We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #108 of 211 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015
Faedah Cape Town, South Africa
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
8
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed at the Katherine street city lodge and was a bit disappointed. We stayed on the first floor and there were no lifts; and no bellboys to carry suitcases upstairs. Ordered food from restaurant and the calamari was undercooked. Cheesecake was not great at all. It tasted like a pick n pay cheese cake so took one or two bites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Dear Faedah, Thank you for staying with us and we are sincerely sorry that you had an 'average' stay - which is something we never want our guests to experience. Please note however, that as we are not a full service hotel, we do not offer services such as room service and portering. We will certainly consider the other matters... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Limited wifi (1 hour per day); no elevators; no porters to assist with heavy luggage to room on 2nd floor; no room service even though lounge/bar serves food & drink. The only redeeming qualities were clean room; fitness room & friendly restaurant morning manager at breakfast who was very attentive. Only slept here as Maslow was fully booked. Would only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your room, the fitness room and found our morning manager to be attentive and engaging. Please note that as we are not a full service hotel, we don’t offer services such as room service and portering, which would be provided at a full serviced hotel. We are in the process... More 

Harare Province, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I stayed at the City Lodge in December 2014 for the first time and decided i would not go back again. They forgot to pick me upon arrival at the airport despite the prepayment that had been done. On arrival,i was booked into a room that was still being cleaned and had to be re assigned a room,all with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies. We pride ourselves on our "I'm Kind" customer service so we will certainly look into both of these matters. More 

GABORONE
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
56 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We are regular visitors to City Lodge Hotels and have stayed at Katherine Street many times over the years. The standards seem to be dropping slightly as one of the rooms booked in advance was not ready with bedding for the sleeper couch. The room supplies in another of the 3 rooms booked were incomplete and housekeeping attended. The swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us – please accept our apologies for the room readiness and the state of the swimming pool. We will certainly look into this on your behalf and for our own edification as we pride ourselves on our high standards. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff. More 

Cape town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

This hotel is well situated to all majore free ways, Sandton City, corporate headquaters etc. Friendly staff, good breakfast. The rooms are what is to be expected at a 3 *** hotel. Well priced and now the hotel of choice when in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy you experienced friendly service from our staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings. It's also pleasing that you found us to be good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The bath grout was falling out into the bath water. The basin outlet was leaking into the waste paper basket. The desk in the room was sticky. The breakfast was not as good as City Lodge Fourways. I found that there was far less cold meats and cheese to choose from for a continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into the matters you have raised as we do strive for consistency across our hotels. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The hotel is centrally located. The staff is very friendly in the restaurant. The room that I stayed in was under ground level and very dark. The carpet in the room was very dirty and I have stayed in a lot better places for the price that we were charged. I liked the fact that there was a fitness room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review. We're glad to hear that you experienced friendly and helpful service from our staff - this is something that we pride ourselves on. We're sorry to hear that your room was not up to standard and we will certainly look into this matter. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Katherine Street City Lodge has been a favorite of mine for years. Apart from being out of sight, it is conveniently central for Sandton business trips and is close to Malborough Drive for convenient highway access for North or South travel as well. The hotel itself is smart, neat, clean, quiet with friendly staff and secure off-road parking and good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

We thank you for the great review. We're pleased you find the hotel's location convenient and central, further we're happy to hear that you find the hotel smart and neat - and that you enjoyed friendly interactions with our staff. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel is centrally located with a secured enclosed parking area. The staff is friendly and professional. Hotel services offers dame day laundry services and the entertainment staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

We thank you for the wonderful review. We 're glad you found the hotel's location ideal and secure, further we're happy to hear that you enjoyed friendly and professional service from our staff! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I use this City Lodge when doing business in the Sandton area. Its convenient and very well run. Rooms are clean and service levels are good. They serve good breakfasts, although I find the price for the continental option (my choice) very expensive. Dinner is via room service from a restaurant next door and is OK but not great. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

We thank you for the positive review. We're glad that you find the hotel convenient and were happy with the standard of our rooms. We hope you stay with us again soon. More 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.