We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
High Street, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1EA, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Swan Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leighton Buzzard
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
14
28
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a large family room for the 4 of us (which aren't easy to find!) everything you needed in room, extra pillows, telly, tea, biscuits etc. really clean and comfortable. The historic photographs around the hotel were a delight. Lovely evening meal and breakfast all reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were above the kitchens which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cleethorpes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights and as previous reviews, yes the room was quiet small but as we were only sleeping in it it wasn't a big issue. The room was clean which is the main thing. The food in the bar/restaurant was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. When we arrived we were given a twin room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 9 rooms at this hotel in February for 26th July for a family 60th Birthday celebration. I called in and phoned several times as I was offered 10% discount for a large booking. Every time I asked about this I was told a manager would get back to me, no one ever did. Eventually I booked another hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our room was unfortunately at the front of the hotel. It was a warm night and we had to have the windows open as there was no air conditioning. The noise was due to a combination of late night revelers and clients drinking outside, noisy taxi rank with taxis running their engines, and finally a market being erected very early... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in a tiny room which was so hot it was practically impossible to sleep and the bathroom was even hotter. The air con unit didn't work and also sounded like a jumbo jet was landing in the room. Our friends who stayed just off the courtyard were woken at 2am to the sound of furniture being dragged around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This has to be the hottest room I've ever stayed in. We were on the 3 rd floor and the room was tiny. There was a very noisy air con unit but there was no way you could sleep with it on so had to settle for the fan. The electric also kept tripping when we boiled the kettle. Thankfully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apolgise for the heat. We will continue to improve our air con units. More

Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Staff were very welcoming. Room overlooking town was comfortable and roomy. Thought the price very reasonable at £70+; breakfast rates also reasonable. Despite the bar being packed we did not hear any noise. Negatives - only one chair in a room for two. No TV remote (could have asked no doubt, but we arrived late and by the time we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I will get someone to look into the sink. If you chose to stay with us again please request an extra chair in your room, it isn't a problem. We hope to see you soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hottest room i've ever stayed in. Small rooms, tiny windows Amazed that breakfast is not included at what is high room rate. Maybe they should start including it to mitigate against lack of staff/price/effort to get in and get any service. Only hotel in town. and it shows

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the heat, we are currently having air con units installed at this present time. If you decide to stay with us again please request a room with an air con unit. More

Merseyside UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here with my partner, but he was out working each day. Quick & friendly check in, the room we had was lovely, right on the High street, which is what i had requested when i booked. Nice big bed, large screen tv & complimentary biscuits and water. The Location could not be better for shopping, Street market on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at this still quite newly refurbished hotel on a Sunday night while visiting family locally. The room rate on a Sunday night is £45 as opposed to £75 on other nights of the week, so that was an attraction in booking. The room was fine; a bit small but perfectly adequate for our purposes and the brief time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do not have a plant room but will look into what the noise was that was occuring. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: High Street, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
JD Wetherspoon have restored this georgian building back to its former glory.The hotel has 39 rooms with singles, twins, doubles, family rooms and 2 fully equipped disabled rooms with parking spaces, we are also able to provide family suites sleeping up to 6 people. 24 hour manned reception, complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water in all rooms.Cots available upon request.Discount for group bookings are available.We work in partnership with Mentmore Golf and Country Club to provide you with excellant stay and play rates.Bar and Restaurant open from 7am daily.Room service available from 7am to 9.45pm.Selection of soft drinks, crisps, Nuts and confectionary available at reception when bar is closed (chargeable).We do not have on site parking but there is a large pay and display car park to the rear of the property.We have 2 disabled equipped rooms with full wet room facilities and plenty of room to get around, these 2 rooms when booked come with a parking space right outside the door.For you real ale guru's you will be pleased to hear we are In the Good Beer Guide 2013 and Cask Marque accredited, we always have a great selection of ales available.We also have a lovely courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer