We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Joanne D
Share an Experience

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    141
    81
    42
    14
See reviews for
67
202
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We decided to go to Bowden hall for a meal, with two children in tow! It is 2 minutes away from me, and I'm annoyed we had never attempted to go before! The food, top quality, delicious, top quality! The service was very professional, and couldn't ask for better! The only hiccup we had was my daughter had some grit'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I spent a fragmented day here, meeting old friends, who chose to overnight. Service in the bar was prompt and friendly, a good start. Lunch menu was adequate and my sandwich, prawn and crayfish was fresh and moist. Eventually, we sat down to evening meal. The dining room was quiet, maybe too quiet and a bit boring, it's upstairs. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited here last week with two friends. Love it here ( my hubby and i got married here nearly 26 yrs ago) as the setting is beautiful. We had tea and danish pastries, served by a really nice young man. We will be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

we have visited this hotel a few times. The reception was being refitted which was slightly annoying. The room at least this time was acceptable as previously they have been in adequate. Won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B Thank you for your review. We apologise if the hotel wasn't to your satisfaction on this occasion. However we unfortunately have to accommodate essential works at the moment to our reception area whereby we try to keep any disruption to guests at a complete minimum. We wish you well with your future travels. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Last weekend we held a function at the Mecure Bowden Hall Hotel in Gloucester. Nothing was to much trouble, the staff were very efficient, the food was amazing (credit to the chef), the waiting staff and bar staff were most helpful. Everyone had a smile, it made the whole event special. A big thank you to Archie and Rachel, most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds411 Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that the event you held with us recently went without a hitch. We do hope you and your guests enjoyed yourselves at our hotel. Bowden is an ideal venue for hosting weddings, birthdays and any other celebratory occasion... More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were very disappointed by this hotel. As it is graded a 4 star we would expect 4 star quality. Just 2 tea bags, 1 pepermint tea bag. I had to ask the bar staff for more tea bags. No biscuits, its nice after a long journey to have a cuppa and biscuit.. not at this hotel. Even though the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue F Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were most disappointed to read that you were not fully satisfied with every aspect of your stay with us recently. We usually strive to provide a high standard of accommodation, food and service within our hotel. I am glad that the... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for a quiet peaceful retreat then look no further than Bowden Hall hotel. A warm friendly well come awaits. We had Standard room on the top floor, room 434. It was clean spacious and the bed was enormous, queen size. The only downside was a faint humming noise from the boiler system. Our evening meal was excellent, swift service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KDwed2010 Thank you for your Trip Advisor review of Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here with us recently. Our staff are exceptionally friendly and welcoming which is what makes for a more memorable stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. We were... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel on a great value deal for one night with my best mate. The hotel is in a lovely building & set in beautiful grounds but the decor is tired. Its a shame because it could be really impressive if decorated properly. All the staff we dealt with were friendly, welcoming & efficient. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica W Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We were glad that some aspects of your stay were memorable such as our staff and service. Thank you for commenting that they were all welcoming, friendly and efficient as this tends to be how most of our guests would describe them of which... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in March following receipt of an email advertising a special offer on the Friday night. Our second floor room overlooked the back of the hotel which was quiet, the room was comfortable although the bathroom was a little tired and the wardrobe needed more hangers. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the waiting staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline T Thank you for your review for Bowden Hall. We were glad to read that you found your room to be quiet and comfortable and that our team were accommodating and friendly. With regards to your meals, we were pleased that we were able to offer you your preferred choice of tea and specialised milk. We aim to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question