We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Granny Mouse Country House

4.0 of 5 Old Main Rd | R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Granny Mouse Country House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Granny Mouse Country House
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
137
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Horsham sussex
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
70 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

This is a lovely place to stop on the way to the battlefields. The gardens are lovely it was a shame there were no loungers by the pool near the restaurant as this keeps the sun longer. The bistro served good food and the staff in the restaurant were very good. I did find the garden room a bit dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay here with 2 young children for a wedding nearby. Food and drink in the restaurant very nice, lovely babysitter, a good sense of humour on little signs dotted around the gardens. For the wedding we organised transport with the hotel down for a premium price but not too bad. On the way back the guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at Granny mouse was very special. I have bad food allergies and the Chef himself told me not to worry and order what I want on the menu and he will substitute anything I cannot eat. Our room was beautiful and the overall service friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second time at Granny Mouse, and once again the no effort was to much for the Team to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. If visiting the Midlands Meander this is a definite 5 star experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i really wanted to like this hotel but we left 2 days early and went to south of Durban. Probably not helped by the fact that it was raining and dismal. It was the little things that added up- no real sense of any ownership, indifferent welcome, no service for drinks after dinner, poor lunch menu, undersold dinner menu, nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Annatspringcottage Thank you for your review. However, we are a bit confused as to your comments, knowing that the Family were feuding during the stay and that your indifference was addressed by Management, acknowledging no fault on our part, but a mere fact of the children being bored and wanted to go to the ocean. We are not sure... More 

Witbank
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were impressed with the rooms, very neat and also the service was very good. We loved the gardens, they were well kept and the food was very good. The breakfast's were well presented and there is lots to do in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear ellie856 The Team thanks you for your kind words and review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our Home in the near future. Kind regards Sean Granger General Manager More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Granny Mouse offered pleasant for a night's stay though I found our room rather dark and overfilled with clutter. Breakfast was very good; dinner less so.We found the overall environment rather too twee for our taste.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear rupertr2015 Thank you for your review. We apologies for not being able to meet your personal tastes and thank you for addressing as such. Safe travels! Kind regards Sean Granger General Manager More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights at a weekend. The setting is beautiful but there is little else to commend this supposedly 4 star hotel. The food was mediocre at best - probably frozen. The waiting staff were pleasant but reception staff were indifferent at best and downright unhelpful at worst. We were more than happy to move on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Crawfordsburn We thank you for your review and can only apologise for what you have experienced. By no means is this what we offer in our Home and certainly your comments have been discussed with the Team to learn moving forward. As during your stay, it would have been great to hear of such before your departure when Management... More 

Durban
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great experience with exceptional service. Our one disappointment was the food and beverage. We had a great cuppachino on Saturday afternoon but on Sunday we got served a sloppy milky coffee. We sent it back, requesting it be redone, but we got the same. On enquiry, we were told the barista was 'different'. Not what we expected.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear MikNik981 The Team thanks you for your kind review and apologies for the inconsistent cappo as stated by you. This is certainly not the norm at our Home and we have addressed such with the Food & Beverage Manager and the Team. Safe travels and kind regards Sean Granger General Manager More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Nice stay, our room was very comfortable although we should have asked if there were any rooms with extra-long beds, as for me at 1,96m the one in our room was a bit short. We had a bit of an issue with the wine list at dinner, as the vintages of the wines did not match the price list. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear TerryDrum Thank you for your kind review and words spoken of the Team! We certainly can assist you with extra length beds and we have some rooms that accommodate as such. Safe travels and kind regards Sean Granger General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Granny Mouse Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Mouse Country House

Address: Old Main Rd | R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granny Mouse Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Granny Mouse Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granny Mouse Country House Hotel Balgowan
Granny Mouse Country House South Africa/Balgowan

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay