We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #116 of 214 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015
LucidDreamer01
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    26
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
8
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

On the whole, the hotel was okay. Good ambience, great breakfast options, choice of smoking / non-smoking rooms and MOST of the staff were pleasant and friendly. However, there were two staff members at the reception the night we checked on who were not so warm and rather unhelpful as we asked for assistance with the wifi connection (which incidentally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us as well as the breakfast offerings. We are, however, sorry to hear about your experience with those two staff members - we will be looking into this. Please note that our wifi is being upgraded to a much better service which will... More 

Westville, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Been at this hotel numerous times and it has yet to disappoint. Close to Sandton City and the M1 into Johannesburg, for those who wish to rush in where angels fear to tread. Usually fully booked for this exact reason. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and your continuous support! We are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

Durban
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

A colleague and I stayed there on a business trip. The service was slow, bathroom was not clean, in the evening (11pm) the staff from the restaurant next door were extremely noisy. There was no water and all they could offer us was a small bottle of water which we had to collect from reception in the morning - this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are so sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. This level of standard is definitely not acceptable and we will be enquiring further into the matter on your behalf. More 

Pta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

With about 25 hotels in the direct vicinity, this was the best priced option for our needs. It had all the qualities that a 3* rating requires. We received a friendly reception and was given an option to choose a room. We expected to carry our own luggage but was assisted by a friendly porter. We had a late lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you found the hotel staff friendly, efficient, and helpful; found the hotel room clean and food delicious. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed at the Katherine street city lodge and was a bit disappointed. We stayed on the first floor and there were no lifts; and no bellboys to carry suitcases upstairs. Ordered food from restaurant and the calamari was undercooked. Cheesecake was not great at all. It tasted like a pick n pay cheese cake so took one or two bites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Dear Faedah, Thank you for staying with us and we are sincerely sorry that you had an 'average' stay - which is something we never want our guests to experience. Please note however, that as we are not a full service hotel, we do not offer services such as room service and portering. We will certainly consider the other matters... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Limited wifi (1 hour per day); no elevators; no porters to assist with heavy luggage to room on 2nd floor; no room service even though lounge/bar serves food & drink. The only redeeming qualities were clean room; fitness room & friendly restaurant morning manager at breakfast who was very attentive. Only slept here as Maslow was fully booked. Would only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your room, the fitness room and found our morning manager to be attentive and engaging. Please note that as we are not a full service hotel, we don’t offer services such as room service and portering, which would be provided at a full serviced hotel. We are in the process... More 

Harare Province, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I stayed at the City Lodge in December 2014 for the first time and decided i would not go back again. They forgot to pick me upon arrival at the airport despite the prepayment that had been done. On arrival,i was booked into a room that was still being cleaned and had to be re assigned a room,all with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies. We pride ourselves on our "I'm Kind" customer service so we will certainly look into both of these matters. More 

GABORONE
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We are regular visitors to City Lodge Hotels and have stayed at Katherine Street many times over the years. The standards seem to be dropping slightly as one of the rooms booked in advance was not ready with bedding for the sleeper couch. The room supplies in another of the 3 rooms booked were incomplete and housekeeping attended. The swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us – please accept our apologies for the room readiness and the state of the swimming pool. We will certainly look into this on your behalf and for our own edification as we pride ourselves on our high standards. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff. More 

Cape town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

This hotel is well situated to all majore free ways, Sandton City, corporate headquaters etc. Friendly staff, good breakfast. The rooms are what is to be expected at a 3 *** hotel. Well priced and now the hotel of choice when in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy you experienced friendly service from our staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings. It's also pleasing that you found us to be good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The bath grout was falling out into the bath water. The basin outlet was leaking into the waste paper basket. The desk in the room was sticky. The breakfast was not as good as City Lodge Fourways. I found that there was far less cold meats and cheese to choose from for a continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into the matters you have raised as we do strive for consistency across our hotels. More 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay