We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Doluwa accommodations

Ellerton Bungalow

Save Saved
You added Ellerton Bungalow to your Saves list
New Gurukele, Doluwa 299045, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (183)
  • Photos (75)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Ellerton Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doluwa
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful place. A warm welcome from the owner, Richard, the receptionist and even Ben the Black Labrador. Amazing setting in the hills with fantastic view down the valley. The decor of the two main houses and the garden rooms are perfect. Really good food, menu is limited but the chef will accommodate, no bar but all wine and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the first place we stayed in when we got to Sri Lanka, for the first 2 nights of our Honeymoon - what a treat! Such an amazing hotel to stay in. The views were simply stunning, the staff were extremely friendly and relaxed and the food was out of this world! Would DEFINATELY go back to Kandy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EllertonBungalow, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow, responded to this review

We are lighted that you so enjoyed your stay at Ellerton. The last 3 km of road up to Ellerton has been a problem, as others have commented. We have gone to every level of local government; the roads authority, and even offered to repair the road ourselves, although we are a relatively small user. However, the good news is... More

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

WOW!!! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. Excellent food, service and setting. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the peace and quiet and amazing hospitality. Beautiful setting high up in the hillside, enjoyed the sunshine and the fireflies lighting up the dark skies during dinner. If you want to lose yourself and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Modiin Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I chose Ellerton Bungalow based on the reviews I read on the TripAdvisor website, even though my travel agent had suggested another hotel in the area. I selected the hotel precisely because it is small, has excellent service and food, and is set in the midst of a green environment. We spent two nights at the bungalow - were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Badminton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

OK it is a bit of a hike from Kandy but we'll worth it. A perfectly maintained colonial environment with comfortable rooms, excellent food and friendly service. Complaints about insects and choice of menu really miss the point. The choice of menu (with only 6 rooms remember) was fine and hey you're in a tropical jungle! Enjoy! A lovely place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Location: Set in pretty scenery on top of hills looking down valley and over to mountains about 30 mins drive from Kandy Property: A traditional colonial bungalow done in quite an old fashioned homely style with big sofas and nice terrace but odd addition of a few modern bits including concrete bathroom settings Service: The Sri Lanka staff were welcoming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were booked into this hotel for 3 nights however sadly we left after the first night, primarily because our bedroom was crawling with insects and due to the fact that the mosquito net had holes/ gaps in it where it had been cut around the headboard, the insects got into the bed leading to an unpleasant, restless night. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EllertonBungalow, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow, responded to this review

Clearly we are unhappy if any guests leave Ellerton feeling that their stay has not been perfect. However, it is frustrating for us when many of these complaints are due to poor communication between a travel agent and their guest. The simple fact is that when a guest is booked through a travel agent, we typically have absolutely no contact... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in Ellerton for three nights in March. The staff worked hard to make us comfortable and although the variety of food on offer was not great, my husband enjoyed the opportunity to taste European style food after four weeks of curries! The views are beautiful and, if you can enjoy lazing by the pool, there can be few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EllertonBungalow, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Ellerton as much as most of our guests do..However, to respond to the issues you raise: I agree with you that we do not give guests a huge choice for dinner, but that is in keeping with our concept of having guests to stay at Ellerton as if they... More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

For anyone visiting the historic city of Kandy it is worth travelling the few extra kilometres on narrow, potholed roads, to the fabulous Ellerton Bungalow boutique hotel. Ellerton is a family home and guests are invited, within reason, to make it their own home, even taking Ben the Labrador for walks around the the mountain, jungle trails where monkeys rake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Ellerton for the first two nights of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. Both my husband and I loved it here and were sorry we weren't staying for more than two nights! The staff were so friendly and accommodation and immediately made us feel very welcome. We ate all our meals there and all were wonderful and tasty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ellerton Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ellerton Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerton Bungalow

Address: New Gurukele, Doluwa 299045, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Doluwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Ellerton Bungalow Hotel Doluwa
Ellerton Bungalow Sri Lanka/Doluwa

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ellerton is a fine old tea-estate bungalow where our aim is to give you the feeling you are staying in a friend's house and not a hotel. We deliberately lack many of the features associated with hotels but these are more than compensated for by a genuinely relaxed and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ellerton Bungalow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer