We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Forge

Certificate of Excellence
Church Road, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Forge
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another terrific stay. Debby and Martin always are warm and welcoming hosts. We stayed in room 5 which a lovely room that has a lovely overlook. Super breakfast as always. We've now been staying here regularly for 9 years and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Thanks Debby and Martin. We hope to see you soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us, you are always so enthusiastic about the Cotswolds and make the most of your visits. Room 5 does have a lovely view over the garden and village green, so pleased you like it. More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Debby & Martin were friendly and welcoming. Stayed in the room with the four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. Decor is slightly dated but this is very much personal taste and does not distract from the very picturesque view outside.Churchill is a charming village. Breakfast was served by Martin who was very attentive throughout. Thank you....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello Michele Thank you for writing a review about The Forge. We were concerned that room 1 had decor that would not be to your personal taste, your partner was very concerned when he made this booking as you prefer something more modern, but photos of room 1 clearly show the style and William Morris wallcovering and fabrics fit the... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed here a couple of years ago. Room had a lovely four poster bed and whirlpool bath. The decor in the room was quite dated/chintzy, but you cannot deny it's charm. The whirlpool bath was lovely, however phase beware of the underwater vents... I ended up with a rather unbecoming "lovebite" on my hip!! Haha. Pub over the road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The whirlpool is quite an attraction and very powerful. As you say, Room 1 id decorated within keeping of the house with William Morris fabric and wallpaper, not modern but suits the house. The pug is still serving good food and is still very popular More 

Worcester Park
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I stayed here for two nights over the easter weekend with my partner, and had an absolutely great time! What a lovely part of the country. Tucked away in a quiet little village, with a lovely pub across the road. (Good steak) There is really nothing to fault. The room was amazing! with a four poster bed, and whirlpool bath!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hi Tracey Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, you were an absalute pleasure to have in the B&B and I reallly look forward to meeting you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

First time ever in the Cotswolds. Bit of a reconnaissance mission.Local bus X8 only every hour, but managed to get to Stow on the Wold, and the wonderful Bourton On The Water. Tiring days, but with the knowledge that I was going back to a Wonderful room with a four poster bed, bath/shower, double armchair. Martin, Debby (and Lizzie) all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hi Tony, you certainly managed to get around the Cotswold's on our little buses, see so many places and all in wet weather. Thank you for your review and we all hope to see you again some day. All the best with your travels. More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Stayed for two nights, a great base for touring the Cotwolds. The accomodation, cleanliness and food are of an extremely high standard with great attention to detail. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello Jill, thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try to make everybody comfortable and appreciate your comments. More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Stayed here during a visit to the Feastival in 2014 and it was a great place run by a genuinely lovely couple. The building itself has a lot of character but also a very modern, clean feel. The room we had was excellent with a great en suite and a very decent bed (four poster, no less). Breakfast was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello Howard, Thank you for your review, sorry it has taken ages to reply the B&B has been so busy. Pleased you had a good time at the Feastival, this festival seems to be growing every year. Maybe see you next year, all the Best More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

In the Cotswolds to attend The Big Feastival and booked rooms here based on the positive reviews. It didn't disappoint, the proprietors were both very nice and clearly committed to delivering a high standard of service. The room was a good size, with a small en-suite - all very clean and tidy. The usual basic toiletries were provided but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello jane, at last I have time to reply to my Tripadvisor reviews, sorry it has taken so long, we do appreciate the feedback and thank you for such a lovely review. Since you were with us we now have Fibre BroadBand, now the system is really fast. Maybe see you again next September, all the Best More 

Wing, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

If you are looking for a lovely property, located in the heart of the Cotswold's with a great restaurant opposite you have found it! We came here for one night for my girlfriends birthday and we were not disappointed. We were met by some very friendly owners, although we felt at one point like they were expecting an inspection and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry it has taken so long to reply the Autumn has been manic. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and meal over the road. the Hot water point was noted and the temperature turned down and the wine could be chilled for you or a mini fridge put in your room. Look... More 

Devonport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 having stayed previously in July 2012. It is still as good as it was before. The proprietors do everything possible to make ones stay enjoyable and comfortable. We can't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you back again and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities