We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Doluwa accommodations

Ellerton Bungalow

New Gurukele, Doluwa 299045, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (179)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (61)
  • Location
  • More
Ellerton Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doluwa
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modiin Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I chose Ellerton Bungalow based on the reviews I read on the TripAdvisor website, even though my travel agent had suggested another hotel in the area. I selected the hotel precisely because it is small, has excellent service and food, and is set in the midst of a green environment. We spent two nights at the bungalow - were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Badminton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

OK it is a bit of a hike from Kandy but we'll worth it. A perfectly maintained colonial environment with comfortable rooms, excellent food and friendly service. Complaints about insects and choice of menu really miss the point. The choice of menu (with only 6 rooms remember) was fine and hey you're in a tropical jungle! Enjoy! A lovely place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Location: Set in pretty scenery on top of hills looking down valley and over to mountains about 30 mins drive from Kandy Property: A traditional colonial bungalow done in quite an old fashioned homely style with big sofas and nice terrace but odd addition of a few modern bits including concrete bathroom settings Service: The Sri Lanka staff were welcoming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were booked into this hotel for 3 nights however sadly we left after the first night, primarily because our bedroom was crawling with insects and due to the fact that the mosquito net had holes/ gaps in it where it had been cut around the headboard, the insects got into the bed leading to an unpleasant, restless night. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EllertonBungalow, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow, responded to this review

Clearly we are unhappy if any guests leave Ellerton feeling that their stay has not been perfect. However, it is frustrating for us when many of these complaints are due to poor communication between a travel agent and their guest. The simple fact is that when a guest is booked through a travel agent, we typically have absolutely no contact... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in Ellerton for three nights in March. The staff worked hard to make us comfortable and although the variety of food on offer was not great, my husband enjoyed the opportunity to taste European style food after four weeks of curries! The views are beautiful and, if you can enjoy lazing by the pool, there can be few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EllertonBungalow, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Ellerton as much as most of our guests do..However, to respond to the issues you raise: I agree with you that we do not give guests a huge choice for dinner, but that is in keeping with our concept of having guests to stay at Ellerton as if they... More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

For anyone visiting the historic city of Kandy it is worth travelling the few extra kilometres on narrow, potholed roads, to the fabulous Ellerton Bungalow boutique hotel. Ellerton is a family home and guests are invited, within reason, to make it their own home, even taking Ben the Labrador for walks around the the mountain, jungle trails where monkeys rake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Ellerton for the first two nights of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. Both my husband and I loved it here and were sorry we weren't staying for more than two nights! The staff were so friendly and accommodation and immediately made us feel very welcome. We ate all our meals there and all were wonderful and tasty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Its difficult to say why this is possibly my favourite hotel in Sri Lanka, a combination of the views, the food, the afternoon teas, the pleasant and efficient staff combined with the peacefulness of the location? Ellerton is located towards the top of a hill up a long winding narrow road, quite remote. We stayed here for 3 nights in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Superb 19th century property with an old english country feel to it, someone's home with simply delightful staff. Good G&Ts. Limited but excellent local curry meals on gorgeous open air dining room with alpine like views across valleys. Tucked away from the bustle of Kandy traffic up in the hills. No aircon, so staying during the hot summer could be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EllertonBungalow, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ellerton so much. However, to pick up on the one point you raised as to whether the rooms at Ellerton would be very hot at other times of the year, the simple fact is that Sri Lanka is so close to the equator that temperatures rarely do not vary much.... More

Richmond upon Thames, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The views from the swimming pool would be enough to tempt you hear, but if you add on the perfectly designed bedroom suites and the food it feels just like home but where someone else brings you tea and cake or a gin and tonic! Our thrill was the mountain bike ride we were shown. The climb up to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ellerton Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ellerton Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerton Bungalow

Address: New Gurukele, Doluwa 299045, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Doluwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Ellerton Bungalow Hotel Doluwa
Ellerton Bungalow Sri Lanka/Doluwa

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ellerton is a fine old tea-estate bungalow where our aim is to give you the feeling you are staying in a friend's house and not a hotel. We deliberately lack many of the features associated with hotels but these are more than compensated for by a genuinely relaxed and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ellerton Bungalow to your Saves list