We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shalom Guest House

Shaolem guest house no 589 | Small Vagator Beach, Vagator 403509, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagator
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Shalom Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    11
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed here during a friend's wedding in Feb. The room was reserved for 3 days by our friends and we were informed that we have the room available until Sunday. On Saturday, the owner (land lady) wakes us up early in the morning asking us to check out claiming that the room was reserved only till Saturday and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Walked to this hotel while looking for a budget accommodation for a goa blog for short stay. The guest house is not very far and looked more like an extended house and less like a guest house. owner seemed ok and will be able to tell you places near by for shopping and eating. The place is amidst green surrounding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Shalom is set in lovely gardens walking distance from little vagitor. Our room was clean and well kept. The couple who own the place are polite and approachable. There is some noise at night from the bar behind the hotel but it wasn't enough to bother you and I think this is the case anywhere in this part of goa.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I stayed here a month back with a friend, where we made reservations for 3 days that ended on a Sunday. Randomly on a Saturday morning the land lady wakes us up (early morning) asks us to leave because she has an opportunity to book another family for the entire weekend...that is getting her more business. I failed to understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Juliandrew, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this review

Firstly, you were a walk in customer. You had not made a booking in advance. Secondly, you were also undecided as to how many nights you would like to stay and on inquiring with you on the 2nd night that if you are not interested in continuing, we would be free to do fresh booking for new customers, to this,... More 

new york, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

i booked a stay here on airbnb with craig, and he instantly took my money. a few days later he texted me back informing me the room wasn't available but by that time i was already on the island for nye with very few options left. since then it has taken a month for him to refund me and i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We had a wonderful week here in one of the cleanest rooms in India! There was also wifi in room which was a plus. We paid 1500rps/night for an air conditioned room with a fridge and fan. We stayed on the left side. The owners were very nice and helped a lot with random little things. They even cleaned the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I've done a lot of backpacking and travel in india and the far east. This place is great. The rooms are clean and are not over priced. The staff is nice and the place is peaceful. It can get noisy if there is a party on the beach but it's like that everywhere in the area. I stayed in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

the shalom is right place to stay if your are passing through or stay for a few weeks it is right next to some of the beast restraints and bars in vagador the location of the of the trance bar is very convenient if you are keen for a drink or to would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great place if you like trance music. The music starts thumping loudly and ends at 10pm. Not much about this place I liked. There was a fridge but I didn't open it. The air con started acting funny and someone showed up to repair pretty fast. The room was small with a bunch of furniture crammed in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I came to know abt shalom through word of mouth.. that in itself speaks volumes about the place.. located in small vagator. . I must say I was surprised with what I got. During the peak season of Mid December we got to stay at a very affordable rate.. When you enter the place a beautiful lawn welcomes you. .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagator
0.7 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#1 of 6 in Vagator
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 12 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ozran Heights Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Vagator
Casa Vagator
#2 of 6 in Vagator
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leoney Resort
Leoney Resort
#3 of 6 in Vagator
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Bliss Resort
Ocean Bliss Resort
#5 of 12 in Vagator
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities