We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swan Hotel

High Street, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1EA, England
Hotel amenities
Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
CJ1602
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    20
    15
    7
See reviews for
17
33
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was small but adequate, clean with a good comfy bed, couldn't hear any noise from the pub below during the evening but I was woken just after 5 when what sounded like the kitchen staff working! Great value evening meal and breakfast, steak was cooked perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future. If you do stay with us again and have any concerns, please feel free to contact the night manager who can deal with any... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

No problem with the room itself - though small. However there was a loud fan or compressor running all night somewhere below the room which made it impossible to sleep. At 4.30 a.m. I gave up and checked out. A waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. I’m so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Did you raise your concerns with anyone at the time? The reception is manned 24 hours a day and the Night Manager is always happy to help with any queries. There may have been a... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

The rooms G02 and G03 were booked my elderly Father and I recently and, (where do I begin?!) G02 was dark (with a missing light over the 'wardrobe') The 'wardrobe had one low rail which was not suitable for hanging clothes. The window had to be plugged with toilet paper to stop it swinging. Go2 has a spy hole and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We aim to provide all of our guests with a pleasant, comfortable, and enjoyable stay, and I’m so sorry to hear that we failed to provide that for you on this occasion – this would be the reason that you were given a full refund on one... More 

Mtwara, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Not the best hotel to find (is a stranger) as it is on the High Street and this street has certain restrictions on different days. A payable car park is near the rear of the hotel, it is cheap and free from 18:00 to 08:00 hrs.,also free all day Sunday. The hotel is an old building that needs a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, we do appreciate it. You are correct, the building that the hotel is housed in is a grade II listed building, which we hope adds to the character and appeal of the Swan Hotel. This does mean that we are limited on the amendments that we can... More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

we have stayed in this hotel before and it was a lovely comfortable room ,but this time was different ,the carpet was dirty and not hoovered and the bathroom was a bit dirty to ,but at 6 am the smoke alarms went of ,it was right above our heads .also the room we had was right next to reception and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. I am so sorry that on this occassion your stay did not meet your expectations. We aim to give all of our guests a pleasant and comfortable experience when staying with us, and hopefully that is what you have received when you have stayed with us previously.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

It's ok but would only stay there if I really had to. I had a function to attend so had to. Door closes at midnight but 'the night manager carries the phone around with her so will let you in when you call'. Her phone must have been on silent the night we were calling..... It's the only place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. I am sorry that on this occassion your experience did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide all of our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and I apologise if your stay fell short of this on this occassion. Please rest assured that your comments will... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay here. The hotel staff on reception and in the pub (Weatherspoons) below were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived about 9.30pm and were booked straight into the room by a very helpful young lady on reception. The room was at the front of the hotel and we could hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We are glad to hear that you had a mostly positive stay with us. Sorry that some of the aspects of your stay were slightly disappointing, your comments will cerainly be taken on board and measures put into place where possible to ensure that we provide the best... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The building is fabulous and the welcome by the staff was exceptional. My wife and I were carrying our luggage and that of my 86 yr old mother. A member of staff came and took some luggage as soon as we entered. He showed my mother and wife to the lift and then I joined him at reception. He arranged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel staff made you feel so welcome, that is certainly what we aim to do! We are also sorry to hear that on this occassion the pub did not meet with your... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Trying to find accommodation for late November back in my old home town, I decided to stay in about the most historical building in the town. Room 208 was very comfortable- I'd booked for a single room but got a double. Very clean, including the en-suite. Interesting view through window towards countryside. Being on 2nd floor, along the side, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. Thanks again! More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel last week. Really nice beds and big rooms with quality Linen. I stayed in a double room and good value at £62 a night. Its a Wetherspoons pub downstairs but one of the more characterful ones I have been in. Had breakfast which was also good value. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question