We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coral Divers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Private Bag 320 | Mbazwana, 3974, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Divers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Coral Divers
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I did 8 dives in October 2014 and my girlfriend did the open water course. Dives very well sorted and planned, food and accommodation is 10/10. On my end - I found 2 of my 4 Dms a bit lacking (the first took us to a dives site with 4 other boats on it, it's not fun when you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My second visit to Coral Divers didn't disappoint. Stayed in the luxury en suite cabins this time round which were very comfortable and well maintained. Also opted for help with my gear. It costs next to nothing and is such a worthwhile treat to not have to either deal with it after a tiring dive, or worry that it isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Good day to you Thank you so very much for again writing another review on us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the feedback from returning guests as you are able to provide a comparison from previous visits. We're extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that you chose to experience more of the services... More 

Fouriesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a tiresome holiday but very worth it. The dive instructor went out of his way to help us enjoy the experience and learn new things. We will definitely be joining Coral for many more dives in future. Regards Tienie&Sharleen Prinsloo

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Hi there Congratulations and welcome to the world of SCUBA Diving! Be warned though, it is very addictive! Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback provided by our guests. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, your SCUBA course and you felt the staff went out of their way to assist you. Having... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This was my first venture into ocean diving and I found that service at reception and cleanliness around fridges were disappointing. We arrived on Friday afternoon and the receptionist took close to 40 minutes to get us booked into our tents. First the prior guests were still not checked out and then she gave us the wrong tents according to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your detailed and honest review on us. We appreciate your time and opinion as a guest of ours. We would like to sincerely apologize for the aspect of your stay at Coral Divers that you did not find to your satisfaction. We are aware of the problems with the fridges and freezers caused due to... More 

Yorkshire UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

My husband and I are pensioners and we visited Coral Divers for some recreational diving. It is the least friendly dive outfit we have ever visited, the diving staff were made up of mostly young people who had no interaction with us other than the dive briefing, refused to pay for a day as the Dive Master lost the group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Good day to you Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We woukld like to sincerely apologize for your experience at Coral Divers and assure you this is not considered the norm at Coral Divers. Your complaint and incident report were scanned and emailed to our Owner, who was at the... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My wife and I completed our open water diver certifications at Coral Divers over December and had a wonderful experience. The diving instructors and dive masters where very professional and helped us advance at our own pace. The ocean dives we did where spectacular. Accommodation in a basic hut was nice but we would definitely go for the bigger hut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Hi there Firstly, congratulations on becoming a SCUBA Diver! Welcome to an amazing new world! Thank you for your detailed review on us. We really do appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your course with us and that the Instructors and Divemasters made it so worth while! December time is peak holiday... More 

South Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Pros: * Proximity to beach. Cons: * Dive masters leading the dives sat on the bottom for 45 minutes rather than exploring the reef. I did three dives and was very frustrated not to have someone leading the dives properly. There was no excuse, there were people doing courses but they had separate instructors looking after them. On my fourth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Hello there We thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your honesty as it helps us improve our service standards. We would like to humbly apologize for your experience at Coral Divers. We would like to asure you that this is not considered the norm as previous people that have posted reviews on... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Sodwana is a fantastic place Coral Divers is a group of helpful joyful professionals The accomondation is realy not good and food is not even fair I am an old spoiled man and expect something more than a backpacker place. Constantly being warned abort security does not make you fel any better The divesite is remarkable so IF you are... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Good day to you! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate all feedback from our foreign guests. We glad to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with Coral Divers. Our facilities may be a little limited (constraints imposed due to being the only Dive Charter found inside the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We enjoyed the stay very much. The service was good, facilities well looked after and the setting was lovely. Enjoyed the social bar/restaurant with the pool in the centre. Only critique I have is that the dives were not as thorough as I would have expected, perhaps a little more attention to detail and safety instructions etc would be good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Hi there We thank you for taking the time to review us on and for your valued feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Coral Divers. We understand your concerns with regards to the dive briefings. We are restructuring our Divemaster Course and bringing in new training aides. This will provide you, the... More 

Leipzig
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Our 10th stay with Coral Divers was so wonderful as the other stays before! We love all things there. The nice and quiet Ensuite cabins with the view to all the animals, like monkeys, mongooses, Guinea fowls ... The diving is very professional, we had some very nice dives with helpfull guides. The evenings at the Boma with a Braai... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you so much for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate feedback, especially from our regular guests! It was an absolute pleasure to see you both again and thank you for choosing Coral Divers as your Antipodean home away from home! We're very glad to hear that our service standards have always met with your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question