We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pier 36 Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
36 The Parade, Donaghadee BT21 0HE, Northern Ireland
Pier 36 Guesthouse
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We realy enjoyed staying at Pier 36, a pub/restaurant with rooms, so more like a gust house than a family B&B but with all the staff very friendly and sucessfully looking after their guests. We had a very large triple room with an equally generous en-suite bathroom. The room was light and with great views over Donaghadee harbour. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

though a regular at Pier, I was especially impressed with the Fathers' Day menu. My relatives were very late arriving (due to bike race) but staff were very understanding & actually apologised for having to move us out of function room between courses even though totally our fault for being so late. Looking forward to trying new sister restaurant Harbour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poitiers
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took our friends here for a night out. Fantastic ambiance in the bar whilst we had a few ripples before dinner. Starters were gorgeous, mains were to die for. Service is next to none. Ended evening having Irish coffee at the fireside. Brilliant night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have on two occasions recently dined in Pier 36. Comprehensive menu and set lunch excellent value. Was very impressed by the attentiveness, courtesy, and friendliness of all the staff. The selection of deserts and coffee for a sweet tooth such as mine a nice touch. Will be back..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just left Pier 36 after an excellent weekend. Staff, accommodation couldn't have been better. So friendly and nothing was too much hassle. Extra touches to make our stay with three kids easier were noticed and greatly appreciated. Plus best steak I have EVER had. Going back next weekend and can't wait for another feed! Thank you.x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtownards
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We stayed Sunday night only. The deal was b&b and dinner on the Sunday night priced at £129. We arrived 3pm and where given a complimentary cuppa. On being shown to the room the staff were friendly and polite. We had a few drinks and decided to have our dinner before going for a snooze. The set menu didn't really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

This was our fifth trip here and unfortunately our worst.we used to love the family feel to the restaurant.but since grace neils has closed it has become very busy which isnt a bad thing but has lost the personal touch which we used to enjoy. Even asking for a late drink as residents of the hotel we were refused without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
out-and-about-NI, Manager at Pier 36 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Simon H, Although I am grateful that you have shared your experience on Trip Advisor, I am somewhat disillusioned that on your previous FOUR good experiences you chose not to share your thoughts. I can assure you that our strong Family presence is still here, with family members on duty at all times, I am sorry if you failed... More 

Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

I brought my sister here for a relaxing night away. I have eaten here many times including last New Year and we were not disappointed. The steaks were superb, the staff friendly & professional and the rooom with twin beds was olde worlde & comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
out-and-about-NI, Manager at Pier 36 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Hazle Anne L, Thank you for sharing your experience with the world of Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you and your sister again in the future. Kind Regards Pier 36 More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

On arrival at the guest house for an overnight break away, I was immediately given a free upgrade by the manager. This is my 3rd time at Pier 36. The room I normally stay is is lovely but this one had a whirlpool bath of which I availed off twice, it was so good! The sea view is wonderful, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
out-and-about-NI, Manager at Pier 36 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sailaway2moro, Thank you for sharing your experience at Pier 36, we look forward to welcoming you on your next 'getaway' from the City. Kind Regards More 

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Stayed just the one night, steaks where gorgeous and staff friendly. Room was bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean. Lots of titanic themed decor so maybe its meant to feel dated. Anyhow cant fault the place, definitely worth 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
out-and-about-NI, Manager at Pier 36 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear hamsterboots, Thank you for taking the time to share your Pier 36 experience on Trip Advisor. We are especially proud of the steaks we serve, as we hang all our own meat, and it is great to get such positive feedback. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities