We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Balgowan B&Bs / inns

Granny Mouse Country House

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Old Main Rd | R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Granny Mouse Country House to your Saves list
Granny Mouse Country House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
83%
Ranked #1 of 4 Balgowan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
PaddyPensioner Edenvale
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    55
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
110
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edenvale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I decided to break our trip down to the south Coast by staying overnight at Granny mouse country house. on arrival the receptionist was on the phone handling a booking and we were made to wait a while while she finished the call. That evening we dined in their fine dining restaurant and I must say it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved it, staff where amazing, great service! Great food, beautiful room and a wonderful venue to stay at. Spa treatment was awesome - will definitely go again soon as it was worth it for us. See you soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Lianne Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Granny Mouse. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, it seems you were able to relax and enjoy alot of what Granny Mouse has to offer. We hope you will come visit us again. Warm Regards Sean Granger More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was particularly impressed by the politeness of the staff, be it the chap working in the garden or the lady or prepared the room.The room was wonderful, especially the bath, and the dining was impeccable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Ian D Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Granny Mouse with us and also others. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that the Team made you feel welcome and at "Home", we hope you had a safe trip back home and look forward to... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Toward the end of a 3 week visit to South Africa in January 2014, shadowing a school sports tour, we had looked forward to our few days at Granny Mouse Country House with great expectations. The reviews were good; personal word of mouth recommendations from parents and teachers from previous tours were great. We were however saddened and quite angered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Karen H Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Whilst you did stay with us quite a while ago, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts and experience with us. While it does not happen often, I understand that we are all human and mistakes can happen . In this case we are sincerely sorry for the experience you... More

Bloemfontein
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at Granny Mouse Country House was short but most memorable. Our niece's wedding went off without a hitch and was a very happy event. For this a big "heads up" to Ane du Preez the banqueting manager and her team. On arrival we were given a warm and friendly welcome by the staff at reception and it just... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Gloria and Kevin Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback and comments are much appreciated by the entire Team at Granny Mouse. Weddings are very special occasions which we all hold very close to our hearts, we are happy to have been a part of this special occasion and wish the two of them a long... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed over a night travelling from Durban to Johannesburg. nice countryside, plenty of panoramic views in and around the hotel, I have not used the Spa but it looked well organised. Excellent food friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Muzaffer S Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Granny Mouse is a lovey stop over between Durban and Johannesburg, we hope we will see you on a few more trips between the two places. We are glad you were able to enjoy the views and restaurant, perhaps there will be time to sneak in a Spa... More

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at Granny Mouse as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. I loved our room (I think it was 27), it was big and roomy with a good sized bathroom. The bath was fabulous with little jugs of bath oil, foam and salts - the perfect way to end the day. My husband thought the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Claire Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you chose to enjoy a part of your Honeymoon with us and it seems you made the most of your time in the Midlands and at Granny Mouse. Granny Mouse has a lot to offer, and, being here for a couple of nights gave you... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had heard so much about Granny Mouse from friends who simply love it. We had mixed feelings. The setting is good. The service excellent and the staff were so pleasant and welcoming. Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable with nice touches. Well stocked mini bar, in a cupboard so the noise of the fridge doesn't disturb. Electric blankets. Fireplaces.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Lizzie Thank you for your recent review on Trip advisor, we appreciate all forms of feedback and use all this all constructively to ensure our Team is able to improve and offer our guests the type of facility and service they are looking for. Granny Mouse has a lovely setting, and we try to carry this feeling throughout the... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We will recommend this lodge to anyone who would like to be treated at a high level. This was worth the value. The rooms, lodge facilities, restaurant and the breakfast was of high value. We received a call from the lodge to check if we are OK as we were travelling from Gauteng and advised that we will be late.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear Andre Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated. Being from Johannesburg I am sure you were glad to break up the trip a little by stopping over at Granny Mouse and are glad you were pleased with the service and facilities. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip. Warm... More

Sequim, WA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Unfortunately we only could spend one night here. I wanted to stay! We began our visit in the Spa. They have a wonderful menu of treatments. The staff really knew what they were doing. They found knots in my back that I didn't know were there. They even used a couple of hot stones to try and work them out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrannyMouse01, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review

Dear SequimWATraveler Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. You certainly made the most of all your time at Granny Mouse and were able to experience so much of what is on offer in the short amount of time you were with us. It is always great to get feedback from our guests, you were very specific and it... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Granny Mouse Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Granny Mouse Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Mouse Country House

Address: Old Main Rd | R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granny Mouse Country House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Granny Mouse Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granny Mouse Country House Hotel Balgowan
Granny Mouse Country House South Africa/Balgowan

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Balgowan with
any amenities