We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Auberge de Combreux

35, Route Du Gatinais, 45530 Combreux, France
L'Auberge de Combreux
Share an Experience

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had a good value and very tasty meal The effort of the owner to assist us was top notch. The bar area is relaxing and the selection of drinks is wide and at reasonable prices. The bottle of Margaux over dinner was superb This is what I expected a French Auberge to be

Was this review helpful? Yes
Villepot
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A warm welcome from the proprietor awaited us when we arrived at this attractive auberge. We were shown to our room which was across the road and opposite the main building. It was effectively a room in a small cottage in a courtyard garden; which could fairly be described as ‘compact’ and a little on the dark side. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
west berkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the L'Auberge de Combreux for 5 nights in September this year for the first time, a good find, would we be going back YES YES YES, we found the location to be good to explore this area of the Loire, including Fontainbleu. The owners, who i understand has only owned the Auberge for just over 2 years,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
combreux, Propriétaire at L'Auberge de Combreux, responded to this review

Dear customers, Thanks for your generous comments, really appreciated. Hoping to see you again. François More 

crosswell
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our fourth visit to the hotel and we found it has certainly improved from last year, not a difficult step to take. The room was nice and clean and a large bathroom. Our only complaint is the fact that you cannot check in before 4pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
combreux, Propriétaire at L'Auberge de Combreux, responded to this review

Dear customer, It is completely regrettable that you did not ring at the intercom situated in the entrance of the hotel if you arrived before 4 pm, because in that case a person would have opened you the door and accompanied in your room. The next time do not especially hesitate to ring, we are always present. More 

Busselton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We chose to stay here as we arrived to Chateauneuf-sur-Loire on a baking hot Saturday afternoon and lodgings with a pool was our main priority. We were warned at the Tourist Bureau that our room was on the first floor and would be warm but the pool factor outweighed all caution! We arrived to be told that our room wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We arrived late and tired with an 8 month old baby. We were worried about eating in the dining room as we felt that Luca was likely not up to it. We were reassured by the owners who quickly made him smiled and told us that one way or the other, between all the rooms in the hotel, we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent,England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Lovely hotel from outside but rooms need updating , and food was poor and service was indifferent. French people seemed to get better service than foreign travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

When we arrived, there was a sign saying 'under new management' which might explain why our experience differed from that of other reviewers. The location is quite convenient for a drive south, the hotel and rooms are in attractive looking buildings and the pool was a welcome treat after a long day. However, the room was tired and we found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Logis de France mission statement promises that guests will be given a taste of the local environment and this was certainly the case. If you want to know how a local farm labourer lived in the early 19th century then it authentically is here. Not all rooms are in the main building. We had one in what appeared to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Broome, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Our room was small, but adequate, up two steep staircases. However, the hotel is situated in a lovely country village, and has a restaurant to die for! One of the best meals of our six week holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question