We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oyster Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Oyster Island Resort
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    82
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
154
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently returned from our third visit to Oyster Island, whilst our visit was very enjoyable there is really only one comment I would like to make. Management can come and go, but it is the Ni Vanuatu staff that really makes this place shine. They are there smiling every day to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable but without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a 7day visit to Santos. 2 of our days were spent at Oyster bay. Santos has only minimally been affected by Cyclone Pam and now is back to it's full glory! If you want a holiday with out the crowds now is the time to go as unfortunately the press has forgotten to publicise that things are back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sussex Inlet, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently had a 4 day visit on Santo Island & spent the day at Oyster Island Resort. We were the only tourist on the island, only 2 guests staying but away for the day. They treated us like Kings & Queens having full access to the island. They cooked us a fresh fish for lunch to share, unbelievable meal. Come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Fantastic Island Resort - Hello.......again. Great to hear of your day trip experience on Oyster Island. You were especially lucky to arrive the same time as our fisherman bought in some spectacular fresh caught fish, and we were delighted to be able to Bake a whole Red Poulet, wrapped in banana leaves and smothered in Chef Marcels Famous island Coconut... More 

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had such an amazing time here! It was a really beautiful setting and there was lots to do from the waterfall tour to snorkelling in some of the best reefs we've ever seen but what really makes this place is the people! The managers Brett and Sarah are brilliant and always have suggestions on things and places to see.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

So beautiful and so much to do!!! Thank you for your insight into your stay on Oyster Island. And thank you for a special mention of the staff of Oyster Island. They truly are fantastic, and more so when guests like yourselves take an interest in their amazing culture, respect the beauty of Vanuatu, and immerse yourself in the true... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traveled to Santos and stayed 2 nights at this resort. Not damaged by cyclone but suffering because of perception all of Vanuatu was damaged. Location on a small island units within 5 meters of water. Island different beachs to explore, some with reef for snorkeling.. Rooms thatched donga style with ensuite. Screened, comfortable beds, effective shower, clean. Hospitality excellent, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Relaxing island, great service - Thank you for your review of your stay on Oyster Island. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and stoked that you have encouraged more visitors to Vanuatu. It really is the jewel of the pacific. The local Ni-van people are always smiling, always welcoming, and always willing to provide great service to those... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Oyster Island with my husband and children. We had a great time. The bungalow we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The restaurants good was delicious. The best part or our stay was the activities. Brad went out of his way to help us with any requests we had from trips to town, amazing snorkeling right next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Great place to stay. Lots of activities. Thnak you for your patronage to Oyster Island. We are so happy that you choose Oyster Island and more so Vanuatu as your holiday destination, especially post Cyclone Pam (No damage to Espiritu Santo) where unfortunately tourism has taken a hit. Saying that we are excited that we could full fill your expectations... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for some where to stay that is beautiful with options of glorious cool blue holes and warm sandy beaches oyster island is wonderful. You can relax and do nothing or participate in the many activities available. Wake up to the lapping of water and the soft swish of your fan in your bungalow. Staff are extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Natural beauty - Thank you for your review of your stay on Oyster Island. Oyster is the perfect location for a holiday in Vanuatu. Located right near the Blue Hole. A few days exploring Oyster Island itself, with its amazing snorkelling, awesome beaches and our laid back Vanuatu hospitality. You did note that the restaurant is limited, and yes at... More 

Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had a great few days on Oyster just after Easter. We stayed in amore economical Bamboo Bure, clean, comfortable and adequate for our needs, and still on absolute water front. We walked the island, kayaked (no extra charge), snorkelled the beach in front of the reception, a world war one wreck, and a fantastic reef a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OysterIsland, Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

The World On an Oyster, Thank you for your visit to Oyster Island. We also enjoyed your smiling face and enthusiasm in getting to know the local staff, their culture and this amazing part of the world. Ali is always jumping at the chance to put together an Island Night - a great way for our guests to experience some... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a Carnival legend cruise which stopped in Santo for the day 12th April, we had booked to go on the Mt Hope waterfall tour. Unfortunately due to heavy rainfall the night before our tour was cancelled for safety reasons. This was extremely disappointing, but we can't control mother nature. We were greeted at the cruise ship terminal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Day Visit, Thank you and your group for considering Mt Hope Waterfall Tour and Oyster Island as your 'Santo, Vanuatu Experience' whilst visiting for the day on your cruise. Again apologies for the cancellation of the Mt Hope Waterfall Tour, and thank you for your understanding that safety is our priority. What a day, and only a great day with... More 

Rathmines, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

we got dropped off by fishing charter for lunch at Oyster Island and Brad and Sara kindly prepared a yellow fin tuna we caught for our lunch.Done two different ways fresh and un cooked it was so delicious.A big Thankyou to you both we enjoyed our afternoon a lot and the singer was awesome,just wish I had room to sample... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

Great Sunday Afternoon, Thank you for your insight into our Sunday BBQ Buffet. Sunday's at Oyster Island are a sure thing good time, with some awesome live tunes from local musicians, Chef Marcel's amazing buffet including those delicious Slow Cooked Chocolate Santo Beef Ribs (You just have to try these) and the pristine Oyster Island to explore. We are so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

418 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (381)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities