We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Upton St Leonards hotels

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Andrew H Nottingham
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    133
    78
    40
    14
See reviews for
65
196
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Quite an impressive hotel on the approach. Food was excellent and the staff are very friendly. Good wine prices and a comfy, clean room. Paid a very fair price for our double room. Renovations underway but caused no issues at all. Well Done

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H Thank you very much for submitting a review for Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay with us recently. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass all of your comments on to... More 

Doncaster
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely friendly old hotel with the obvious winding complicated new (ish!) extension, lovely day tooms and eventually a lovely room Avoid room 223 it's noisy from fans I was moved to a top floor room which I never really found the way too! On entering it was cold but the closing of windows and turning the rads on soon sorted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dealdownup Thank you for your review. It was nice to hear us being mentioned as 'lovely' and 'friendly' as service is one of our priorities at all times. We are glad that you were promptly re-roomed and that you found this room much quieter. Our housekeeping team like to air all of our rooms hence why the windows were... More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
94 hotel reviews
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is in a lovely setting just outside Gloucester which you can walk to, as we did, in about an hour or take the number 2 bus which goes to and from the city center in about 25 minutes. The staff are lovely. From the receptionist who could not have been more welcoming, to the restaurant manager and her staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear largelymonk Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that every member of our team were helpful and welcoming. I will certainly pass your compliments onto all of those involved in making your stay with us such... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice stay staff made stay very helpful and friendly. The hotel is having refurbishment and reception and hall ways a bit of a building site lounge area lovely view shame TVs and stereo compete which does not give a peaceful environment to drink or read food at breakfast good and room nice .need to change pillows which are foam so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel D Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our team to be very helpful and friendly. I will pass on your kind words. We were also pleased to see that you liked your room and that you had a very... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband bought me here for a midweek break as we hadn't had a chance to get away at Christmas. Upon arrival, the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel very welcome. The room was very cosy and the four poster bed was extremely comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RoseClapp Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that you and your husband had a memorable experience here with us recently as a post-Christmas treat. It was great to hear that our staff looked after you during the course of your stay. We will certainly pass... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very pleasant stay. The food was of a good quality and the service was sound. The room was also good for the price, would have preferred an actual double bed and not two singles pushed together. With the first nights dinner, B&B and two nights stay all paid for under one package it was a very reasonably priced visit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seb S Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We pride ourselves on the level of service our team provides and the high standard of food served at all times so we were glad you were not disappointed in these areas. There are some... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A clean spacious room although too warm. I guess it is better than being cold! The hotel reception is being refurbished which meant accessing rooms through a very tired looking corridor usually reserved for staff. The communal areas are relaxing if a little dated and more than a little worn. The hotel needs a spruce up overall. Get the paint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M&M G Thank you for your review. We were glad that you found your room to be spacious and clean if a little on the warm side. We trust you enjoyed a good night's sleep. As you mentioned, the hotel reception is being totally refurbished so we apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused. Refurbishment of the hotel... More 

Rowley Regis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from our valentines weekend break at the Bowden hall Hotel. made the trip into Gloucester city ,before checking in ,and was most impressed .The city is very good with the area around the docks well worth a visit. . Our stay at the hotel was very enjoyable, room was very nice ,all the facilities you need. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davidr1066 Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor for our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you both enjoyed a great stay with us for Valentine's. The hotel lends itself as an ideal location for a quiet, romantic getaway. Gloucester city is only 10 minutes away by car so we were... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel on Amazon ,amazing bargain £89 one night including allowance of £22 pp towards dinner. Bit worried when I saw some of the reviews but they were totally unjustified. Hotel is having some refurbishment done but it doesn't affect the lounge and dining areas both of which were charming. All the staff were friendly and helpful,the dinner was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet J Thank you for your positive review of Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were glad to hear that you experienced the best out of your Amazon dinner, bed & breakfast deal with us. We were delighted to read that your meal in our restaurant was enjoyable and that the standard of your food did not disappoint. We also... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner booked for us to stay here for my birthday weekend! It's a fab hotel with very friendly staff. When we arrived we had a small issue with our booking as we had booked 2 nights but only one was on the hotel computer, after showing our booking confirmation this was quickly adjusted and the lady on reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ald0802 Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall. Firstly, many happy returns! We were delighted to hear that you had a memorable time for your birthday weekend stay with us recently and that any issues with your reservation were rectified in a prompt and efficient manner. We were also pleased to read that you found your room comfortable... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay