We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location! Awesome view! Clean, but old. Poor water pressure, but eventually had a shower. Included fridge which is nice when travelling. Easy check in even as we got in late, we had let them know, and picked up the key from the restaurant. Didn't eat there but it is nice to have that option. Easy parking.

Helpful?
Thank Texsmom
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The view is the only thing that saved this place. The food order took more than an hour to arrive. I ordered the fish of the day and it was raw in parts and unedible as was my daughter's vegetarian stir fry. Unfortunately there is limited dining choices in Manapouri

Helpful?
Thank Familyof4fromPerth

Travelers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This budget motel is well situated on lake Manapouri in the South Island if NZ. Although not five star, it is clean and well maintained. And the welcome from the staff was exceptional. So what the facility may lack in features is more than adequately compensated by its location and by the staff. Manapouri is somewhat out of the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug J
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good to find a neat and tidy place to stay after a day on the road, separate room for the kids. very nice. Laundry facilities, playground for the kids, alpacas out the back, beautiful vies of the lake out the front. We will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Robin H
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An average place but is a good budget option with a variety of rooms. Nothing spectacular but acceptable. Guests have access to kitchen and laundry facilities, which we used. Again not outstanding, but the fact that they were available was nice. The options for dining out are very limited in town as well as lack of supermarkets. Thus you better... More 

Helpful?
Thank PPerth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were directed to the back of the property where our motel rooms were located. The rooms were dreadful, very dated, very dark and musty with minimum views - which was not reflective of what we saw online when we booked. Jess from the front office responded to my complaint immediately and offered our family a 3 bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were so pleased we chose to come to Manapouri and stay at the Lakeview. Our room was 102, one of two joined front units, and was recently refurbished as well as having a stunning view of the lake.It was well laid out and supplied. Only the front units have been refurbished if you are making a booking. A restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank walnuts143
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the motel units at the front, with a great lakeside view. Staff are friendly and helpful. Very good value for money, clean and tidy, big comfy bed! The attached restaurant did a good breakfast. Convenient location for trips to Doubtful sound, as the boat leaves from just up the road, also only 20mins from Te... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncancan
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Inger More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed a night enroute from Queenstown to Invercargill. We were largely disappointed with the accommodation though the natural beauty of the area was wonderful. The rooms are in tiered rows. We were on the lowest/front tier and had good though not spectacular views. Rooms are quite tired though were clean. We felt expensive for the quality of the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We stayed here recently so hubby could fish the nearby Waiau River. We specifically booked an upstairs room which gave us a wonderful view of Lake Manapouri and the mountains. Not many guests staying at the time, so it was nice and quiet. The room was very clean with the basic facilities. Tea/coffee making only, no microwave which would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hottees
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. It is always good to get feed back. We do not have microwave's in our units as the facilities are not suitable for having cooking in the room. There is a basic communal kitchen nearby for guest use with ovens and microwaves, plates etc. I am disappointed to hear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
10.9 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
10.7 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Possum Lodge
Possum Lodge
#22 of 25 in Fiordland National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay