We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Uitenhage B&Bs / inns

The Garden Lodge Guest House

7 Rigg Street | Mosel, Uitenhage, Port Elizabeth 6229, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Garden Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
The Garden Lodge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #1 of 11 Uitenhage B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Puntit Pretoria, South Africa
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a clean and secure place to stay in Uitenhage, at very affordable prices. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and the room was neat clean and had all the luxuries of home. There was secure parking for my vehicle, and felt safe and secure in the area the Guest House is situated in. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The shower does not have the cap to control water. you must also make a big swimming pool so that when its summer and there are many people we can swim. The breakfast need to be improved as well i was not impressed with that there was no cereal at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review of our property. All our rooms are fitted with water saving shower heads, as this is a major concern for us at The Garden Lodge, and this is our way to do our part in saving water in a country that water is a scares commodity. We serve a standard breakfast, and guests... More

France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What garden? Tired looking guest house in an industrial town. Minute. Swimming pool. The breakfast was the most meagre we were offered in South Africa. There was a lot of noise late in the evening. Wouldn' stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank the guest for the review and their point of view. All reviews are welcome and dealt with accordingly. It is just sad that the guest did not inform us of any problems or excess noise, as there is a telephone in all our rooms that you can contact reception 24 hours a day. If we... More

Centurion
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There was broken things in the room like the toilet and the shower and when I complained about it the reception made it out as if I broke it. In general the service was bad and the room was terrible! A

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Alrieke I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience when you stayed at our Guest House. I am however a very disappointed that you did not shared your dissatisfaction during your stay or upon departure. We would have gladly moved you to another room or booked you with another Guest House that... More

Graaff-reinet, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Clean rooms, good value, will return. Looked for guesthouse in Uitenhage and found this one on internet. Sent email and received reply within few hours. Arranged via phone and found everything as arranged.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Londn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Garden Lodge guest house for business. The staff were friendly and organised and breakfast was served on time and was good value for money. I would recommend the Garden Lodge to professionals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Megan Thank you for the time you took to write the review. It was a absolute pleasure to have you. We strife to provide our guests with the best possible stay, so that you can feel at home, and that you have received value for your money. We serve a standard breakfast with a standard price, but can... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice quiet & homely place away from the hustle/bustle of the big cities. The proximity to most points of interest such as the beaches, national parks and historical monuments is just a few minutes drive. We really enjoyed staying in this place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The rooms were spacious and neat .Lovely showers and toilet facilities. A hearty breakfast was served every morning by a friendly staff member. home away from home. very good service. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Thank you for the excellent service! The safe parking gave me peace of mind. I love the peace and tranquility here. The most comfortable beds and cushions that took me straight to dreamland! You guys will definitely be seeing me again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Clean environment. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable management and staff. On site parking a plus, rooms accessible. Within easy access to shops and restaurants. Prices are reasonable. Cold beer refreshing at the end of the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Garden Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Garden Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Lodge Guest House

Address: 7 Rigg Street | Mosel, Uitenhage, Port Elizabeth 6229, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Uitenhage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Garden Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Lodge Guest House, B&B, offer luxury guest rooms, each with their own entrance and bathrooms, two self –catering units that can sleep six, and comes fully equipped. All our units and rooms have Dstv channels, coffee and tea facilities, air –conditioning and a bar fridge. The premises offer under cover parking inside electric security gates, a pool and braai area. We are a short distance from the Addo Elephant Park and the Shamwari Game reserve. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer