We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Elgol B&Bs / inns

Rose Croft

Save Saved
You added Rose Croft to your Saves list
Elgol, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (1)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • More
Rose Croft
Ranked #3 of 3 Elgol B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

we visited rose croft just recently, and unfortunately did not check reviews beforehand, also in elgol there isn't much b&b competition. we were rather disappointed. the bathroom (outside rooms, shared) definitely needs updating, although it was clean. all around the house (rooms, bathroom, breakfast area) you will find small pieces of paper with various bans and requests -please don't do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pauline F, Owner at Rose Croft, responded to this review

It is a pity that you have felt it necessary to write this unpleasant review, which I feel is total abuse of the hospitality that was offered to you and your family within my home, especially as at the time of your stay you gave no indication at all that you were not happy. The rooms that you were so... More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed one night in Elgol in this B&B and it was perfect. The room is very nice and the bed is very comfy. The host Pauline gave us all the information we needed before and during our stay, allowed us to use her phone as we couldn't get any signal on the island, and also allowed us to heat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
München
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I did stay at Rose Croft for 1 night and we really loved the place. OK. The room was very small but well equiped (TV, heater, lights, table lamps, etc) and all we needed was a "bed" and a "breakfast" (as we booked a B&B ;-)) and both have been perfect. The bed was so comfortable we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

If you like it small and simple you are right... This B&B provides two rooms for a reasonable price. Reasonable in terms that the room (at least the one we slept in) is small and very hostel like. Maybe the difference you pay compared to a hostal is for the absolutely beautiful surrounding and the second part of the B... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Elgol hotels

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

+ Very friendly and helpful people: They advised us and dried our clothes when we were soaking-wet of the rain. + Great breakfast. + Reasonable price pppn. + Own heating unit in the room. + Allowance to have a drink at our room. - Everything outside our room was freezing cold: breakfast room, bathroom, hall. - We were not offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
halfofsixteen, Owner at Rose Croft, responded to this review

Your comments, both positive and negative, have been noted. The beginning of May has been unusually chilly this year, but as you didn't mention anything to me, I wasn't aware that you were feeling some areas of the house to be cold. If you had bought this matter to my attention at the time, I would have been able, and... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm flummoxed by negative reviews; perhaps people should spend a grand and stay in the Ritz! Comfortable accommodation. Very reasonable price; I booked it because of that. Comfortable accommodation. Good breakfast. Friendly and very helpful owner. .......and then there's Elgol; the view to the Cuillins is one of the best in the world - and a sky so full of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
halfofsixteen, Owner at Rose Croft, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments are much appreciated. They describe exactly what I endeavour to provide - friendly, comfortable accommodation, with a good breakfast and at a reasonable price. Thank you. More

Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Owner was really ungrateful. Normal breakfast. Poor bathroom. It's pretty far from main road on Skye. Every sound from other rooms were possible to listen in our room. Price was one of the highest in our trip around Scotland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
halfofsixteen, Owner at Rose Croft, responded to this review

I am totally puzzled that almost a year after their stay this negative review has been posted, as looking back through my records the entry that was written by them in my Guest Book at the time of their stay, Tuesday 3rd April 2012, reads as follows: "Thank you for all the information, great packed lunch and for being so... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The positives:- 1) Attractive property in a pleasant location. 2) Good Breakfasts, a little inflexible on service time. 3) Friendly, helpfull and informative hostess. The Negatives:- 1) Smells of cats (especially the towels), although we saw none. 2) We shared the bed and shower with woodlice. 3) Uncomfortable bed and no good for a romantic weekend. 4) Very thin walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
halfofsixteen, Owner at Rose Croft, responded to this review

I'm sorry that docandsonic were unhappy with their stay, but I would like to say, for the benefit of others who may read their review, that I consider that I offer good value for money, and above all, clean accommodation - and I don't keep and never have kept cats. Over the years I have had many hundreds of guests... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rose Croft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rose Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Croft

Address: Elgol, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Also Known As:
Rose Croft Elgol, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Elgol with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rose Croft staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer