We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    22
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
113
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
New Jersey, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at Popa Paradise, the staff are very attentive and friendly and made us feel right at home. Ziggy, the manager was so warm and ingratiating. On arrival we had one small mishap where a pipe outside our room broke forcing the water to be turned off. However this was fixed fast and proffesionally while we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A thirty minute boat ride on the Caribbean from shore to Popa Paradise is paradise mixed with magical! We were met with a drink in a coconut with a staff eager to learn about any special requests. Then, an incredible “casita”, little house, in the middle of the jungle with the Caribbean Sea either right outside your door or off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

After spending a couple of days in Panama City, my wife and I flew to Bocas Town where were were promptly picked up at the airport, taken to a water taxi and then a scenic 40 minute ride to the island. We were initially greeted by Ziggy and given the of the land and shown to our Casita. Our Casita... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We had a wonderful time at Popa but as other reviews show, it is a matter of expectations. We went with several friends and all of us felt when we left that we had a lovely time and greatly appreciated the wonderful customer service by Omar, Silas, Ziggy, Trottman, and Brendan. It is an eco-resort, run on propane, rain water... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ziggy F, Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your insightful review! We have many exciting improvements planned for the resort, one of which is a dedicated activities co ordinator. We are so happy your group had a wonderful time, we certainly enjoyed having you all here and hope that you consider visiting us again! More 

Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

This trip was exactly what we were looking for. All transfers from the airport went off without a hitch. We found the arranged taxi transfer to the Albrook airport very easily and the boat transfer to the island ran smoothly. I really do not know what other people have complained about regarding the boat transfer. It is safe and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ziggy F, Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

I cannot thank you enough for your kind words and amazing review. We are all so happy that we were able to help make your vacation a memorable experience and that you truly got to enjoy the resort and appreciate all its natural beauty. More 

Spain
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I read many of the Tripadvisor reviews prior to booking and was a bit puzzled because of the huge mix of very good and very bad reviews. Well: our experience was just great. Pickup by Omar at the airport went smooth (despite our delay in getting in) and we got a lot of information during the trip. Our friends arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ziggy F, Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much of your great and insightful review More 

Memphis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Popa Paradise should not be thought of as the Four Seasons Panama. If the traveler knows what to expect, they will be very pleased with the hotel. It is not, however, a five-star luxury resort. It is a very comfortable eco-resort. Except for a neighboring small native village, the hotel is the only facility on the island. As such the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
vroes, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks you for your thoughtful review and suggestions. We have restarted restocking the mini-fridges on a daily basis - this was previously the norm, but somehow it was missed during your stay. Regarding an activities assistant / guide, this is something we have wanted to do for quite awhile, and will put in place for our next high season. In... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Wonderful staff, and delightful guests, but cheap linens, bedding, furniture combined with barely adequate meals makes this the worst all-inclusive beach resort ever. Do not get fooled by the pretty pictures, everyone was scratching away at their various bug bites.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Ziggy F, Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

You will find most Caribbean islands are affected with sandflys and even though we fumigate regularly we advise guests to use an oil that we provide for free to protect themselves while at the pool and beach. All guests that heed our advice do not experience bites, some guests arrive use nothing and still do not get bitten, it is... More 

Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Food, beverages and services are good but the resort itself is outdated, also the casita's and the suites. The staf helped as much as they coupe but thee have not the possibilities to do more. Therefor we would not recommand this resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
vroes, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay at Popa did not live up to your expectations. It is encouraging that you felt our food, beverages and service were good, despite your overall unsatisfactory rating. I would take issue with the characterization of "outdated" - the hotel has only been open for six years, and we have invested a huge amount of... More 

Modesto, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed at the resort from February 15-18 in the honeymoon suite (#10). We really enjoyed the resort and LOVED the food. Staff was very friendly and were constantly checking on us to see if we needed anything. We loved this place. It rained the first day and then we had sun the last 3 days. Ziggy was very accommodating... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ziggy F, Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great and in depth review! Those dreaded sand fleas have their days numbered. We have been in touch with an American company who provide an organic sand flea eradication programme, we are currently in negotiations with bringing them out to Popa Paradise. Most guests do not realize they are getting bitten because they are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

401 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (372)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (66)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities