We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villas Ecotucan

km 27.3 carretera 307 Chetumal-Cancun | 5 Km Al Norte de Bacalar, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villas Ecotucan
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

We stayed here with our 2 sons in October. The weather was horrible during our stay, lots or rain. We were lucky enough to get into the only semi-dry cabana. Everyone else got rained in. The cabanas are pretty rustic and lack charm. Overall the place was clean but is in definite need for extra Love. With such a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank julieannelemire
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

Enter Villas Ecotucan: Cute bungalows with private toilet and shower and mosquito nets over the bed. Good breakfast - omlette, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee 3 friendly dogs on site 💜 Friendly staff Kayaks on site Tours on site Free wifi in the lobby Plenty of books to read if you get bored Wheelbarrow to help you carry your luggage to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lidia C
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Dears Ecotucan, I am Marta, the other accompanies to Luis during this trip. We are really glad you are looking for improvements and we are really appreciated that for future visitors the accommodation will be in better conditions. We really understand what is ECO and we are really offended that you promptly say we don't understand the concept and also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Msteelworks
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

This is not an eco hotel, it is a camping with and Eco hotel price, very disappointing. There is no electricity system enough to use some devices, charging your cameras or telephones, no restaurant, the breakfast is so poor, some no taste fruits and a sweet bread with mermelade... No juices, no coffe, and a poor selection of teas, regular... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis S
ecotucan, Socio at Villas Ecotucan, responded to this review

Hola Luis, It is very disappointing to receive a comment like this and we are sorry if you didn’t feel comfortable at Ecotucan. We do appreciate your constructive comments about our pier area and the deck chairs, we will change things there. Other things you mentioned we have to react because they are just assumed by you. It seems you... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Some really good things and really not very good things about this place. The good things are excellent and the bad things are easily fixed, so I hope they do fix them otherwise it's a real shame. The location is excellent if you're looking for a quiet, ecological place right by the water. The lake is gorgeous. You can use... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

After having stayed at the Cabañas Eco Románticas this place was a welcome retreat in terms of price and friendliness. The cabins are rustic, there are no ceiling fans or AC so expect mugginess and bugs! However, the place is very ecologically conscious (hence they use solar power and not a generator to avoid noise pollution in the beautiful area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosalindal1
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

We spent just one night here and I would like to list some pro´s & con´s: Pro´s: - Nice & clean cambanas with 2 big bed´s equipped with mosquito nets (A MUST) - If you like jungle feeling - here you are right Con´s: - Damaged deckchairs on the lake (Please remove them - it´s dangerous!) - Only 12V socket... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

My wife and I just enjoyed a very pleasant weekend at Ecotoucan. We enjoyed the beauty of La Laguna de Seis Colores, the glorious star filled night skies, the trail through the jungle, the comfort of the cabanas and the hospitality of the friendly and courteous owners. We did not have time to take advantage of them, but there are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLivingstone
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Traveling through Yucatan, this was our last stop. We stayed in many hotels with different levels of comfort. To be honest, if you like 5 star decadence don't come here, but if you're a traveller and are interested in all aspects of culture and nature, don't miss this one. We stayed for one night and Jacqueline took us on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank CsrCoach
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Fantastic location in the middle of the jungle : you are waken up buy the sounds of the animals ! Breakfast with delicious fresh fruit and Mayan omelette : it is a must ! The discovery of the mangrove of the Bacalar Laguna in kayak with Gunnar was unforgettable ! Do not hesitate to take the plat du jour made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Broulovi
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 9 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecocamping Yaxche
Ecocamping Yaxche
#14 of 28 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
0.0 mi away
Casa Lahar
Casa Lahar
#9 of 28 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay