We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden View Bed and Breakfast

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
133 Lowes Road, Rolleston 7614, New Zealand
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 3 Rolleston B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015
WendyCraies Auckland, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This would be one of the nicest B&B's I have ever stayed in. The rooms were beautifully presented and comfortable and our host Helen was great and looked after us as if we were family. My daughter was unable to travel with us, so Anne without any prompting contacted Wotif to organise a refund on our behalf. Thank you so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
new zealand
Level Contributor
330 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

The hosts are welcoming and the b and b has lovely large gardens. However, we couldnt get wifi in our room - if we stood at the very corner of the bath we could only. this was not satisfactory as we had an issue that came up at home and were trying to sort out. Free wifi is advertised, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeeandBee, Owner at Garden View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Lack of Communication WiFi: Free WiFi is available at all times in all rooms. We would have been very happy to assist you if we had known that you were having a problem. The room can accommodate three guests when they are wishing to save the cost of an extra room. An inner-sprung mattress or a folding out bed is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I booked online as the garden room seemed to appeal to me. I got there very late as the plane was delayed but they were very understanding . I had a very comfortable night the room was great and the hosts were very friendly and helpful and as I loved it so much I decided to stay another night. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterton, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

found a great deal online for the place, hospitality from the hosts was top notch and I'm personally nominating the B&B as having the most comfortable beds found so far on the South Island! nice quiet location, only 20 minutes from downtown and have a beautiful property

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I were booked to stay at the Garden View for an evening this Easter. Our flight was cancelled due to bad weather so we had to cancel our booking very late in the day, with a break in the weather we were fortunate to get a flight the next day, our hosts were very accommodating, friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I booked a room at Garden View based on photos of the rooms and the garden and I certainly was not disappointed. My room is big, with a huge, comfortable bed. A large, clean bathroom with an excellent shower right next to it. There's also a huge window with said garden view. The garden is so lush and spectacular I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dietlikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

John and Beth were the sweetest people. You felt like being home from the very first second. They are very interested,caring and also talented people! Beth play wonderful songs on the piano before you go to bed for example. There's nothing you have to worry about. They even made sure we would get up early enough to catch our early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our December 2013 stay at the Garden View B&B in Rolleston, south of Christchurch airport, was a wonderful way to begin our NZ tour. Our hosts, John and Beth, gave us a warm welcome and a personal touch, answering our questions and giving us pointers on what to expect on our travels. When we arrived, Beth had prepared a tasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

John and Beth were great hosts and their house and garden are beautiful. Our conversations were so interesting, we couldn't quit talking, so we were late to bed and got off late, but it was well worth it. For Americans, if you ask enough questions, you will find out that they are the parents of Phil Keoghan, the host of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very interesting people. a wealth of knowledge that they are more than happy to share. felt very comfortable and almost one of the family. Highly recommended . The service they provided was far more than one would expect. Thank you John and Beth for a pleasent stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rolleston
11.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Rolleston Highway Motel
Rolleston Highway Motel
#2 of 3 in Rolleston
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lincoln Motel
Lincoln Motel
#1 of 1 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top