We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Friar Tucks

137 Bristol Rd., Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save
You added Friar Tucks to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Quedgeley B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
NinaB498 Southampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (11)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night when attending a family party in Quedgely. This pub was within walking distance so the location was ideal. We had two single rooms. The pub is a typical local and therefore if you are looking for a quiet country retreat it would not be for you. It is also on a main road so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Just called in for a ale and won't be back The place looks rough has not been maintained and they do not keep their pipes clean, bits in my ale If you like your real ales stay away or go next door to the little thatch no tvs or music but the beer is better

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Quedgeley hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is a classic English pub with food that's very good value for money and rooms that are exactly what one should expect in an English pub. They advertise clearly no breakfast so you cannot complain about that. They advertise live football so expect that to be on when there is a match -perfect as far as I am concerned.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night and was so hot weather wise made me feel ill so not pubs fault but made stay unpleasant anyway room was okay but no breakfast which was stated room only from start typical old school pub so expect no five star!!! Staff all friendly landlord lovely chap as was all now if it's a meal you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed here for one night as working in the area. We paid for bed and breakfast...... upon arrival we were met by a bar maid, who slat 2 keys on the bar, and was told payment had to be made upfront. we found our way to 2 single rooms through dark corridors to find freezing cold rooms. I put the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FriarTucks, Manager at Friar Tucks, responded to this review

Have just got to grips with Trip Advisor so this is new to me!Firstly, I would like to apologise that you seem to have had this experience with us.I have been at the Friars since 2010 and unfortunately we have never served breakfast and this is always explained to guests as far as I am aware. However, we do now... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very VERY quiet even on Saturday evening, sadly we felt like 'outsiders' as we sat drinking being closely watched by the evidently local contingent, as you could hear a pin drop. No one spoke apart from the bar tender who was pleasant enough, but just all too 'league of gentlemen' for me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FriarTucks, Manager at Friar Tucks, responded to this review

Apologies that this was your experience with us-however I wonder whether you have reviewed the right pub!! I have been at the Friars since May 2010 and we have run weekly entertainment on a Saturday night since day 1.It has always been a very busy day / night and you would certainly not hear a pin drop, especially with a... More 

stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

called today 5th august for sunday lunch the food was cooked fresh and served hot and very tasty will call again next time we are in gloucester. would recommend this pub to my friends to visit when they are in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
FriarTucks, Public Relations Manager at Friar Tucks, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a lovely review!We are proud of our 'fresh, home cooked food', which is quite unique in the current culture.We always appreciate the positive feedback that we receive about our meals! Thankyou! Sharon More 

Dagenham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed recently with a colleague for a couple of weeks on business. Have to say that the reception was very warm and welcome. Rooms were of a good standard and very well kept. Both rooms were en-suite, with hot drink making facilites as well as a TV! As for the pub downstairs, it was well priced with very decent home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

have stayed in a lots of pubs and this is worse one ever. Although everyone was friendly there was no soap, no breakfast, no key to get back in. Beds should have been replaced several years ago so was very uncomfortable. You couldn't really stay it reached basic standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Well after staying at the Little Thatch i decided to move on and stay somewhere different next time so i did. The pub / hotel is runned by a family and are in-deed very friendly, i got a great room which was VERY clean, warm, cossy and great value for money! It reminded me of Holiday Inn! Clean, comfy bedding,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay