We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Equatorial Penang

Hotel website
1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Special Offer
WEEKEND STAYCATION
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    141
    63
    12
    7
See reviews for
50
20
16
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (276)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love the buffet breakfast selection! Especially the salmon Shioyaki but too bad that for the six days I stayed here, it was served only once. The room service attendant is very attentive and friendly. The downside is our housekeeping lady. For the first 4 days, we had attentive and pleasant hardworking guys (foreign worker, I think) that transformed our messy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

am disappointed. the hotel reservation department , prior to my trip, had given me details of the timing and pick up venue. I waited for almost an hour and no shuttle turn up. What takes the cake is that, only upon check in, did I realise that I had to inform the hotel prior to arriving, which I did (and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theresa151, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear Mei H Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience with us. We regret to note that the absence of the shuttle service to pick you up, and the wait that you had to endure, marred your entire stay. From the investigation of the incident, it appears that a mistake was made, and steps have since been taken... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the architecture to the big open pool to the choice of menus and the hotel service was worthy of 5 star treatment. We had 2 concerns and one was the paid for WIFI. We visited in June 2012 and maybe it has been upgraded to free WIFI since then to international standards. Our only other gripe was that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear Desertrose-SA Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It gives us great pleasure to note our services and facilities rendered met your expectations. We hope on your return visit, you will take advantage of our complimentary scheduled shuttle service to George Town, nearby shopping malls and also the famous Batu Ferringhi... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has excellent view from the rooms. Food is good - both for breakfast and for dinner (tried the View restaurant). Spacious room, but smelled smokey. It bothers when entering the room. The architecture is interesting with a very outside open space as a lobby. There is little space to sit in lobby (although the space is very large),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear tripowl123 Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are heartened to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and that you enjoyed both meals at our outlets. Regarding the room's condition, we have shared the feedback with our Housekeeping department as to ensure that rooms... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel with all the comforts needed. It's nice to find a hotel with a pool that is actually big enough to swim in! Landscaping is nicely done and invites relaxing outside. Breakfast spread is good. Only minus point were the Astro tv channels; couldn't watch several channels as the tv reception was poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear InaAbd Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It delights us to note that you had a good stay and particularly enjoyed the swimming pool as well as the breakfast spread at nada lama. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had encountered with the TV reception and would like to assure... More 

George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stay at the premium room. The rooms was nice but for the price, I expected a better amenities. Took my family along but they do not have any kids channel in their in room TV. Breakfast was nice and I had my convention at the grand ball room. The staff were very nice and very accommodating. The only setback is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear patcheah Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. Whilst we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, we are sorry to hear of the slow service rendered by the trainees at the Front Desk. We have shared this comment with the department head... More 

Foshan, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the top of an hill in Penang Island, location is perfect to relax but a little bit far from Georgetown if you want to make a walk in the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable, gym and swimming are ready to welcome you after a long day at work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear Matteo C Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are delighted to note that you had a good stay and enjoyed our fitness and pool facilities. During your next stay with us, we hope you will take advantage of our complimentary scheduled shuttle service to George Town, nearby shopping malls and... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Love this hotel! Breakfast was excellent Check in was fast Room so spacious n stylish Modern hotel facilities Swimming pool was clean Interior was unique, has garden in the hotel, calming effect😻😻 Definitely will come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear AnnaNajib We appreciate the time you have taken to share a review of your recent stay with us. It heartens us to note that your stay was a delightful one and that our services and facilities; from the breakfast to our garden, met your expectation. Be assured that all of us definitely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming... More 

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We all know little details can tell the truth of matter the most, especially in service. We were most impressed during our recent stay by the fact that extra hangers were added to our closet automatically without our asking. I guess our cleaning maid was either extremely observant or/and well trained. Also when we asked the front desk to send... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear dyw70 Thank you very much for the generous and kind review, and for acknowledging the efforts of our team. We are certainly delighted that you and your wife had an such a pleasurable experience, and particularly enjoyed the chocolate birthday cake. We will certainly make a note to provide extra pillow treats during your next stay with us. Thank... More 

San Jose, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We had our dinner there for a table of 12 just before the Chinese New Year period - expecting a busy night, we booked ahead weeks in advance. When we got to the restaurant, we were the 3rd table in a restaurant of perhaps about 50 tables, and by the time we left, there were about 4 tables for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

305 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question