We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden Lodge Guest House

7 Rigg Street | Mosel, Uitenhage, Port Elizabeth 6229, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Lodge Guest House
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
The Garden Lodge Guest House
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I stay at The Garden Lodge when in Uitenage on business. It meets all of my needs for cleanliness, comfort, friendly service and value for money. I would not describe it as "luxurious" but it ticks all of my boxes and the plunge pool is a delight after working in Uitenhage's above average temperatures.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Elise and Lucrisha are two delightful ladies it was a pleasure to meet. An early misunderstanding on arrival was satisfactorily resolved and we had a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed and room. We talked with Elise well into the evening and with Lucrisha extensively(!)over breakfast which was filling and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - who wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a clean and secure place to stay in Uitenhage, at very affordable prices. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and the room was neat clean and had all the luxuries of home. There was secure parking for my vehicle, and felt safe and secure in the area the Guest House is situated in. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The shower does not have the cap to control water. you must also make a big swimming pool so that when its summer and there are many people we can swim. The breakfast need to be improved as well i was not impressed with that there was no cereal at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review of our property. All our rooms are fitted with water saving shower heads, as this is a major concern for us at The Garden Lodge, and this is our way to do our part in saving water in a country that water is a scares commodity. We serve a standard breakfast, and guests... More 

France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What garden? Tired looking guest house in an industrial town. Minute. Swimming pool. The breakfast was the most meagre we were offered in South Africa. There was a lot of noise late in the evening. Wouldn' stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank the guest for the review and their point of view. All reviews are welcome and dealt with accordingly. It is just sad that the guest did not inform us of any problems or excess noise, as there is a telephone in all our rooms that you can contact reception 24 hours a day. If we... More 

Centurion
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There was broken things in the room like the toilet and the shower and when I complained about it the reception made it out as if I broke it. In general the service was bad and the room was terrible! A

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Alrieke I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience when you stayed at our Guest House. I am however a very disappointed that you did not shared your dissatisfaction during your stay or upon departure. We would have gladly moved you to another room or booked you with another Guest House that... More 

Graaff-reinet, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Clean rooms, good value, will return. Looked for guesthouse in Uitenhage and found this one on internet. Sent email and received reply within few hours. Arranged via phone and found everything as arranged.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Londn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Garden Lodge guest house for business. The staff were friendly and organised and breakfast was served on time and was good value for money. I would recommend the Garden Lodge to professionals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Megan Thank you for the time you took to write the review. It was a absolute pleasure to have you. We strife to provide our guests with the best possible stay, so that you can feel at home, and that you have received value for your money. We serve a standard breakfast with a standard price, but can... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice quiet & homely place away from the hustle/bustle of the big cities. The proximity to most points of interest such as the beaches, national parks and historical monuments is just a few minutes drive. We really enjoyed staying in this place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The rooms were spacious and neat .Lovely showers and toilet facilities. A hearty breakfast was served every morning by a friendly staff member. home away from home. very good service. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uitenhage
22.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
21.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#9 of 32 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
21.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#4 of 11 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#18 of 32 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
19.7 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#21 of 32 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 11 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay