We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Arlington

Hotel website
Hillside House Hele, Hele, Cullompton EX5 4PW, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arlington
Professional photos View all
The Arlington
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This is a very clean and cosy B&B,rooms are excellent with a small fridge with fresh milk,microwave and TV and plenty of tea/coffee for you.Bed could due with a new mattress as it was lumpy and uncomfortable,there was a good selection of cereals for breakfast with croissants/toast etc. Our only gripe was the hot food,bacon eggs etc was disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
llamahome, Owner at The Arlington, responded to this review

Hi The mattresses are under a year old, but mattress type is a personal choice. We state that we do not provide cooked breakfasts. However, as it was the weekend, we had quite a number of guests, and guests sometimes say they would have liked a cooked breakfast, we added cooked items to the buffet. I believe these guests arrived... More 

Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Despite a very late arrival after a ferry crossing from Brittany we were welcomed by the owner of the hotel and given advice regarding the use of the television and WiFi and the security pad system. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast provided a vast choice of cereals as well as fruit, yogurt, crispy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holbeach, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

There wasn't much of a sign to find the b&b but the place was clean, warm and welcoming. The room was large with plenty of ameneties, including a microwave and generous size fridge. Everything was well set out and would suit all kinds of travellers or contractors. If we are ever in the area again we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merville-Franceville-Plage, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here during August 2013. The welcome was warm and friendly. Overall house and decor was good. Nice large bedroom and bathroom. Tea and coffee and cake / biscuit available on arrival. A somewhat different breakfast arrangement, but very very good. The local pub restaurant will pick you up and return you back if you want a drink and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed at Arlington on 4 occasions and have always received excellent hospitality. Rooms are large and well equipped, with fridge, microwave and toaster, with a ready supply of tea, coffee, fresh milk all day, and even biscuits and cakes. Breakfast is plentiful and varied The owner is always very pleasant and helpful for any matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

the lady who runs the Arlington, Dianna, was very accommodating and although she wasn't there when we arrived we had expected that as she called us several times before we arrived to make sure everything was OK, and she had made arrangements for us to get access to the rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious, breakfast was self service,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The lady who runs this B&B is friendly. The rooms in which we have stayed have always been clean. The style varies between different rooms. Most of the time, we have had self-service breakfast on our own - there is a wide selection of different items, including cereal, fruit juice, baked beans, flapjack and, often, delicious freshly baked scones. Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
llamahome, Owner at The Arlington, responded to this review

You do not need a car (although useful, if you go on the M5)! We have a frequent (twenty minute) bus service to Cullompton/Tiverton and Exeter. The restaurant will collect and return you for no charge. We generally leave the toiletries per person; this incident was human error, for which we apologised and repleced, when the guest mentioned the deficiency... More 

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

There was nobody anywhere in sight when we arrived and I honestly thought we must have been at the wrong house as I missed the sign on the main road with the name of the B and B. There was no cars in the car park and a large broken pot plant holder and a pile of gravel in front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
llamahome, Owner at The Arlington, responded to this review

I am afraid that this guest must have arrived early, as I met them at the door at check in time unaware that they had arrived any earlier, because I was feeding the livestock. Hence, I gave no apologies! The post it note was for someone else. The other guests were out, so there were no other cars. I am... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice and friendly welcome,good clean and spacious rooms. Nothing more to add really as the other (good) reviews have just about got it covered. The short journey for the evening meal was no problem as we took advantage of their free taxi service.We stayed for one night while working in the area and found it ideal for our purpose.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great little B&B, friendly owner and rooms are clean, well equipped and modern with free Wifi. En suite bathroom was great and very powerful shower. Breakfast is not memorable but sufficient and you are left to your own devices which is nice. Only thing I'm not used to as a city dweller were the farm animals and the cockerel which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities