We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundown Manor

4.0 of 5 No 2 Avenue Normandie, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sundown Manor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sundown Manor
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only stayed one night. We had a warm welcome. Our room was spacious and clean. We were close to great restaurants (koi-at the ambassador hotel), and had a wonderful evening. We had a simple breakfast and enjoyed a little bit of time by the pool. Excellent value for money. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thanks a lot for the very nice stay at your place. Despite the late arrival of my flight i was warmly received and everything was ready for a good start of my holiday. The seaview of my room and the rich breakfast on the terrace was a special delight of this stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awesome house with large bedrooms and bathrooms- Staff and owner are super- friendly. Highly recommend Sundown Manor for a stay , business or pleasure. Convenient location near all amenities and attractions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary P, Manager at Sundown Manor, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy Thank you so much for the awesome review. It's reviews like yours that really make our day. We hope you come and visit soon again. Kindest regards from the best City in the world! More 

Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I felt at home when I was in Sundown Manor. The service is really good and the server is really helpful. Having the breakfast in the balcony with bathing in the sunshine is the best experience in December. The place of Sundown Manor is also great. It is in a quiet area with the sight of Lion's Head Hill, but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary P, Manager at Sundown Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for the complimentary review. If our guests are happy we are happy and we have been very lucky to have had such nice people visit our Guesthouse. We hope you come visit soon again. Kind regards from the mother city More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcome was very friendly and informative. It is located at walking distance from Waterfront and Longstreet, CapeTown. Close to the Ocean. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The house has a cosy living room and dinning area, as well as a sunny terrace with swimming pool. The breakfast had a great variety of food to choose from.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from an amazing trip to South Africa finishing our trip in Sundown Manor for two nights. We cannot praise this accommodation highly enough, we were two couples travelling and both the rooms allocated to us were excellent, beds, bedding, location, size and pristine. The breakfast was served on the balcony overlooking the pool and again the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grahamstown, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I spent two nights over the past weekend and I am a very happy customer. The location is perfect. The rooms are a good size and clean. Good sized bathroom, which was also clean.The only thing I found odd was that there was no body lotion in my room, but luckily I had my own, so I didn't raise this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary P, Owner at Sundown Manor, responded to this review

Dearest Abongile Thank you so much for this lovely review. We hope your next visit will be a bit longer so that the girls can cook you our famous breakfast. :) Have a great day. Regards from sunny Cape Town. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

What a wonderful home away from home. The hosts were attentive, helpful and accommodating to last minute changes. Breakfast was a light affair. Rooms were spacious and clean. A truly well - run establishment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinshasa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Staffs are very helpful and friendly, beautiful interior decoration and warm atmosphere. Breakfast was magnificent. However, the room I stayed had some dusts on my bed!! and in the sink in the bathroom and that made me feel uncomfortable. They apprentely didn't check the room before the arrival of a guest. It is too bad I have to put poor... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary P, Owner at Sundown Manor, responded to this review

Dear Furuya Akiko Thank you so much for the lovely compliments. It is dearly appreciated. We do however pride ourselves on our cleanliness of our establishment (see other reviews) and we have taken your comments to heart. The room was checked personally by our Manager on the day of your arrival. Due to the fact that you arrived well after... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The location is excellent, close to Sea Point and places of interest. The rooms are clean, big and comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I felt very comfortable. The staff made me feel at home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary P, Owner at Sundown Manor, responded to this review

Dear Brad Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. You will always be welcome at Sundown Manor. Keep well. Kindest regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sundown Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Manor

Address: No 2 Avenue Normandie, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundown Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sundown Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Manor Fresnaye, Cape Town, South Africa

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay