We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Upton St Leonards hotels

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
65%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
natashafromsheffield Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (328)
  • Photos (62)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (76)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    104
    69
    35
    11
See reviews for
58
163
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

A group of friends tried their offer of a champagne afternoon tea. Surroundings looked pleasant and the greeting was friendly. From previous experiences, afternoon tea is to be taken in comfortable chairs, but from the time we were shown to our tableclothless table we should have guessed what was to come. The service was very slow. Afternoon tea was served,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had an iverniht stay here for a wedding, the grounds are beautiful, but the hotel itself needs updateing, our room was family room but to make it look bigger the bed was not even a double. The bathroom was full off damp and when you sit down on the loo you have a good view of the dinning room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights on business in the area. All the staff were pleasant especially the lady at breakfast. My room was spacious and clean if not a little far from reception which was surprising as the hotel was very quiet. Breakfast was ok with the chef making eggs as you wish. For such a quiet place I really can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Even though we had Amazon vouchers for Champagne and Afternoon Tea, I would have expected the experience to have had a degree of old English elegance and gentility about it. Not so! Instead of being seated in the lounge (which we were a number of years before) we were ushered to melamine topped tables in the restaurant. Not a tablecloth,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

4 nights with breakfast here paid for mainly by Tesco vouchers, so we expected the worst accommodation. Although the room was spacious with all the usual facilities....it was on the third floor with no lift! Not good when you are in your 70's! Breakfasts were good, we had one bar meal which was also good but very slow in coming.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ROD AND DOROTHY D Thank you for taking time to leave a review for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us recently. However, with regards to the cleanliness of the windows, we do have a window cleaner due to visit us very shortly and housekeeping have been informed... More

Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night, Saturday 23rd August 2014 at this hotel. The room was not as advertised ... no four poster bed, and the manager reduced the price because of this. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were clean, soft and fresh. The large bathroom was very basic with old fittings etc and because there was only one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JBM69 Thank you for your review. We apologise if the room you entered on your arrival was not as you thought (or were told) it would be but we are glad that this was rectified in the form of reducing the price. We have brand new mattresses in all the rooms so were pleased to read that you enjoyed... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is really nice, beds are comfy the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The food is good quality and the hotel is set in nice grounds with easy access to Gloucester. Would recommend this hotel. The only draw back is there is no lift but the staff will carry any bags to your room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James B Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently and that nothing was too much trouble. Bowden Hall is nestled at the foot of the Cotswolds but is also conveniently nearby to the city of Gloucester as well as... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning hotel and what a location! Room was very clean, modern and comfortable for 2 adults and 1 child - the only downside - was that is was a very hot weekend in July and the room must have been about 30'c+. We had the small window open (which does not result in a good sleep when there is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth H Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We were pleased to read that you and your family were very comfortable during your stay with us and that you found the hotel and grounds 'stunning'. However we were sorry to read that you found your room a little warm during the very... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
72

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer