We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Upton St Leonards hotels

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards GL4 8ED, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
67%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    92
    53
    25
    10
See reviews for
46
144
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Only downside was the absence of a proper self operated lift . I checked before booking and was told there was a lift. What they actually do have is a wheelchair hoist up one of the stairs, This is an open platform with guard rails and small ramps. It has to be operated by a staff member. Not easy for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear torvicSolihull Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the lift, we apologise if you felt you were misled by our Reservations team and told that there was a fully operational lift to all the floors. Unfortunately... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I took my wife for a surprise birthday treat. The the staff, facilities where great, with nice rooms and excellent menu. Nice grounds and a good selection of gins in the bar Would highly recommend for s relaxing stay, close to the city too Good standards which I believe is a constant within the chain A good value for money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davidnewbold1600 Many thanks for taking the time to leave some comments for our hotel. We were thrilled to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us here at Bowden Hall. I do hope she was suitably surprised and enjoyed her birthday! We pride ourselves on offering great service with good food and a comfortable night's sleep.... More

Banbury
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very good hotel and on our weekend break providing extremely good value for money. Only down side was no lift which I would have liked prior warning of as I have a problem with stairs and could have requested a room on the ground floor.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 115LizF Thank your for your feedback. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us recently and that you found us good value for money. With regards to there being no lift, we do have a platform lift to the first floor for guests with mobility issues as we do not have any ground floor... More

Kent England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Enjoyed our stay very much no complaints at all. Pleasant staff, good food, very nice quiet surroundings, The hotel was very clean. Free wifi . All that we required and at a good offer deal price. Look forward to a return trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kjnKentEngland Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently. The hotel is indeed situated in extremely pleasant and tranquil surroundings making it ideal for a relaxing weekend break for couples and families also. I will pass on your kind comments to all... More

Harpenden, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked a long weekend away at Bowden Hall on a deal that gave us two nights bed and breakfast with dinner of the first night. We had stayed there once before on a similar deal about seven years ago and had enjoyed it that time. The deal was good in that it included £22 per head... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The_Quiglet Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got Married this month and we would just like to say what a lovely Wedding we had. I have read many review with regards to Bowden Hall and any criticisms I total disagree with. We could not have been happier with the whole day from the excellent staff on reception to Rachel who rang our wedding who was fantastic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear crownofcrucis Many thanks for your kind review for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were most pleased to hear that you had a wonderful wedding here with us! It is always lovely to read such lovely comments and of course we love to know when couples who have experienced their special day with us went to plan. I will... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is set in a quiet area on the outskirts of Gloucester. Driving to the hotel felt a bit like I'd gone wrong as it is at the end of quite a small winding lane - arriving in the dark I was glad for the illuminated Mercure entrance sign! Reception was friendly and very helpful, organising taxis for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ianedmonds Thank you for your review of the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel. We were pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us recently. The hotel is indeed in a rural setting away from the hustle and bustle of town therefore it can be a little harder to find than most but most Sat Nav devices... More

Gloucester
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea at this hotel as a gift. Rang and booked, very polite on telephone and this carried on with warm welcome from receptionist and waitress who showed us through to our table, both very smart in their uniforms too. Strangely although it was Sunday afternoon we were the only people in the large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear earthtraveller Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Afternoon Tea you had with us recently. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your time here at Bowden Hall. Our staff are certainly attentive and friendly and the hotel grounds provide an impressive view from the lounge where you dined. After... More

Sussex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having read the negetive reviews then I am afraid that I am in total disagreement. Stayed weekend last month, down to watch the rugby with my wife & can say that whilst the hotel needs a bit of 'tlc' which understand being addressed at present time, the bed may be hard ( but haey only for 2 nights ), the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Minesabeer Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your weekend. All of our beds have brand new mattresses which the majority of guests have found to be most comfortable. As you pointed... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 24th feb (2 nights) under the Love Promotion. Hotel absolutely lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner on the first night was superb. The room to which we had been upgraded was very spacious with an extremely comfortable superking sized bed, certainly no prob sleeping. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol P Thank you for your comments for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. It was exceptionally good for us to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us! It is always heart warming for us to read when our guests have such a pleasant time. We are extremely proud of our hotel especially the staff that work... More

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK
Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.