We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Forge

Church Road, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NJ, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Forge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Forge
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

First time ever in the Cotswolds. Bit of a reconnaissance mission.Local bus X8 only every hour, but managed to get to Stow on the Wold, and the wonderful Bourton On The Water. Tiring days, but with the knowledge that I was going back to a Wonderful room with a four poster bed, bath/shower, double armchair. Martin, Debby (and Lizzie) all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hi Tony, you certainly managed to get around the Cotswold's on our little buses, see so many places and all in wet weather. Thank you for your review and we all hope to see you again some day. All the best with your travels. More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Stayed for two nights, a great base for touring the Cotwolds. The accomodation, cleanliness and food are of an extremely high standard with great attention to detail. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello Jill, thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try to make everybody comfortable and appreciate your comments. More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Stayed here during a visit to the Feastival in 2014 and it was a great place run by a genuinely lovely couple. The building itself has a lot of character but also a very modern, clean feel. The room we had was excellent with a great en suite and a very decent bed (four poster, no less). Breakfast was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello Howard, Thank you for your review, sorry it has taken ages to reply the B&B has been so busy. Pleased you had a good time at the Feastival, this festival seems to be growing every year. Maybe see you next year, all the Best More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

In the Cotswolds to attend The Big Feastival and booked rooms here based on the positive reviews. It didn't disappoint, the proprietors were both very nice and clearly committed to delivering a high standard of service. The room was a good size, with a small en-suite - all very clean and tidy. The usual basic toiletries were provided but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hello jane, at last I have time to reply to my Tripadvisor reviews, sorry it has taken so long, we do appreciate the feedback and thank you for such a lovely review. Since you were with us we now have Fibre BroadBand, now the system is really fast. Maybe see you again next September, all the Best More 

Wing, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

If you are looking for a lovely property, located in the heart of the Cotswold's with a great restaurant opposite you have found it! We came here for one night for my girlfriends birthday and we were not disappointed. We were met by some very friendly owners, although we felt at one point like they were expecting an inspection and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry it has taken so long to reply the Autumn has been manic. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and meal over the road. the Hot water point was noted and the temperature turned down and the wine could be chilled for you or a mini fridge put in your room. Look... More 

Devonport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 having stayed previously in July 2012. It is still as good as it was before. The proprietors do everything possible to make ones stay enjoyable and comfortable. We can't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you back again and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had a wonderful short break in The Cotswolds, based around The Forge. It's so quiet and peaceful in the village, and the hospitality at The Forge was perfect. Breakfast is also of a very high standard. It's very handy for a number of attractions, but Blenheim Palace is the biggie without doubt! We love The Cotswolds, so we'll be back,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the attractions we have in our area. Blenheim Palace is such a lovely place to visit we are lucky having it so close to the B&B. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. All the Best More 

north carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The perfect place to stay in the Cotswold area. Churchill is a quiet, quaint village away from all the hustle and bustle yet only a 10 min. drive to Chipping Norton a nice size town. The Forge has been completely remodeled into a very upscale B&B. Our host were vey helpful and the house was spotless. The bed was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review

Hi Ron, I expect your trip to the Uk is but a distant memory by now. thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed the big whirlpool bath. More 

North Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Forge was exactly what we were looking for. Well run and welcoming, it proved to be an oasis of calm in an extremely hectic weekend. It is an attractive, characterful building, in a lovely Cotswold village. In the individual, well equipped and spotlessly clean rooms (we had two), there were many thoughtful touches, including wine glasses and corkscrew, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a wonderful night at this lovely B&B, easily located on the main road through the charming village of Churchill. Our hosts Martin and Debby were wonderful - welcoming and informative about the local area. Our gabled en-suite room (#5) was cozy and spotlessly clean, with WIFI and a TV for those who want it. We slept well and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Address: Church Road, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Norton > Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forge Churchill, Oxfordshire

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay