We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cartwright Hotel

3.0 of 5 1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cartwright Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    60
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
133
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just had yet again another delicious lunch at the Cartwright Arms. My family frequent this establishment quite often and are always greeted well by the friendly staff especially Gary, who in my mind should be managing the place as he is brilliant and knows the place better than anyone. Well on this occasion there appears to be a new manager,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigeloddy, Manager at Cartwright Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies Janet that the welcome was not as warm as usual. Johny Richardson is our new manager at The Cartwright and I guess you met him during his first couple of weeks. Believe me, he is a really nice chap, a great chef who worked with us at our Villiers Hotel in Buckingham, and now taking on his first management... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 4 nights on a business trip. Picturesque from outside but freezing in the room. Layout was unique, so we're the little "friends" I had spending the nights with me. Good kitchen surprisingly! Service however poor & need to improve their speech or language skills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigeloddy, Owner at Cartwright Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry your four night stay with us was not to your satisfaction - the room you stayed in is very popular with our regular guests but I'm sure we could have found you an alternative if you had requested one. All the rooms are individually designed conforming to listed building standards. Thank you for the compliments re your dining. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

An old coach house hotel, and we stayed here when we were attending a wedding across the road. We had a room in the main hotel rather than the courtyard, and that worked fine; nice big bathroom, and the room was fine too. We stayed for 2 nights but never ate at the hotel, other than for breakfast, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I stayed here for one night being on a business trip. I was allocated room 8 which is a very big room with a separate sitting area. The room was clean and the décor was ok. What you need to know about this room and the hotel in general: - at an A road which apparently is a short cut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

A voucher for afternoon tea took us to this hotel. The receptionist was also the waitress, bartender, and perhaps even the sandwich maker! Thankfully it was very quiet. It was all rather disjointed. Being offered tea and coffee to be told the coffee machine wasn't working so it was tea for two. Then the champagne was offered and poured to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We were at a family party nearby and booked the Cartwright Hotel because it was so close to the venue. I would never ever stay there again. The room was not luxurious - basic at the best . The distance between the bottom of the bed and the wall made it one at a time past it. We wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I stayed for one night on business. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful from the moment I walked through the door! I was offered help with my luggage by the receptionist even though it was only a small case. The food was fantastic and there was plenty of food on the plate. The rooms were of a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Stayed here overnight for a work event. I was in room 20 in the courtyard which was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable. We had an evening meal and the food was really lovely. Staff were friendly and nice too. Lovely little bar as well. Room was more expensive than I would normally pay, however it did include dinner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We were travelling from Cheltenham to Norfolk on a Sunday and stopped here for a coffee. The place was empty and the staff were setting up for a function or something. But they were very friendly and the coffee was good. We stopped in again on our return journey on the Wednesday evening. It was about 5 pm and again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed for one night on 11 August 2014. We were offered room 9 and told on arrival (after we had given the young receptionist our card details), that the window in the room had to remain closed. After questioning the receptionist, she informed us it was due to the neighbour's dogs. We accepted the room as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nigeloddy, Owner at Cartwright Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - the towel rail is fixed. Room 9 is a very popular room with our regular guests (despite the neighbour's dog - he's a sweetie really) and your £85 rate compares very favourable with the average £130 achieved Bed & Breakfast double rate. The hotel was quiet that night and our mangaer had taken the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay