We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Upton St Leonards hotels

Hatton Court Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards GL4 8DE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hatton Court Hotel to your Saves list
Hatton Court Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
72%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Anita A
  • Overview
  • Reviews (689)
  • Photos (104)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (125)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    235
    82
    68
    48
See reviews for
58
451
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Hubby and I stayed recently for a couple of nights.Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food and service at The Tara restaurant was excellent( coq au vin was superb-thanks chef!). We stayed in an executive double room which was v clean and pleasant but we felt it was rather small and decorated rather blandly. Bathroom was lovely and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked for our first anniversary as we stayed at a 4 star offering a similar fine dining menu after our wedding last year. This was £80 more expensive and didn't even come close. No option on menu so we ended up having the normal a la carte as a few of the courses we didn't like. Hotel was very understaffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night on a "package deal". All staff very friendly and helpful Room was clean and tidy. High tea and evening meal very enjoyable, although there were a few glitches in the kitchen . Breakfast was ok .All in all good value for the "package deal" price. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked on lastminute.com a 1 night stay with dinner for 2 for £122, booked Hatton Court as we were going to be in the area and wanted a charming hotel with character, Hatton Court from the web photos particularly the exterior looked beautiful so we went ahead and quickly booked, unfortunately looks can be deceiving. The small reception area had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed just one night. Had a lovely comfortable room which was unfortunately at the top of the building and many, many stairs to climb. If booking avoid rooms 1 and 2 unless you are very fit. The room itself was beautiful but a little shabby in places needing a paint job. They only had a three course meal on offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley B, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is due for refurbishment stating in early September so hope that you will come and visit us again in the not to distance future. Kind regards Chloe More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Purchased through offpeakluxury.com as a food lovers weekend but this was anything but. No a la carte menu - no rose wine - steak without a steak knife and no English mustard. Salmon sent back twice as raw in the middle meant this food lover went without a main course. Bill had to be amended 3 times due to charging... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rupert10, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately from time to time we do run out of certain items and understand that this can be a tad disappointing. I’m sorry you... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2014 is a big year for our family with somebody reaching 16, 21, 30, 40, 50 and 60 so to celebrate all we decided to have a weekend away. There are 10 of us and we all live in different parts of the country. We decided to stay in the Cotswolds for a weekend as this was pretty central for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Absfab, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Birthday celebration stay with us and Thank you for your kind comments. I apologise for the lack of communication prior to your arrival, but am pleased that this was resolved and did not affect your stay with us.... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel on recommendation from friends who have stayed previously. The room was very clean and the beds were super comfy. We had a corner bath in our room with shower overhead. The evening meal in the hotel was excellent quality and well worth having. I had a goats cheese starter which was delicious. My salmon was cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel F, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you for your kind comments. The staff really do appreciate all your positive feedback and makes the hard work all the more rewarding. We hope to see you again at Hatton Court.... More

North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Room a little shsbby, very much in need of updating. This wasn, t the theme for the rest of the building. We stayed two nights eating in on the second.. The food was possibly one of the best meals I have had, it would be worth returning for that alone, Staff were all friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 53CMV, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you for your kind comments. I appreciate that parts of the hotel are starting to look a little tired; we do have refurbishment works planned to start in September. The staff really do... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a terrible stay this week (it was so bad it has prompted me to leave feedback so you might be spared the same experience). I researched the hotel before booking a deal with Secret Escapes for a night away with cream tea, 5 course tasting menu and breakfast. The reviews looked good and the photos looked great but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LizB3, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations. I note your comments regarding areas of the hotel that does need refurbishment and am pleased to say this is scheduled for early September.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hatton Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatton Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer