We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Guiting Power B&Bs / inns

The Hollow Bottom

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power GL54 5UX, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Hollow Bottom to your Saves list
The Hollow Bottom
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
90%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Robert H Camborne, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (118)
  • Photos (41)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the Earth Summit room at the Hollow Bottom and was not disappointed. The room itself was well presented, clean and had all the facilities one could possibly want. The en-suite shower room was spacious and with a great shower. Very relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were really helpful throughout our stay. This pub is situated in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Could not have been better, we stayed for two nights. Delightful large room overlooking the countryside across from the road outside, the situation is very rural and there was no problem at all with traffic noise. All of the young staff were very friendly and helpful. The dinner was good, beer was good and the breakfasts great. It is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just got back from a two night stay at the hollow bottom, was very unsure as to what to expect but a lovely b and b. The staff were friendly towards us and our black lab,a very dog friendly pub which is great. Rooms were great. Food good and lovely location for walking. We had a fab stay and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review. Your black Lab was very welcome. I am glad you had very little noise as is the case on the majority of evenings. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon, Hugh More

san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room is nice. Bathroom looks new. Good water pressure. Breakfast is super. You can asked for your choice of eggs etc. Only complain is a glass of wine costs 7. Can't remember if they have wifi. I would come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thanks Tunafish for leaving us a to the point review. Much appreciated. We do have WiFi. It is also free. We have Merlot at £4.40 glass. We have Pinot Grigo at £4.40 glass. You chose a bucket of New Zealand Sauv Blanc. It is £7.25. It is one-third of a bottle. Hope you enjoyed. Hugh. More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Welcoming team at the Hollow Bottom, with the many 'village' pubs that have closed over recent years this one holds on to its local roots and with the many establishments that I visit it's good to see, appreciated I'm sure by the numbers that are regulars and those that are passing by and others that travel to experience the 'Cotswold'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

James, you are most welcome and we are delighted at the appreciation. The O2 signal is indeed rubbish which can be a valid reason for coming back to stay!! Hope to see you again soon, Hugh. More

Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pub is quaint with horse racing theme. Breakfast is great. Rooms are small and bed was uncomfortable. The noise from the pub below is intolerable and continued on the monday and tuesday nights we stayed til late at night with no thought to the guests above. Walls are very thin

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quaintness of our 17th Century Inn and loved the breakfast. Thanks also for pointing out that there are on occasions a possibility of some noise emanating from the cheery souls in the bar .We always give thought to our guests, all of them... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great stay at The Hollow Bottom. Lovely B and B with big tastefully decorated rooms, super friendly staff and great food. Very close to Bourton on the Water. It's perfect for a mini Cotswolds break and great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We fully agree with you that we are a "Cotswold's Gem" and strive every day to maintain this. We would love to see you again sometime, Hugh. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

1 night stay on a flying visit to the cotswolds...nice room and bathroom, all very clean and breakfast was superb. Only criticism is that the mattress was extremely firm which I found uncomfortable but this is personal preference!! If your looking for a taste of a proper cotswold village inn then this is well worth considering.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

We thank you for your lovely review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our mattresses are the finest quality and I do understand that the firmness may not suit all but this as you rightly pointed out is a personal preference. Hugh. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here last night and I can highly recommend this little hotel/public house if you are planning on travelling around the many Cotswold villages. It is ideally situated for this, it sits on the end of the main road in Guitings Power, only has an handful of rooms which are clean and tidy but you will hear noise at night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Guiting Power really is such a beautiful place and we love to share it. Thanks also for pointing out the potential for some noise in the rooms above the bar. We do keep it to a minimum and it will always be peaceful from around midnight. We hope to see... More

Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a lovely stay at this warm and welcoming pub, all staff encountered made this a really lovely stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean and quite large. The food was excellent and choices extensive. I would have no difficulty in recommending this lovely pub, indeed such a thoughtful establishment, they have a mini bus for guests who rather enjoy more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It really does mean a lot to all our hardworking team. We hope to welcome you back again very soon, Hugh. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Hollow Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hollow Bottom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer