We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punatsangchhu Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
Zamtopang, Wangdue 00975, Bhutan
Hotel amenities
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wangdue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Neil R London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    88
    39
    9
    1
See reviews for
26
57
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
821 reviews 821 reviews
73 hotel reviews
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The cottages were spacious and clean, if a little more basic than I experienced elsewhere in Bhutan. The food was reasonable - nothing to commend or complain about. This place was blissfully quiet overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Punakha in the first week of April 2015 and found the town beautiful.To top it our cottage at punatshangchhu was at the river bank and was beautiful .The staff was very cordial.The owner and the manager (Tippy) was a wonderful dynamic lady who went out of her way to make our stay at the cottage memorable .She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at Punatsangchhu Cottages around lunch time from Thimpu. The entrance to the property looked deceiving, but once you take the last turn you will see the resort and that was our first high! We were quickly allotted our rooms 103 & 104 which is in the block just below the reception. Our rooms faced the Puna river and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear rpunwani, Kuzu-zangpo and Greetings from Puna Cottages ,Wangduephodrang,Bhutan. Thank you for taking time to review our resort and for your kind words .Its such a pleasure to have met you and your friends.The time spent interacting and being able to provide the service has been achieved as i can see that you had a great time at the property... More 

Dharamsala, India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A bit far from Punakha but a good place to stay if you have a cab with you. It's right on the bank of river Puna. Most of the rooms have a river view. But insist for the river side large room. The owner lady is very amicable and directly involves in the hospitality. Also teaches yoga in the mornings.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Taotzu, Its always nice to know that you had a wonderful stay at the resort and the rooms suited to your expectations. Thank-you so very much for recommending the property .The assistant manager and his team have introduced the PUNA FAMILY ACTIVITIES which comprises of FREE cooking classes and yoga classes .Please contact the reception for details . We... More 

Milan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice accomodation but lower quality compared to the others we had in Bhutan. Room was small, with separate beds, some issues with lights. A little bit windy, but with a nice view on the valley and on river. Bathroom huge and in general very clean. What we really loved, was the dinner. Various bhutanese food, very high quality, i.e. meat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, Manager at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Diego Z, Thanks for reviewing our property and for being apart of the dinning experience .We are adapting and learning as we move along .The themed nights is apart of our change that we are bringing about and its heartening to know that we were able to meet the expectation and you were able to enjoy your meal .As... More 

Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looks can be deceiving. From the road leading down this looks a little run down but the views of the river and the hospitality of the manager makes this one of the better places to stay at. Do not believe the rubbish written about the lack of facilities for the drivers and guides as that is simply not true. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Ian_aus 61 , Greetings from Punacottages ,Wangduephodrang ,Bhutan. Its always such a pleasure to hear about the team effort of the staffs and the manager that has been felt by you during your stay the resort .Thank-you for being a part of the puna cottages . More 

Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

On our first night in Punakha, we ended up here due to a miscommunication by our tour operator. My family's first reaction upon seeing the rooms was to turn around and find another hotel (which we did for subsequent nights). This place is the most basic, slapped together hotel we experienced in all of Bhutan. If you're backpacking or looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Punacottages, General Manager at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear TOwordtraveller Thank-you for your feedback and review. I am extremely sorry to hear that you and your family were not happy with our services and accommodation that was provided to you . In response to your discontentment about the rooms,kindly note that your booking was made for a standard category by your travel agent .If you choose for better... More 

Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
76 hotel reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Stayed here three nights during our tour of Bhutan. Staff were accommodating and friendly. The food was acceptable. We had hoped for more Bhutanese style food, but found the menu slanted to the Asian travelers, especially a considerable amount of Chinese options. Our room overlooking the river was clean and spacious. Wifi was not particularly good, which I blame on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, General Manager at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Gpotvin, Greetings from Puna cottgaes and its team at Zamtopang ,Wangduephodrang. Glad to know that your three nights at Puna cottages was a good experience .We do have a good team and they have been trained to ensure that guest services remains their priority. Regarding the food menu -we do make Bhutanese food and one item in our buffet... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The hotel boasts a dining restaurant on its premises and picturesque scenery on the grounds of the hotel. Food was usual, buffet style but the service was excellent. Somehow we seemed to notice where are all the guides and drivers when is near meal times. Do they have a proper place to dine/sleep especially after long hours of travelling on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, Manager at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Wanderf00 Greetings from Puna Cottages ,Wangduephodrang. We appreciate you taking time to post a review and commending the staffs for their excellent service .Its guest reviews like this that keep them motivated and strive to work harder in order to meet the guest expectations. Thank-you for staying with us and being apart of the Puna Cottage . Regarding the... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

The cottage we stayed in was spotless clean as were the grounds and other common areas. The staff could not do enough to make our stay perfect. I had some diet restrictions and they graciously accommodated them. They have 5 different breakfast menus and all very adequate when you get one with eggs, toast, fabulous oatmeal, fruit. The dinners were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punacottages, General Manager at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review

Dear 51chip 3, Greetings from Puna Cottages ,Wangduephodrang. Thank-you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you and letting you experience the Bhutanese hospitality in our corner of our world .I am glad to hear that the FNB staff we dedicated and cautious enough to take care of your diet restrictions . Regarding the guide and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question