We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Cocles hotels

Le Cameleon Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Le Cameleon Hotel to your Saves list
Le Cameleon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
81%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Timogin43 .
  • Overview
  • Reviews (321)
  • Photos (337)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    69
    28
    15
    17
See reviews for
72
162
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is sincerely not at the right level for the price we have paid. The breakfast is the badest we had in costa rica and very poor of variety. Equipments are very old and dirty, nobody cares or clean the private beach of hotel and the employees are not really kind and welcoming (exept Carlos from the bar was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel were very pleasant and helpful. Everything was as described on their website. The rooms were large and clean. The beds were a bit small and quite hard though. The grounds are well kept including the pool. The hot tub is not heated as is the case with every hotel in Costa Rica that I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Timogin43, Thanks for your comments. I am glad you appreciated our staff and our property. As you mentioned we make a point of being as transparent as possible in our communication. We have rooms with king size beds (junior suites and Suites), In the superior rooms we offer Queen Size beds and our Deluxe offer 2 full size beds.... More

Vienna, Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the cameleon in july, unfortunately the weather wasn't the best at this time, but we the hotel made it completely well again! It's a really beautiful spot that was clearly made with much love. The rooms (and the restaurant) are all in white, and the color of the decoration changes every day, it has a very nice... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Elleama, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am glad you liked our service and surroundings. As for the staff, we are very grateful to have such a good team working with us, indeed, everyday with have people raving about the beauty of Le Caméléon and about our staff. Thanks for staying with us. We are looking... More

Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After recovering from the shock of entering white deep freezers doubling as hotel rooms we were won over by the warmth of the staff. On the second day, with the room temperature adjusted, we experienced the changing colours of Le Cameleon. The base white brightens the rooms which are surrounded by thick tropical foliage and is the backdrop for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Snoshu, It was our pleasure to host you and your familly at Le Caméléon! Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. I will pass on your positive comments to our team. We are really working hard on the details as I am well aware of how it makes our guests' stay memorable, hence the daily changes of... More

Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The area is fantastic with beaches and activities nearby. This was our first time on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica and we loved it! The hotel is modern and well appointed. They have a small beach area which we found to be private and well kept. Beach service as well. We observed many other hotels in the area which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback. As you mentioned, there is a great array of small hotels in the region at a lower price. Some of them are very good while offering a complete different and more rustic experience. It all comes down to the travellers budget, preferences and taste. We offer a unique, upscale and modern... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

When our travel agent told us that our original hotel had double booked us and was now kicking our reservation, I have to admit I was devastated. He told me that they had found a suitable replacement at a newer hotel and at this point I was just glad that we had an alternative for our honeymoon accommodations! When we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Guys, Nice to hear back from you and congratulations again on your honeymoon! We were actually a tinny bit nervous before your arrival as Le Caméléon is completely different from the hotel your travel agent had originally booked. In fact we are quite unique for the region with our slick minimalist design and our daily changes of colours. Nevertheless,... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My new husband and I stayed here for 5 days in May - the first stop on our Honeymoon exploring Costa Rica. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely setting amongst tropical vegetation, not far from the beach. Rooms are clean and cool with air con and fans. The breakfast setting is beautiful, as is the pool setting, with humming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello AJRound, Thank you for the review of our hotel and your kind comments about our grounds, rooms and staff. I will make sure to pass it on at the next staff meeting. we hope to have the opportunity to host you again at the Le Caméléon Frederic Spahr General manager More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Le Cameleon at the end of June with a special package rate and we had a great time! The room was spacious, clean and cool - great a/c. We loved the modern chic decor of the hotel and the color accents that changed each day. The pool area is peaceful and beautiful with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Pura Vida, Thank you so much for your great comments. I am very glad that you have appreciated our facilities, our breakfast and our staff. It means a lot to us, especially coming from a well travelled Senior Contributor from Tripadvisor. We all hope you will pay us another visit soon. Keep checking for discounts on our web page... More

San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I have been at Le Cameleon many times throughout out these years and it seems maintenance is not enough. It is understandable it is in the middle of the jungle but one would expect better upkeep from this luxurious concept. Ramps for handicaps and stroller urgently needed! Still the best hotel in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for coming many times to Le Caméléon and saying that we are the best option in the region. I am so sorry we cannot identify who you are. If you wish, you can send us an email. In fact, we do have a lot of return business who are actually overwhelm by the improvements made on the property. Therefore,... More

Willcox, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Every one was helpful and very nice. The food was great and the breakfast was whatever you wanted to order. Beach club was handy for snacks and drinks when enjoying the beach. Rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. We stayed 5 nights during slow season so the rooms had special prices, with normal rates I think it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Randy, Thanks for your nice comments. La Sula Beach Lounge is really appreciated from our guests and even guests from other hotels. Not too many hotels in the region offer direct access to the beach with waiter service, lounge chairs and day beds. We hope to see you again soon Frederic Spahr General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Cameleon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Cameleon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Hotel

Address: Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Cameleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

337 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (297)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
3:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cocles with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Cameleon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer