We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Manapouri B&Bs / inns

Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn to your Saves list
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 6 Manapouri B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014
28flcom Frankfurt, Germany
  • Overview
  • Reviews (80)
  • Photos (55)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lonely Planet recommended this place and so we booked the budget accommodation. We were really happy with it. The staff was really friendly. The wi-fi was broken at the time (a lightning strike) and after it was repaired we got some vouchers for free which was really kind. Also, they helped us out with some milk and bread because we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pohara, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed 2 nights but could have stayed a week The staff were awesome with suggested itinerary Restaurant and bar next door and the best view from my room on my south island trp Chose cheaper room great

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We arrived at Manapouri Motor Inn after a hectic few days .Perfect place to wind down as there is nothing to do.The walk along the beach was the highlight of our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The motel is a little tired but very clean. The views are magnificent. We had dinner in the pub next door,which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed for three nights and it was the worst accommodation of our South Island trip. The rooms are starting to show their age and are in need of some refurbishment. On the day we arrived, we were asked by the Receptionist what time would be in for breakfast next morning. We responded that we would be in at 9am each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The motel is a bit old and tired but the friendly staff made it a great place to stay, rooms were okay, the bed were comfortable enough and breakfast was good. The Welsh receptionist was lovely, a real people person.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night at this motel. We received a very warm welcome which was much appreciated after the long drive. We stayed in room 116 which had a lovely view of the lake. The room was spotless and comfortable with plenty of tea / coffee and space to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Two couples shared the "Holiday House" while we visited Fiordland. While the decor was a little dated it was beautifully maintained, very clean, and we could have literally lived there for a week without needing anything extra. The views are fantastic, and although one overlooks a main road, it was very quiet after dark. We would happily return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from a night's stay at Manapouri Lakeside Motel. We loved it. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The room was clean, and the views were to die for! The decore was very 60's but we loved it. Everything worked well, and we had a sense that nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the retaurant in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review out hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Inger More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I traveled 10 days around the South Island with my husband and this was the worst motel we stayed in. First of all, we arrived there at 2:15 pm and although check in was at 2:00 pm, the receptionist asked us to wait an hour for our room to be ready. After an hour, the housekeepers were still in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review out hotel. I do not believe that you have the right motel. We have had no water problems recently as for check in our policy is that if you arrive and your room isn't ready we will move you to another if at all possible. In this case it would... More

14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room which is situated above the basic rooms. Room was bog standard, new bathroom but cheaply finished, weak shower with cold to warm water only. The attached restaurant a big disappointment, ordered whitebait and received an omelette with some fish in, couldn't taste the whitebait! Location excellent as overlooks the lake and near to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet with your expectations. We have checked the water pressure and temperature in the rooms that you describe, but have found no evidence of said problems. It always helps if you can give a specific room number to reception so that we can get the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (40)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Room/suite (12)
Bathroom (2)
View from room (2)
Dining (6)
Pool/beach area (2)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (16)
Pool/beach area (2)
Room/suite (1)
View from room (2)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Manapouri with
any amenities


Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer