We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #111 of 211 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
thedumahs Westville, South Africa
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
8
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Westville, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been at this hotel numerous times and it has yet to disappoint. Close to Sandton City and the M1 into Johannesburg, for those who wish to rush in where angels fear to tread. Usually fully booked for this exact reason. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A colleague and I stayed there on a business trip. The service was slow, bathroom was not clean, in the evening (11pm) the staff from the restaurant next door were extremely noisy. There was no water and all they could offer us was a small bottle of water which we had to collect from reception in the morning - this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are so sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. This level of standard is definitely not acceptable and we will be enquiring further into the matter on your behalf. More 

Travelers are raving about these Greater Johannesburg hotels

Pta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With about 25 hotels in the direct vicinity, this was the best priced option for our needs. It had all the qualities that a 3* rating requires. We received a friendly reception and was given an option to choose a room. We expected to carry our own luggage but was assisted by a friendly porter. We had a late lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you found the hotel staff friendly, efficient, and helpful; found the hotel room clean and food delicious. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed at the Katherine street city lodge and was a bit disappointed. We stayed on the first floor and there were no lifts; and no bellboys to carry suitcases upstairs. Ordered food from restaurant and the calamari was undercooked. Cheesecake was not great at all. It tasted like a pick n pay cheese cake so took one or two bites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Dear Faedah, Thank you for staying with us and we are sincerely sorry that you had an 'average' stay - which is something we never want our guests to experience. Please note however, that as we are not a full service hotel, we do not offer services such as room service and portering. We will certainly consider the other matters... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Limited wifi (1 hour per day); no elevators; no porters to assist with heavy luggage to room on 2nd floor; no room service even though lounge/bar serves food & drink. The only redeeming qualities were clean room; fitness room & friendly restaurant morning manager at breakfast who was very attentive. Only slept here as Maslow was fully booked. Would only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your room, the fitness room and found our morning manager to be attentive and engaging. Please note that as we are not a full service hotel, we don’t offer services such as room service and portering, which would be provided at a full serviced hotel. We are in the process... More 

Harare Province, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I stayed at the City Lodge in December 2014 for the first time and decided i would not go back again. They forgot to pick me upon arrival at the airport despite the prepayment that had been done. On arrival,i was booked into a room that was still being cleaned and had to be re assigned a room,all with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies. We pride ourselves on our "I'm Kind" customer service so we will certainly look into both of these matters. More 

GABORONE
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We are regular visitors to City Lodge Hotels and have stayed at Katherine Street many times over the years. The standards seem to be dropping slightly as one of the rooms booked in advance was not ready with bedding for the sleeper couch. The room supplies in another of the 3 rooms booked were incomplete and housekeeping attended. The swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us – please accept our apologies for the room readiness and the state of the swimming pool. We will certainly look into this on your behalf and for our own edification as we pride ourselves on our high standards. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff. More 

Cape town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

This hotel is well situated to all majore free ways, Sandton City, corporate headquaters etc. Friendly staff, good breakfast. The rooms are what is to be expected at a 3 *** hotel. Well priced and now the hotel of choice when in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy you experienced friendly service from our staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings. It's also pleasing that you found us to be good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The bath grout was falling out into the bath water. The basin outlet was leaking into the waste paper basket. The desk in the room was sticky. The breakfast was not as good as City Lodge Fourways. I found that there was far less cold meats and cheese to choose from for a continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into the matters you have raised as we do strive for consistency across our hotels. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The hotel is centrally located. The staff is very friendly in the restaurant. The room that I stayed in was under ground level and very dark. The carpet in the room was very dirty and I have stayed in a lot better places for the price that we were charged. I liked the fact that there was a fitness room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review. We're glad to hear that you experienced friendly and helpful service from our staff - this is something that we pride ourselves on. We're sorry to hear that your room was not up to standard and we will certainly look into this matter. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay