We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Equatorial Penang

Hotel website
1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Special Offer
WEEKEND STAYCATION
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    144
    63
    12
    8
See reviews for
51
22
17
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here on vacation with my mum on a busy Labor Day weekend, as the hotels in George Town were fully booked. The hotel is located about half an hour away from the city centre, and 15 mins from the airport. We checked in 2 hrs earlier than the stated time, the process was fast. We found that staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two days. The room is quite small and the location of this hotel is actually very bad. If you don't have a car, then don't think about it. And even you have a car, you may experience their poor car park management. At first, no one will park the car for you. Everyone stop the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very good hotel, peaceful and quiet until it got busy during the holiday weekend. We had a twin Deluxe room and it was very spacious and clean. Wonderful spread of quality food for breakfast but there was some issue with flies around the food or the spoons to scoop the food with. Better effort is needed to deal with this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lodi, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you want to enjoy the beauty of Penang, you cannot miss Equatorial Hotel. Located on an exclusive location give you a sensation that you are on the paradise. Rooms are comfortable, beautiful view and excellent service made this place a must to be when you visit Penang. If you like the good food, the hotel has many choice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Above all in Penang. Yes, it is. We were having a very quiet personal rendezvous. The staffs were very polite. The room was nicely laid and spacious for two. Romantic? I shall add pleasure to the eyes and soul. The foods were equally resembles the stars they had. If you are looking for a quiet and romantic place to stay,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I believed the hotel has undergone renovation. The rooms are of modern feel, especially good for business travelers. Service is good and responsive. Breakfast spread is good with lot of varieties both local and international. things to note: (1) Hotel is on a hill with no tourist amenities around. So a walk to nearby shops not easy. The nearest shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the buffet breakfast selection! Especially the salmon Shioyaki but too bad that for the six days I stayed here, it was served only once. The room service attendant is very attentive and friendly. The downside is our housekeeping lady. For the first 4 days, we had attentive and pleasant hardworking guys (foreign worker, I think) that transformed our messy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear Gyln H Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are extremely delighted to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and particularly relished our 'to-die-for buffet breakfast'. You might like to know that the breakfast menu is rotated daily to give our guests variety, and the salmon shoyaki would have been... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

am disappointed. the hotel reservation department , prior to my trip, had given me details of the timing and pick up venue. I waited for almost an hour and no shuttle turn up. What takes the cake is that, only upon check in, did I realise that I had to inform the hotel prior to arriving, which I did (and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theresa151, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear Mei H Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience with us. We regret to note that the absence of the shuttle service to pick you up, and the wait that you had to endure, marred your entire stay. From the investigation of the incident, it appears that a mistake was made, and steps have since been taken... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the architecture to the big open pool to the choice of menus and the hotel service was worthy of 5 star treatment. We had 2 concerns and one was the paid for WIFI. We visited in June 2012 and maybe it has been upgraded to free WIFI since then to international standards. Our only other gripe was that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear Desertrose-SA Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It gives us great pleasure to note our services and facilities rendered met your expectations. We hope on your return visit, you will take advantage of our complimentary scheduled shuttle service to George Town, nearby shopping malls and also the famous Batu Ferringhi... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has excellent view from the rooms. Food is good - both for breakfast and for dinner (tried the View restaurant). Spacious room, but smelled smokey. It bothers when entering the room. The architecture is interesting with a very outside open space as a lobby. There is little space to sit in lobby (although the space is very large),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear tripowl123 Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are heartened to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and that you enjoyed both meals at our outlets. Regarding the room's condition, we have shared the feedback with our Housekeeping department as to ensure that rooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

311 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (255)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question