We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Friar Tucks

137 Bristol Rd., Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save
You added Friar Tucks to your Saves list
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
4
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff very nice. Room not very good. One cup for two people. Can only get the fan to work if the light is on - not helpful on a hot night. Facilities generally poor for the price - 3am in the morning and am writing this review. Last orders for food at 5pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romiley, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling north and looking for a couple of nights accommodation we used The Friar Tucks on the edge of Gloucester. A comfy family room with small ensuite. Bar selling a good range of reasonably priced food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This is a pub with rooms above so don't expect it to be a quiet stay. Having said that the landlord was great and very helpful. Rooms are basic but clean. Beds were a little uncomfortable and the room was small. Take your own toiletries as non supplied not even bar of soap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Called in for food amazing and outstanding staff and locales had a great night would recommend this place I unfortunately are booked I another hotel but had all ok at the rooms next time I am in this town I will stay here must go now my food has arrived mmmmmm

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We stayed here for one night when attending a family party in Quedgely. This pub was within walking distance so the location was ideal. We had two single rooms. The pub is a typical local and therefore if you are looking for a quiet country retreat it would not be for you. It is also on a main road so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Just called in for a ale and won't be back The place looks rough has not been maintained and they do not keep their pipes clean, bits in my ale If you like your real ales stay away or go next door to the little thatch no tvs or music but the beer is better

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Quedgeley hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is a classic English pub with food that's very good value for money and rooms that are exactly what one should expect in an English pub. They advertise clearly no breakfast so you cannot complain about that. They advertise live football so expect that to be on when there is a match -perfect as far as I am concerned.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night and was so hot weather wise made me feel ill so not pubs fault but made stay unpleasant anyway room was okay but no breakfast which was stated room only from start typical old school pub so expect no five star!!! Staff all friendly landlord lovely chap as was all now if it's a meal you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed here for one night as working in the area. We paid for bed and breakfast...... upon arrival we were met by a bar maid, who slat 2 keys on the bar, and was told payment had to be made upfront. we found our way to 2 single rooms through dark corridors to find freezing cold rooms. I put the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FriarTucks, Manager at Friar Tucks, responded to this review

Have just got to grips with Trip Advisor so this is new to me!Firstly, I would like to apologise that you seem to have had this experience with us.I have been at the Friars since 2010 and unfortunately we have never served breakfast and this is always explained to guests as far as I am aware. However, we do now... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very VERY quiet even on Saturday evening, sadly we felt like 'outsiders' as we sat drinking being closely watched by the evidently local contingent, as you could hear a pin drop. No one spoke apart from the bar tender who was pleasant enough, but just all too 'league of gentlemen' for me!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FriarTucks, Manager at Friar Tucks, responded to this review

Apologies that this was your experience with us-however I wonder whether you have reviewed the right pub!! I have been at the Friars since May 2010 and we have run weekly entertainment on a Saturday night since day 1.It has always been a very busy day / night and you would certainly not hear a pin drop, especially with a... More 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay