We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hordern Vale accommodations

Cape Otway Cottages

615 Hordern Vale Road, Hordern Vale, Victoria 3238, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cape Otway Cottages to your Saves list
Cape Otway Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014
Simone T Adelaide, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (15)
  • Photos (24)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

A little while ago we returned from a few relaxing days away in MoonLight Cottage. We loved the location and secluded feel of the property, which we found to be lovely, clean and equipped with all we required for our stay. Sharon the manager was lovely friendly and happy to offer assistance, including suggesting what we might like to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Grass Trees Cottage has everything you need and even more! With my partner we decided to stay there for a longer weekend and couldn't decide better. Even though we don't own a dog, we were looking for a romantic getaway, far away from the city noise, in the heart of the nature but with enough comfort. Grass Trees fulfilled all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the Moonrise cottage. From the moment we arrived we were surprised with how outdated the cottage was, old TV, worn furnishings etc. We settled in and started to prepare dinner to then find there was no gas, meaning no hot water either. Tried using the BBQ to cook, yep, that was out of gas too. Hungry and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon C, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this review

We do appreciate feedback on our accommodation and are very sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay. As a property manager it is very difficult to help assist guests and attempt improve their holiday experience when we are completely unaware they are not happy to begin with. It can be quite frustrating and disappointing not being told of... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently stayed in the Grass Trees Cottage for 10 nights and it was fantastic. It was secluded and very private, there was no people knocking at 9am for house-keeping or noisy neighbours. My 2 dogs loved the property, the bush supplied great exercise for them and they didn't have to be on leash. They were also supplied with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I have been looking everywhere for a private cottage with a spa and fire which is pet friendly. We were very excited to find Otway Cottages. However, I then sent two email enquiries and received no response. I called and spoke to Sharon who booked us in and requested I call back in a few days to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon C, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this review

We thank-you for your feedback, and I am sorry you have not been able to contact us. I actually have tried calling back the mobile number (left on voicemail) a couple of times, however when I call it tells me that "this phone is not currently accepting calls from this service". This means I cannot leave you a voice message,... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 with our 2 dogs. The accommadation is ok but very overpriced for what you get. If you want total seclusion then you have it. It was an effort though to get to the nearest beach ( 25 mins) drive at Johanna or Apollo Bay around (30 mins) drive for the dogs to play.There is plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sharon C, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Steve, We thank-you for your review and feedback. I am very sorry to hear you were not 100% with your stay in MoonRise Cottage. With regards to the location of our property it is quite clearly indicated on our website and in our email enquiry replies (with maps) where we are located as well as information on pet friendly... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We decided to escape to the Otway Ranges for a few days away and WOW!!! what an amazing place we found at Cape Otway Cottages. From the moment we spoke to Sharon the manager who was lovely to the moment we walked into the cottage with lovely lamps on and the cottage all warm and toasty we were in heaven!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Moonrise cottage which was fabulous. Very secluded with no one around. The cottage was very clean with fresh towels, chopped wood, bread making and breakfast supplies ready for the first morning. We never saw or heard from owner. When we arrived the key was in the door ready to go. Having our car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The cottage and settings were absolutely lovely! Great escape into nature, and we loved the secluded location. Amazing setting and perfect for just a romantic getaway or for a small group of friends. Loved all of the inclusions - from a breadmaker (and all supplies), to a cozy fireplace, BBQ, heaters, hot tub (spa), and even windchimes! The place was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I pre booked 6 nights with full payment. I am a business woman on my own with two pooches. I arrived and could not switch on Foxtel, there was no signal. The BBQ didn't switch on. Two windows in the cottage had blinds removed, the spa and the bathroom, made me very uncomfortable. The cottage was dated and needed repairs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cape Otway Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cape Otway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Otway Cottages

Address: 615 Hordern Vale Road, Hordern Vale, Victoria 3238, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hordern Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cape Otway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer