a special place where friends of nature, wildlife and great reefs are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

455 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (428)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (50)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities