We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beckford

Cheltenham Road (A46), Beckford GL20 7AN, England
Hotel amenities
The Beckford
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Beckford B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
whizzles
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very slow service. Did they forget our order? Over 45 minutes for our main course when the place wasn't even busy. A table of 10 plus 4 others and us. Ordered one pheasant and one sea bass. When it arrived, it was nicely presented food but don't go unless you're prepared to wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Although my Mums birthday wasn't until the Monday my wife and myself arranged to take her out for dinner at the Beckford on the Saturday before (see separate review for that!), and we thought it would be nice to stay the night there as well. We'd visited before and liked the look of the place, so we booked ourselves in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This is a terrible hotel and most definitely not a 4 star! they advertise luxury accommodation however. A dirty dusty room with no hot water from the hand basin an electric shower that had such poor water pressure at times it cut out altogether. The central heating didn’t work and electric heaters were in the room. It was a horrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Beckfordinn, Owner at The Beckford, responded to this review

Dear AEddy, I was very disappointed to read your review. If you had mentioned any of your concerns during the 2 days you were our guests then we would have been very happy to have resolved them or changed your room. As you will see from our web site we are not a 4 star hotel, but a small characterful... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We dropped in for Sunday lunch without a reservation and were shown to a nice round table in the window. The menu had a choice of roasts as well as a fish of the day and pie of the day. Three of us had roast pork with the usual trimmings and fresh vegetables which was beautifully cooked. My husband asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The choice at breakfast was very good. We looked at this room on late rooms.com and stayed for 4 nights. We were upgraded as there had been a misunderstanding between the maid and owners at no extra charge! You could choose your breakfast time which was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Just returned after a short break at this B&B I chose this hotel from Toprooms was a bargain £135 for the room with full English breakfast. The staff are wonderful it was a lovely place to stay central for exploring the Cotswolds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Fell upon this inn when we were looking around in the early evening for an overnight stop and the local Premier Inn was full. The room was quite spacious and clean with all the necessary facilities. Food and drink in the bar was very good and reasonably priced. Surprised we seemed to be the only ones down for breakfast at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hawarden
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

stayed for a four-night cotswold break and generally enjoyed it. the hotel is well located for exploring the western cotswolds. i would like to recommend the beckford unreservedly , but there are reservations. staff are consistently friendly and helpful, bed extremely comfortable with very good linen and towels. there are cleanliness issues, unfortunately, which involve the stair carpets in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I booked in on the Friday evening - shown to our room, which was in the front of the building. It was very small and we had the noise of the road. As my wife is a light sleeper, we went down and asked if we could change the room. We were told that most of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Beckford Inn from 23rd to 26th May, whilst on a visit to an elderly aunt living in Woodmancote near Cheltenham. The Beckford is 7 miles away & we have stayed in nearer hotels on previous occasions. However, having had very enjoyable evening meals & Sunday lunches in the past, we wanted to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay