We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Bag End, Ambleside Close, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hogsback
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to chill out in a very laid back setting surrounded by nature. From breathtaking views to camping in the forest, they have it all. Some of the most amazing hiking trails start and finish at the view point where you can also take the world famous bath at the edge of the cliff. I look forward to returning... More 

Helpful?
Thank coolbananas2016
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the ace review. It's good to hear you made the most of the outstanding nature right on our doorstep. The hiking trail you talk about starts in our garden and goes straight down into the Auckland Nature Reserve which is the oldest forest in South Africa. I'll see you for the Lord of the Chain... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Couldn't wait to return after our last visit. It's such a special place. Though limited, you CAN access electricity from the kitchen & find shade to camp under the trees. The pool was as wonderful as ever & this time I even dared to take the mountain top bath. Dan told me he'd put in wires to protect bathers from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Heather B, Thank you very much for the great review. It was really nice having you back with us after a couple of years. That bath eh? It is quite scary if you're not good with heights, but worth it as it looks straight into the Auckland Nature Reserve with one of the best views you can imagine. It... More 

Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Came back after 2 years and I still love this place! Outdoor bathtub next to the kliff (make sure to tell them at least 2 h before you want to take a bath to have them heat the water), fun activities around (walking trail down to the "Big Tree", mountain biking tours, ...) and a bonfire at night. This place... More 

Helpful?
Thank blownfaraway
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Blownfaraway, Thank you very much for the superb review. It is great having guests who love their nature. Striders is part of Away with the Fairies, it is our neighbouring property with a thatched cottage housing 6 en-suite rooms. The noise of the beetles between the properties, along the path, is something else. We have a family of Samango... More 

Robertson, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Highly recommend Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel to anyone who is looking for an amazing time! Breathtaking views! Thank you guys for your hospitality and great shuttle service:) Dan you are a legend!!

Helpful?
Thank Rossouw2015
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Roussouw2015, Thanks loads for the review. It was fun shuttling you guys out to the Amatola Trail. I agree the views from the backpackers are something else, and hard to beat anywhere. I really hope to see you guys again some time and you can explore the Auckland Nature Reserve in front of the hostel. Thanks again for the... More 

Cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Amazing location and really good rooms. Really breathtaking views at the lookout point on the premises, as well as from the cottages a short walk away from the main lodge. A definite must stay for any one looking for good chilled vibes in hogsback.

Helpful?
Thank Gerard_Jonelle
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Myself and 2 SA friends have just spent an amazing 2 weeks cycling the karoo and baviaans kloof, the accomodation was of a superb standard and the hospitality was impeccable. On our way back home, we stopped off at hogsback and booked into 'Away with the Fairies' the views were spectacular and this is a very special place in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 406julia1982
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi 406 Julia, Thank you for giving us a review. I have waited for several weeks before replying to your review as I really don't know what to say, it has really been playing on my mind. The title is absolutely devastating and we are all extremely disappointed that anyone could think of us like that. Your points of the... More 

Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

me and another girl booked the "away with the fairies" shuttle from hogsback to east london to catch the baz bus. the transfer was confirmed the previous day and we were on our way from terrakhaya to "away with the fairies" in the morning to get on the shuttle as we received a phone call, that "away with the fairies"... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank juliettecorvette
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

You didn't even stay at Away with the Fairies how can you give a review? We offer a shuttle to other hostels guests ONLY if there is space AND if we are running with our own guests, all guests of other hostels are made aware of this. Shane, the owner of Terra Khaya is very aware of this and obviously... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

This hostel is in the wonderful little mountain town known as Hogsback. I was only planning on staying for one night but just had to extend to another it was that wonderful. The views from the viewing deck is absolutely stunning and just perfect to enjoy with a cup of coffee in hand in the morning. Watching the Cape Parrots... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathAnn18
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

away with the fairies was the first stop on our holiday and only for one night. But this place gave us such positive energie. We will come back Friday definitely. The view the staff the food absolutely awsome!!!! absolutely worth it! Thanks guys

Helpful?
Thank Lunatique C
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Lunatique C Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. It is really nice to hear people compliment the staff, they work really hard to make peoples stay as memorable as possible. The energy is coming from directly from the indigenous forest that we are right above, it's quite a thing. It's lovely to... More 

Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Away with the Fairies is certainly a piece of paradise made all the more memorable by Dan who has an incredible wealth of knowledge of the history of the area. A brief chat with him from the lookout adds tremendous value to a visit to Hogsback.

Helpful?
1 Thank mvula_indlela
Daniel C, Owner at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi mvula_indlela Thanks loads for the really nice review. I really enjoy talking about the Hogsback area, it's history and geography and everything that makes it special. There is no better place than our viewpoint that overlooks the incredible Auckland Nature Reserve which is the oldest forest in South Africa. We hope to see you up here again soon Dan... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hogsback
1.2 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
19.4 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#5 of 6 in Hogsback
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Arminel Hogsback Village
#2 of 2 in Hogsback
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alicedale
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mdumbi Backpackers
Mdumbi Backpackers
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities