We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Upton St Leonards hotels

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards GL4 8ED, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tim L Brigg, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (311)
  • Photos (60)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    102
    62
    31
    11
See reviews for
51
158
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow, I have stopped at this hotel 5 or 6 times and I must say that I have always found it charming, the staff are fantastic and the food divine. On this occasion I couldn't sleep, using one of the privilege rooms was a big mistake. Note to self *** Don’t book this hotel when the temperature is above 20... More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brigg, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Whilst I'll admit that the rooms were very hot we are experiencing very high temps and, as I knew there was no air con, I'm hardly going to complain about it. I was pleased to find the fan in the room though, it really helped and was a nice touch. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

- Calls to "room service" went unanswered two nights in a row. - Restaurant menu thin, over priced and uninspiring. - Old room, no AC and window did not open properly. - Some rude/snobbish staff, but reception(ist) OK Stay at a Premier Inn

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mouktar Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Bowden hall in July on a business trip.The hotel is set in fantastic woodland and is stunning to look at when you arrive,but unfortunately the rooms are very basic for a four star hotel.The rooms have no air conditioning and on a hot day are like being in a sauna.The wall are also paper thin and you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear illuminate322 Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We appreciate all comments that are made by our guests on this site. We were sorry to read that you found your room too warm. Not all of our rooms have air conditioning however, we do aim to provide fans to guests that... More

Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can tell what a Hotel is going to be like when you see how experienced the Reception Staff are at handling complaints. This was no exception. The Hotel is not just aged in an attractive way, but severely run down. The rooms of which I saw four, until I gave up and just picked the last one, had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HoneyAndPaul Thank you for your comments about the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay with us recently and that you were not happy with your room. We would have been happy to upgrade you to one of our Privilege or Superior rooms had they been... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying in a Classic Room, we were pleased to find that the decor was pretty good and the room very clean. The hotel situation is convenient for both Cheltenham and Gloucester, with the building set in most attractive grounds, somewhat remote from the "madding crowd". Both dinner and breakfast were pretty good too - anywhere that offers Eggs Benedict for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David7KR Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and for your recommendation. We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently. As you correctly pointed out, the hotel is indeed situated very conveniently close to the city of Gloucester and the regency town of Cheltenham... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked 3 late rooms with friends! Felt as tho we were given the cheap seats. Rooms were well furnished but rooms so hot none of us could sleep. Fans were provided in two of the three rooms however they appeared not to work properly so no help . Too top it all I left my phone charger in the room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 07jessica Thank you for your review. We have experienced particularly warm weather recently and as a result we have placed portable fans in every room. We are sorry if yours were not sufficient. Our reception team would have been more than happy to replace any fans that were found to be not working properly. With regards to your phone... More

Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a stunning location with well cared for grounds and staff that are extremely customer service orientated. The downside is the lack of lift, so walking up to the 04th floor with luggage certainly raises your heartbeat! The room I had was a good size, as was the bathroom, but the decoration was tired and could do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pebblepower23 Thank you for taking the time to write some comments for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel. We welcome all the constructive comments we receive on this website. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. We are blessed with stunning surroundings that we like keeping in great condition. Our staff... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In summary, very friendly and helpful staff who are let down by this hotel claiming to be four star. It's not. It'd be cost prohibitive to actually upgrade it to a 4* so best to call it a good 2* than a rubbish 4*. And it claims to be 'ski in ski out'. Seriously. Pros. Beautiful location and grounds Friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stirling A Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
72

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer